Anonim

It sometimes happens to come across videos of animals that smoke - usually primates hosted by a zoo, which reuse the butts abandoned by rude humans. But the puffs of smoke from another animal raise more questions: a group of biologists has recently filmed an Asian elephant female (Elephas maximus) intent on smoking pieces of coal in the middle of an Indian forest.

The pachyderm was found by scientists from the Wildlife Conservation Society's India Program while they watched the hidden cameras inside the Nagarahole National Park and Tiger Reserve, in the Indian state of Karnataka. In the video you can see the elephant collecting pieces of charcoal that are still steaming, filling its mouth and exhaling puffs of smoke.

15 things you didn't know about elephants

Sought on purpose. In many Indian forests, forest rangers use small controlled fires to create paths that help curb the fires. This technique leaves pieces of coal scattered on the ground behind, which perhaps the pachyderm has not collected by chance. For the authors of the discovery, the elephant may have used coal as a "drug", exploiting its ability to bind to toxins and its laxative effect.

"The female seemed to pick up pieces from the ground, blow away the ash accumulated on them and consume the rest, " explains Varun Goswami, biologist at the Wildlife Conservation Society. Moreover, charcoal can also be formed in places not reached by man, for example near trees struck by lightning.

Image Chimpanzees have learned to appreciate the healing qualities of some plants, and they regularly exploit them. See also: the most curious forms of self-medication among primates | Anup Shah / Nature Picture Library / contrast

eat (and smoke) that passes you. Animal self-medication - called zoopharmacognosy - can also reach very sophisticated examples: the red còlobo of Zanzibar (Piliocolobus kirkii), an endemic primate of the African archipelago, has been observed eating coal to counteract some toxic substances present in its diet. Some Congo bonobos ingest rough leaves in full, in an attempt to remove parasites from the digestive tract. Other primates eat clay to wipe out bacteria, while African elephants in Kenya use some leaves to speed up the birth.

It is not clear whether these are behaviors learned or deriving from an ancestral knowledge of the "chemistry" of the territory. This second hypothesis is certainly true for some Mexican passerines, who have learned to exploit the insecticidal properties of the nicotine contained in abandoned cigarette butts: using them to paper the nest, they keep the parasites away.

Anonim

Es kommt manchmal vor, dass Videos von rauchenden Tieren auftauchen - normalerweise Primaten, die von einem Zoo beherbergt werden und die von unhöflichen Menschen verlassenen Stummel wiederverwenden. Die Rauchwolken eines anderen Tieres werfen jedoch weitere Fragen auf: Eine Gruppe von Biologen hat kürzlich eine asiatische Elefantin (Elephas maximus) gefilmt, die mitten in einem indischen Wald Kohlestücke rauchen will.

Der Dickhäuter wurde von Wissenschaftlern des India Program der Wildlife Conservation Society gefunden, als sie die versteckten Kameras im Nagarahole National Park und Tiger Reserve im indischen Bundesstaat Karnataka beobachteten. Im Video können Sie sehen, wie der Elefant noch dampfende Holzkohlestücke sammelt, den Mund füllt und Rauchschwaden ausatmet.

15 Dinge, die Sie nicht über Elefanten wussten

Absichtlich gesucht In vielen indischen Wäldern nutzen Waldläufer kleine kontrollierte Feuer, um Wege zu schaffen, die helfen, die Brände zu bremsen. Diese Technik hinterlässt auf dem Boden verstreute Kohlestücke, die der Dickhäuter vielleicht nicht zufällig gesammelt hat. Für die Autoren der Entdeckung könnte der Elefant Kohle als "Droge" verwendet haben, um seine Fähigkeit zur Bindung an Toxine und seine abführende Wirkung auszunutzen.

"Das Weibchen schien Stücke vom Boden aufzunehmen, die angesammelte Asche wegzublasen und den Rest zu verbrauchen", erklärt Varun Goswami, Biologe bei der Wildlife Conservation Society. Darüber hinaus kann Holzkohle auch an Orten gebildet werden, die nicht vom Menschen erreicht werden können, beispielsweise in der Nähe von vom Blitz getroffenen Bäumen.

Image Schimpansen haben gelernt, die Heilkräfte einiger Pflanzen zu schätzen und nutzen sie regelmäßig aus. Siehe auch: Die kuriosesten Formen der Selbstmedikation bei Primaten | Anup Shah / Naturbilderbibliothek / Kontrast

iss (und rauche), was an dir vorbeigeht. Die Selbstmedikation der Tiere - Zoopharmakognosie genannt - kann auch sehr raffinierte Beispiele erreichen: Der rote Còlobo von Sansibar (Piliocolobus kirkii), ein auf dem afrikanischen Archipel endemischer Primat, wurde beim Verzehr von Kohle beobachtet, um einigen giftigen Substanzen in seiner Nahrung entgegenzuwirken. Einige Kongo-Bonobos nehmen grobe Blätter vollständig auf, um Parasiten aus dem Verdauungstrakt zu entfernen. Andere Primaten fressen Lehm, um Bakterien auszurotten, während afrikanische Elefanten in Kenia einige Blätter verwenden, um die Geburt zu beschleunigen.

Es ist nicht klar, ob dies gelernte Verhaltensweisen sind oder aus dem Wissen der Vorfahren über die "Chemie" des Territoriums stammen. Diese zweite Hypothese trifft sicherlich auf einige mexikanische Passerinen zu, die gelernt haben, die in verlassenen Zigarettenstummeln enthaltenen insektiziden Eigenschaften des Nikotins auszunutzen: Indem sie sie zum Papieren des Nestes verwenden, halten sie die Parasiten fern.