Anonim

Do you like cats, but you can't live next door because as soon as they reach the "nose" you start to sneeze, water and scratch because your skin is filled with strange bubbles? This news could change your life. In fact, by 2007, the first 500 cats that do not cause allergic reactions in their owners will be on the market. To "make them" will be a Californian company that already started the "mass production" of hypoallergenic cats with complex genetic engineering interventions two years ago. Road too complicated and soon abandoned to follow that of intersections of different races.

The protein that makes you sneeze.
Cat hair allergy is actually an allergy to a protein - called FEL D1 - present in the hair but also in the saliva, urine and sebaceous glands of our feline friends.
"We have known for a long time that there are some cats in nature that produce very small amounts of FEL D1, " explains Robert Wood, director of the Department of Pediatric Allergy and Immunology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore (USA).
The company has subjected cats to genetic screening to identify harmless animals, breed them and reproduce them. The result is a feline population unable to trigger asthma and other such ailments.

Allergenic tests

To test the cats, one chose the simplest way, the empirical one. Subjects sensitive to cat hair were first exposed to hypoallergenic animals and then to a control group of "normal" cats. The difference in terms of sneezing and redness of the eyes was clearly visible.
Expensive cats
But scientists warn: allergies, as far as we know, vary a lot over time. The reduction in the FEL D1 concentration in cats could therefore not shelter the most sensitive subjects, which would thus not benefit from the hypoallergenic cat. Add to this the fact that "harmless" animals are very expensive (around 5 to 10, 000 euros), it is perhaps best to endure some sneezing.

Anonim

Magst du Katzen, aber du kannst nicht nebenan leben, denn sobald sie die "Nase" erreichen, fängst du an zu niesen, zu wässern und zu kratzen, weil deine Haut mit seltsamen Blasen gefüllt ist? Diese Nachricht könnte Ihr Leben verändern. Tatsächlich werden bis 2007 die ersten 500 Katzen auf dem Markt sein, die bei ihren Besitzern keine allergischen Reaktionen auslösen. Um sie zu "machen", wird es ein kalifornisches Unternehmen geben, das bereits vor zwei Jahren mit der "Massenproduktion" von hypoallergenen Katzen mit komplexen gentechnischen Eingriffen begonnen hat. Straße zu kompliziert und bald verlassen, um der von Kreuzungen verschiedener Rassen zu folgen.

Das Protein, das dich zum Niesen bringt.
Katzenhaarallergie ist eigentlich eine Allergie gegen ein Protein - genannt FEL D1 -, ​​das im Haar, aber auch im Speichel, im Urin und in den Talgdrüsen unserer Katzenfreunde vorkommt.
"Wir wissen seit langem, dass es in der Natur einige Katzen gibt, die sehr geringe Mengen an FEL D1 produzieren", erklärt Robert Wood, Direktor der Abteilung für Kinderallergie und Immunologie an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore (USA).
Das Unternehmen hat Katzen einem genetischen Screening unterzogen, um harmlose Tiere zu identifizieren, zu züchten und zu reproduzieren. Das Ergebnis ist eine Katzenpopulation, die nicht in der Lage ist, Asthma und andere derartige Leiden auszulösen.

Allergene Tests

Um die Katzen zu testen, wählte man den einfachsten Weg, den empirischen. Gegen Katzenhaare empfindliche Personen wurden zuerst hypoallergenen Tieren und dann einer Kontrollgruppe "normaler" Katzen ausgesetzt. Der Unterschied in Bezug auf Niesen und Rötung der Augen war deutlich sichtbar.
Teure Katzen
Wissenschaftler warnen jedoch: Allergien variieren nach unserem Kenntnisstand im Laufe der Zeit stark. Die Verringerung der FEL D1-Konzentration bei Katzen konnte daher die empfindlichsten Probanden nicht schützen, die daher von der hypoallergenen Katze nicht profitieren würden. Hinzu kommt, dass "harmlose" Tiere sehr teuer sind (etwa 5 bis 10.000 Euro). Vielleicht ist es am besten, ein bisschen Niesen zu ertragen.