Anonim

Despite the doubts expressed by the scientific community, various research groups in the world, from Russia, China, the USA, are looking for the genetic way to revive mammoths (Mammuthus primigenius), extinct after the last ice age.

The closest to making the feat seems to be the American team at Harvard University, with the Woolly Mammoth Revival project. "Our first step will be to give life to an elephant with numerous traits of mammoths: we are in fact creating an embryo of" elephant-mammoth ", and we are quite sure of succeeding in a couple of years, " said George Church, project coordinator. They would therefore not be true woolly mammoths, but elephants with genetic elements of their ancient relatives.

Image The DNA used in these researches has been extracted from artifacts found in the Siberian permafrost. |

How much mammoth is in you. Church's group works with the genetic heritage of Asian elephants (Elephas maximus), which already contain some distinctive genes of the extinct species. But if "the first step" is successful, Church foreshadows a much more ambitious goal: the de-extinction of the mammoth.

The project began in 2015 with the extraction of DNA fragments from frozen remains recovered in the Siberian permafrost. At the time the researchers inserted 45 mammoth genes into elephant cells to successfully prove that the technique works: "We already know how to work on the ears, subcutaneous fat, hair and blood, " says Church.

Image The mammoths became extinct with the last ice age, around 14, 000 years ago, but some populations of these animals are believed to have survived until 4-5, 000 years ago. |

Artificial uterus. Now it is a question of taking skin cells from the Asian elephant and, thanks to genetic engineering technology ( CRISPR / Cas9 ), inserting into their nucleus genes of the woolly mammoth and making them proliferate to give life to a hybrid elephant. The working group stated that the development of the embryo will be entrusted to an artificial uterus, with a technique already tested on embryos of mice, rather than looking for a carrier among the Asian elephants. According to the researcher "it would be unreasonable to put an female elephant at risk to try to bring an endangered species back to life".

Genetic editing: the CRISPR / Cas9 technique tested on humans

The work of Church and his team raises concerns about the use of genes from species extinct for thousands of years to bring them back to life or to give life to hybrid species. To criticism, however, Church replies that his work will also serve to ensure the survival of species that are now endangered.

Anonim

Trotz der von der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft geäußerten Zweifel suchen verschiedene Forschungsgruppen auf der Welt aus Russland, China und den USA nach einem genetischen Weg, um Mammuts (Mammuthus primigenius), die nach der letzten Eiszeit ausgestorben sind, wiederzubeleben.

Das amerikanische Team der Harvard University mit dem Projekt Woolly Mammoth Revival scheint dem Kunststück am nächsten zu sein. "Unser erster Schritt wird sein, einem Elefanten mit zahlreichen Mammutmerkmalen das Leben zu geben: Wir erschaffen tatsächlich einen Embryo aus" Elefanten-Mammut ", und wir sind ziemlich sicher, dass wir in ein paar Jahren Erfolg haben werden", sagte George Church. Projektkoordinator. Sie wären also keine echten Wollmammuts, sondern Elefanten mit genetischen Elementen ihrer alten Verwandten.

Image Die für diese Untersuchungen verwendete DNA wurde aus Artefakten extrahiert, die im sibirischen Permafrost gefunden wurden. |

Wie viel Mammut steckt in dir? Die Gruppe der Kirche arbeitet mit dem genetischen Erbe der asiatischen Elefanten (Elephas maximus), die bereits einige charakteristische Gene der ausgestorbenen Arten enthalten. Aber wenn "der erste Schritt" erfolgreich ist, weist die Kirche auf ein viel ehrgeizigeres Ziel hin: das Aussterben des Mammuts.

Das Projekt begann 2015 mit der Extraktion von DNA-Fragmenten aus gefrorenen Überresten, die im sibirischen Permafrost gewonnen wurden. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt haben die Forscher 45 Mammutgene in Elefantenzellen eingefügt, um erfolgreich zu beweisen, dass die Technik funktioniert: "Wir wissen bereits, wie man an Ohren, Unterhautfett, Haaren und Blut arbeitet", sagt Church.

Image Die Mammuts starben mit der letzten Eiszeit vor etwa 14.000 Jahren aus, aber es wird angenommen, dass einige Populationen dieser Tiere bis vor 4-5.000 Jahren überlebt haben. |

Künstliche Gebärmutter. Jetzt geht es darum, dem asiatischen Elefanten Hautzellen zu entnehmen und dank Gentechnologie ( CRISPR / Cas9 ) in die Kerngene des Wollmammuts einzufügen und sie zu vermehren, um einen Hybridelefanten zum Leben zu erwecken. Die Arbeitsgruppe gab an, dass die Entwicklung des Embryos einer künstlichen Gebärmutter übertragen wird, die bereits an Mäuseembryonen getestet wurde, anstatt einen Träger unter den asiatischen Elefanten zu suchen. Laut dem Forscher "wäre es unvernünftig, eine Elefantin in Gefahr zu bringen, um eine vom Aussterben bedrohte Art wieder zum Leben zu erwecken".

Genetische Bearbeitung: Die CRISPR / Cas9-Technik wurde am Menschen getestet

Die Arbeit von Church und seinem Team wirft Bedenken hinsichtlich der Verwendung von Genen von Arten auf, die seit Tausenden von Jahren ausgestorben sind, um sie wieder zum Leben zu erwecken oder hybride Arten zum Leben zu erwecken. Gegenüber der Kritik antwortet Church jedoch, dass seine Arbeit auch dazu dienen wird, das Überleben von Arten zu sichern, die jetzt vom Aussterben bedroht sind.