Anonim

Stop all, the brontosaurus (maybe) is back. For over a century textbooks have told us that the gigantic herbivore, one of the most famous dinosaurs of all time along with the fearsome Tyrannosaurus rex, was the result of a taxonomic oversight. A new study, published in the journal PeerJ, is now reversing: the Brontosaurus is not an Apatosaurus classified incorrectly - as previously believed - but a sauropod in its own right that lived about 150 million years ago.

Brontosaurus, indeed no. In 1877 the American paleontologist Othniel Charles Marsh discovered a partial fossil of a herbivore about 15 meters long, which was renamed as Apatosaurus. Two years later, the same Marsh brought to light an almost complete skeleton of an even larger dinosaur, over 20 meters long: he called it Brontosaurus, or "thundering lizard", to underline the sound of its heavy walk.

Apatosaurus 24 meters long, 8 meters high and weighing 35 tons: the Apatosaurus (up to now synonymous with Brontosaurus) is one of the largest dinosaurs ever to appear on Earth. | Natural History Museum (WAC) / Nature Picture Library / contrast

In 1903, a few years after Marsh's death, however, the cold shower came: the studies of the paleontologist lmer Riggs, of the Field Museum of Chicago, established that Apatosaurus and Brontosaurus were actually the same animal and that the first finding was simply a specimen younger. For matters of taxonomic precedence, the scientific community officially opted for the name Apatosauros, a choice that did not prevent the brontosaurus from establishing itself in pop culture, becoming in fact one of the most famous - and cited - dinosaurs of all time.

Apatosaurus to whom? A team of paleontologists from the University of Oxford and the Universidade Nova of Lisbon has now used a statistical method to compare 477 anatomical features from 81 fossil records cataloged in various databases. According to the three authors of the study between Brontosaurus and Apatosaurus there are enough differences to legitimize the classification made by Marsh at the end of the nineteenth century. Moral, brontosaurus can again be considered by science as an autonomous genus in the diplodocid family (although some paleontologists may also disagree).

As the researchers themselves point out, the discovery serves not only to give back to the brontosaurus the dignity it deserves, but it is also yet another demonstration that new technologies can play a key role in understanding species that have been extinct for millions of years.

Head of Apatosaurus The skull of "Einstein", the extraordinary Apatosaurus skeleton discovered in 2005 in the United States, with 85% of the bones still intact. | REUTERS / Tomas Bravo

Headless giant. Despite the latest implications, the troubled history of the Brontosaurus is still far from a definitive closure. Once the taxonomic separation has been established, it remains now to understand what was the real aspect of this gigantic herbivore. If there is no doubt about the massive build, the long neck and the whip tail, a piece is still missing to complete the mosaic: the head.

When, in 1879, Marsh unearthed the remains of the Brontosaurus, he realized that the animal's head was missing and, on the wings of enthusiasm, he chose without asking too many questions a shortened skull found in the area. A century later, two other researchers, McIntosh and Berman, decreed that the skull in question belonged to another dinosaur, the Camarasauru s - a revelation that agreed with the fact that the skull of the Apatosaurus was long and flattened.

Now that Apatosaurus and Brontosaurus are no longer the same animal there is therefore a gap: what will be the true "face" of sauropod? According to Tschopp and colleagues, the answer will come from the latest finds of diplodocide skeletons, whose details will be revealed in the near future.

Anonim

Aufhören, der Brontosaurus ist (vielleicht) zurück. Seit über einem Jahrhundert berichten Lehrbücher, dass der gigantische Pflanzenfresser, einer der berühmtesten Dinosaurier aller Zeiten, zusammen mit dem gefürchteten Tyrannosaurus Rex das Ergebnis einer taxonomischen Kontrolle war. Eine neue Studie, die in der Fachzeitschrift PeerJ veröffentlicht wurde, kehrt sich jetzt um: Der Brontosaurus ist kein Apatosaurus, der - wie früher angenommen - falsch klassifiziert wurde, sondern ein eigenständiger Sauropode, der vor etwa 150 Millionen Jahren lebte.

Brontosaurus, in der Tat nein. 1877 entdeckte der amerikanische Paläontologe Othniel Charles Marsh ein Teilfossil eines etwa 15 Meter langen Pflanzenfressers, das in Apatosaurus umbenannt wurde. Zwei Jahre später brachte derselbe Sumpf ein fast vollständiges Skelett eines noch größeren, über 20 Meter langen Dinosauriers ans Licht: Er nannte es Brontosaurus oder "donnernde Eidechse", um den Klang seines schweren Schrittes zu unterstreichen.

Apatosaurus 24 Meter lang, 8 Meter hoch und 35 Tonnen schwer: Der Apatosaurus (bisher synonym mit Brontosaurus) ist einer der größten Dinosaurier, die jemals auf der Erde erschienen sind. | Naturhistorisches Museum (WAC) / Naturbilderbibliothek / Kontrast

1903, wenige Jahre nach Marshs Tod, kam jedoch die kalte Dusche: Studien des Paläontologen lmer Riggs vom Field Museum of Chicago ergaben, dass Apatosaurus und Brontosaurus tatsächlich dasselbe Tier waren und dass der erste Befund lediglich ein Exemplar war jünger. Aus taxonomischen Gründen entschied sich die wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft offiziell für den Namen Apatosauros, eine Wahl, die den Brontosaurus nicht daran hinderte, sich in der Popkultur zu etablieren, und tatsächlich zu einem der berühmtesten - und meist zitierten - Dinosaurier aller Zeiten wurde.

Apatosaurus an wen? Ein Team von Paläontologen der Universität Oxford und der Universidade Nova von Lissabon hat nun mithilfe einer statistischen Methode 477 anatomische Merkmale aus 81 in verschiedenen Datenbanken katalogisierten Fossilien verglichen. Laut den drei Autoren der Studie zwischen Brontosaurus und Apatosaurus gibt es genügend Unterschiede, um die von Marsh am Ende des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts vorgenommene Klassifizierung zu legitimieren. Moralischer Brontosaurus kann von der Wissenschaft wieder als autonome Gattung in der Familie der Diplodociden angesehen werden (obwohl einige Paläontologen ebenfalls anderer Meinung sein könnten).

Wie die Forscher selbst betonen, dient die Entdeckung nicht nur dazu, dem Brontosaurus die Würde zurückzugeben, die er verdient, sondern ist auch ein weiterer Beweis dafür, dass neue Technologien eine Schlüsselrolle für das Verständnis von Arten spielen können, die seit Millionen von Jahren ausgestorben sind.

Kopf des Apatosaurus Der Schädel von "Einstein", dem außergewöhnlichen Apatosaurus-Skelett, das 2005 in den USA entdeckt wurde und bei dem 85% der Knochen noch intakt sind. | REUTERS / Tomas Bravo

Kopfloser Riese. Trotz der jüngsten Implikationen ist die unruhige Geschichte des Brontosaurus noch lange nicht endgültig abgeschlossen. Nachdem die taxonomische Trennung hergestellt wurde, bleibt nun zu verstehen, was der wahre Aspekt dieses gigantischen Pflanzenfressers war. Wenn es keinen Zweifel an der massiven Bauweise, dem langen Hals und dem Peitschenschwanz gibt, fehlt noch ein Stück, um das Mosaik zu vervollständigen: der Kopf.

Als Marsh 1879 die Überreste des Brontosaurus entdeckte, stellte er fest, dass der Kopf des Tieres fehlte, und entschied sich aus Begeisterung für einen verkürzten Schädel, der sich in der Gegend befand, ohne allzu viele Fragen zu stellen. Ein Jahrhundert später verfügten zwei andere Forscher, McIntosh und Berman, dass der fragliche Schädel einem anderen Dinosaurier, den Camarasauru, gehörte - eine Offenbarung, die mit der Tatsache übereinstimmte, dass der Schädel des Apatosaurus lang und abgeflacht war.

Jetzt, da Apatosaurus und Brontosaurus nicht mehr dasselbe Tier sind, gibt es eine Lücke: Was wird das wahre "Gesicht" von Sauropoden sein? Laut Tschopp und Kollegen wird die Antwort auf die neuesten Funde von Diplodocid-Skeletten kommen, deren Details in naher Zukunft enthüllt werden.