El Niño and the red crabs stranded in California

Anonim

Hundreds of thousands of Pleuroncodes planipes, scarlet crustaceans of the lobster family, are dyeing the beaches of Southern California red, and the culprit of the massacre - coincidentally - looks like El Niño again.

To the north. The "tuna crab" (tuna crabs, because this fish is greedy) are not really crabs, but they look like you. They normally live further south, off the coast of Baja California, Mexico, but the warm waters of El Niño have probably moved further north.

The mass of crabs gathered to mate failed to oppose the strong currents, and was stranded on some famous Californian shorelines (like that of Laguna Beach, in Orange County, which as shown below has literally changed color).

Dead and dying #redcrabs at #piratescove in #coronadelmar

A photo published by Christine Lister (@psychprof) on: 13 May 2016 at 09:03 PDT

Temperature gap. For Linsey Sala, of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography of the University of California at San Diego, the periodic phenomenon is due to the intrusion of warm water into the water columns where these crustaceans spend their entire life cycle.

Thousands of dead crabs in Laguna Beach today @GigiGraciette @ ABC7 let's blame #ElNino #weather #crabs #lagunabeach pic.twitter.com/RUyKVFUswn

- tippol photography (@OttoTippol) 13 May 2016

Sad reply. Something similar had already happened last year, due to unusually high ocean temperatures. The authorities had not removed the crabs, for fear of destroying the eggs of grunion, a fish that nests on the sand. Thus the birds feasted on crustaceans for several days.

Intoxicated. In other parts of the Pacific, in the north-western area, El Niño encouraged the explosion of a toxic algae containing domoic acid, a powerful neurotoxin that poisoned several species of crustaceans. For reasons of caution, the authorities asked Californians not to collect and eat beached crustaceans.

El Niño und die roten Krabben in Kalifornien gestrandet

Anonim

Hunderttausende von Pleuroncodes-Planipes, scharlachrote Krebstiere der Hummerfamilie, färben die Strände Südkaliforniens rot, und der Täter des Massakers sieht - zufällig - wieder wie El Niño aus.

Nach norden Die "Thunfischkrabben" (Thunfischkrabben, weil dieser Fisch gierig ist) sind keine echten Krabben, aber sie sehen aus wie Sie. Sie leben normalerweise weiter südlich vor der Küste von Baja California, Mexiko, aber das warme Wasser von El Niño ist wahrscheinlich weiter nach Norden gezogen.

Die Masse der zur Paarung versammelten Krabben konnte den starken Strömungen nicht standhalten und war an einigen berühmten kalifornischen Küsten gestrandet (wie der von Laguna Beach in Orange County, der, wie unten gezeigt, buchstäblich seine Farbe geändert hat).

Tot und sterbend #redcrabs bei #piratescove in #coronadelmar

Ein Foto veröffentlicht von Christine Lister (@psychprof) am: 13. Mai 2016 um 09:03 PDT

Temperaturschwankung. Für Linsey Sala von der Scripps Institution of Oceanography der University of California in San Diego ist das periodische Phänomen auf das Eindringen von warmem Wasser in die Wassersäulen zurückzuführen, in denen diese Krebstiere ihren gesamten Lebenszyklus verbringen.

Tausende von toten Krabben in Laguna Beach geben heute @GigiGraciette @ ABC7 die Schuld an #ElNino #weather #crabs #lagunabeach pic.twitter.com/RUyKVFUswn

- tippol photography (@OttoTippol) 13. Mai 2016

Traurige Antwort. Ähnliches war bereits im vergangenen Jahr aufgrund ungewöhnlich hoher Meerestemperaturen geschehen. Die Behörden hatten die Krabben nicht entfernt, weil sie befürchteten, die Eier von Grunion zu zerstören, einem Fisch, der im Sand nistet. So fraßen die Vögel mehrere Tage lang Krebstiere.

Berauscht. In anderen Teilen des Pazifiks, im Nordwesten, förderte El Niño die Explosion einer giftigen Alge, die Domonsäure, ein starkes Neurotoxin, das mehrere Arten von Krebstieren vergiftete, enthielt. Aus Gründen der Vorsicht forderten die Behörden die Kalifornier auf, gestrandete Krebstiere nicht zu sammeln und nicht zu essen.