Anonim

Here is the dog genome
He has been with us for thousands of years; here is finally the whole sequence of the dog's DNA.

Dogs have been differentiated from humans in dozens of breeds, all of which have a very similar genome.
Dogs have been differentiated from humans in dozens of breeds, all of which have a very similar genome.

After the man's genome, here's that of his best friend. In the number 301 of the American journal Science is in fact described the first draft of the entire genetic heritage of the dog. The DNA comes from a poodle named Shadow (Shadow) whose master is Craig Venter, the researcher whose privately funded research projects fought for a long time to take precedence over the Human Genome Project, of governmental origin. So far, about 2 million canine DNA fragments have been sequenced, which corresponds to 80 percent of its genetic heritage. Although the project is far ahead, for now researchers have only a rather rough sketch of how the dog genome is composed. However, they were able to determine that 18, 473 canine genes have a human equivalent, more than 18, 311 of the mouse. According to the researchers, some of these genes correspond to those that in humans determine certain types of cancer, epilepsy, narcolepsy and other human diseases.
There is also Tasha. At the same time, even a US-funded company is trying to sequence the genome of a boxer, named Tasha, and publish the results at the end of the year or early next year. A boxer was chosen because the genetic variability of this breed of dog is very low.
The sequencing of the canine genome should allow to know in depth the structure of the various breeds, as for example because the collie is a good shepherd, or the hounds of Sant'Uberto are excellent "sniffers". Obviously the aim is also to reveal where the health problems of dogs hide, and to develop new breeds based on known characteristics and the presence of particular genes.

(News updated September 30, 2003)

Anonim

Hier ist das Hundegenom
Er ist seit Tausenden von Jahren bei uns; Hier ist endlich die gesamte Sequenz der DNA des Hundes.

Hunde wurden in Dutzenden von Rassen von Menschen unterschieden, die alle ein sehr ähnliches Genom aufweisen.
Hunde wurden in Dutzenden von Rassen von Menschen unterschieden, die alle ein sehr ähnliches Genom aufweisen.

Nach dem Genom des Mannes ist hier das seines besten Freundes. In der Nummer 301 der amerikanischen Zeitschrift Science ist nämlich der erste Entwurf des gesamten genetischen Erbes des Hundes beschrieben. Die DNA stammt von einem Pudel namens Shadow (Shadow), dessen Meister Craig Venter ist, der Forscher, dessen privat finanzierte Forschungsprojekte lange Zeit darum kämpften, Vorrang vor dem Humangenomprojekt zu haben, das von der Regierung stammt. Bisher wurden ungefähr 2 Millionen Hunde-DNA-Fragmente sequenziert, was 80 Prozent seines genetischen Erbes entspricht. Obwohl das Projekt weit fortgeschritten ist, haben die Forscher vorerst nur eine grobe Skizze, wie das Genom des Hundes aufgebaut ist. Sie konnten jedoch feststellen, dass 18.473 Hunde-Gene ein menschliches Äquivalent aufweisen, mehr als 18.311 der Maus. Laut den Forschern entsprechen einige dieser Gene denen, die beim Menschen bestimmte Arten von Krebs, Epilepsie, Narkolepsie und anderen Erkrankungen des Menschen feststellen.
Es gibt auch Tasha. Gleichzeitig versucht sogar ein US-finanziertes Unternehmen, das Genom eines Boxers namens Tasha zu sequenzieren und die Ergebnisse Ende oder Anfang nächsten Jahres zu veröffentlichen. Ein Boxer wurde ausgewählt, da die genetische Variabilität dieser Hunderasse sehr gering ist.
Die Sequenzierung des Hunde-Genoms sollte es ermöglichen, die Struktur der verschiedenen Rassen genau zu kennen, zum Beispiel, weil der Collie ein guter Hirte ist oder die Hunde von Sant'Uberto ausgezeichnete "Schnüffler" sind. Ziel ist es natürlich auch, aufzudecken, wo sich die gesundheitlichen Probleme von Hunden verbergen, und neue Rassen zu entwickeln, die auf bekannten Merkmalen und dem Vorhandensein bestimmter Gene beruhen.

(News aktualisiert am 30. September 2003)