Anonim

If we put all the ants of the world on the scale at the same time, they would weigh as much as all the inhabitants of the Earth put together … The statement, and the considerations that follow, are certainly not new and periodically "debate" on blogs and social networks. How much is true?

the origin. The statement first appears in a 1994 essay, Journey To The Ants, by biologists Edward Wilson and Bert Hoelldobler (University of Harvard, USA). The two were based on an assessment by the British entomologist CB William, who estimated the total number of terrestrial insects at a given time in one million trillion, which in the US / Anglo-Saxon notation equals 1 billion billion.

An inaccurate estimate. If the ants make up 1% of the global insect population (conservative value), then there are in total about 10 million billion. The two conclude that, since a single worker ant weighs from 1 to 5 mg (milligrams), the total weight of all the ants in the world reaches that of the entire human population. But in their calculations something does not come back.

The most famous "historical lies" on animals

Too heavy. Wilson and Hoelldobler started from the assumption that on average a human being weighs 1 million times more than an ant. But if we take an average weight of 62 kg per person, then an ant should weigh about 60 mg: there are some of this size, but these are really big ants. If we consider the 13 thousand species of ants present in the world, with lengths between 1 and 30 mm, the average weight reaches a maximum of 10 mg.

Where the scale falls. Even Wilson and Hoelldobler admitted the miscalculation. There are 7.2 billion people on the planet today: if we consider only all those over 15, our total weight reaches around 332 billion kg. Assuming there are 10 million billion ants on Earth, with an average weight of 4 mg, their total weight reaches 40 billion kg. Even if we raise the average weight of each one a little, the comparison remains unequal.

Then there is the question of the number of ants: nobody really knows him. Some say, indeed, 10 million billion, but there are also those who say just 100, 000 billion.

In any case, if the comparison does not hold up today - also due to the growing weight of the human population, which increasingly tends to obesity - it should have been worth 2, 000 years ago, when it was wider on Earth.

Anonim

Wenn wir alle Ameisen der Welt gleichzeitig auf die Waage bringen würden, würden sie so viel wiegen wie alle Bewohner der Erde zusammen . Wie viel ist wahr?

der Ursprung. Die Aussage erscheint zuerst in einem 1994 erschienenen Aufsatz, Reise zu den Ameisen, von den Biologen Edward Wilson und Bert Hoelldobler (Universität von Harvard, USA). Die beiden basieren auf einer Einschätzung des britischen Entomologen CB William, der die Gesamtzahl der terrestrischen Insekten zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt auf eine Million Billionen geschätzt hat, was in der US-angelsächsischen Notation 1 Milliarde Milliarden entspricht.

Eine ungenaue Schätzung. Wenn die Ameisen 1% der globalen Insektenpopulation ausmachen (konservativer Wert), dann gibt es insgesamt etwa 10 Millionen Milliarden. Die beiden schließen daraus, dass, da eine einzelne Arbeiterameise 1 bis 5 mg (Milligramm) wiegt, das Gesamtgewicht aller Ameisen auf der Welt das der gesamten menschlichen Bevölkerung erreicht. Aber in ihren Berechnungen kommt etwas nicht zurück.

Die berühmtesten "historischen Lügen" über Tiere

Zu schwer Wilson und Hoelldobler gingen davon aus, dass ein Mensch im Durchschnitt 1 Million Mal schwerer ist als eine Ameise. Wenn wir aber ein Durchschnittsgewicht von 62 kg pro Person nehmen, sollte eine Ameise ungefähr 60 mg wiegen: Es gibt einige dieser Größen, aber das sind wirklich große Ameisen. Betrachtet man die weltweit 13.000 Ameisenarten mit Längen zwischen 1 und 30 mm, so erreicht das Durchschnittsgewicht ein Maximum von 10 mg.

Wo die Waage fällt. Sogar Wilson und Hoelldobler gaben die Fehleinschätzung zu. Es gibt heute 7, 2 Milliarden Menschen auf der Erde: Betrachtet man nur all die über 15-Jährigen, erreicht unser Gesamtgewicht rund 332 Milliarden kg. Vorausgesetzt, es gibt 10 Millionen Ameisen auf der Erde mit einem Durchschnittsgewicht von 4 mg, erreicht ihr Gesamtgewicht 40 Milliarden kg. Selbst wenn wir das Durchschnittsgewicht eines jeden ein wenig erhöhen, bleibt der Vergleich ungleich.

Dann ist da noch die Frage nach der Anzahl der Ameisen: Niemand kennt ihn wirklich. Einige sagen in der Tat, 10 Millionen Milliarden, aber es gibt auch diejenigen, die nur 100.000 Milliarden sagen.

Auf jeden Fall hätte der Vergleich, wenn er heute - auch aufgrund des wachsenden Gewichts der menschlichen Bevölkerung, die zunehmend zur Fettleibigkeit neigt - nicht Bestand hat, vor 2000 Jahren einen Wert haben müssen, als er auf der Erde breiter war.