Anonim

Not all endangered animals can be as tender and photogenic as pandas. Some, like the one you see, are frankly ugly, but no less worthy of attention. Fortunately, the Ugly Animal Preservation Society (UAPS) is the defender of the less favored by Mother Nature, an association born almost as a game that, through television shows involving British comedians and scientists, wants to promote conservation programs even for less animals aesthetically endowed.

One of the last shows has decreed through the vote of the spectators, the new mascot of the company: the winner is this "pesce blob" (Psychrolutes marcidus), a creature that lives off the coasts of south-eastern Australia and Tasmania, including depths between 600 and 1200 meters.

The animal with a gelatinous body with a density slightly higher than that of water (a characteristic that allows it to float on the seabed without moving too much) has won the votes of 10, 000 spectators, surpassing without difficulty the otherwise endowed adversaries: the axolotl, a species of salamander that in life never exceeds the larval state (and that in our opinion is also pretty), the nose, a monkey with a pendulous nose and up to 17 centimeters long (look), and the frog of Lake Titicaca, nicknamed "frog scrotum "for the folds - not really pretty - of his skin, through which the amphibian, with reduced lung capacity, can breathe.

All these species are in danger of disappearing, unless specific protection programs are soon funded: «Our traditional approach to conservation is selfish» explains Simon Watt, president of the association and presenter of the show «we risk protecting only the animals that inspire us with tenderness, like pandas. I have nothing against pandas, but they already have their supporters. Instead, these species need our help. "

The competition of "ugliness" has served, the scientists explain, also to emphasize a lighter and more playful side of the animal protection activities, which otherwise would be reduced every day to the same frustrating question: "So, who disappeared today?".

See also all the most prominent nose animals

The ugliest creatures seen under the microscope

And the 5 animals you would never want to adopt

Anonim

Nicht alle gefährdeten Tiere können so empfindlich und fotogen sein wie Pandas. Einige, wie die, die Sie sehen, sind ehrlich gesagt hässlich, aber nicht weniger bemerkenswert. Glücklicherweise ist die Ugly Animal Preservation Society (UAPS) die Verteidigerin der von Mutter Natur weniger favorisierten Vereinigung, die beinahe als Spiel entstanden ist und durch Fernsehsendungen, an denen britische Komiker und Wissenschaftler beteiligt sind, Naturschutzprogramme auch für weniger Tiere fördern will ästhetisch ausgestattet.

Eine der letzten Shows hat das Votum der Zuschauer, das neue Maskottchen des Unternehmens, entschieden: Der Gewinner ist dieser "Pesce Blob" (Psychrolutes marcidus), eine Kreatur, die vor den Küsten von Südostaustralien und Tasmanien lebt, einschließlich der Tiefen zwischen 600 und 1200 Metern.

Das Tier mit einem gallertartigen Körper, dessen Dichte etwas höher als die des Wassers ist (eine Eigenschaft, die es ihm ermöglicht, auf dem Meeresboden zu schweben, ohne sich zu stark zu bewegen), hat die Stimmen von 10.000 Zuschauern gewonnen und übertrifft ohne Schwierigkeiten die ansonsten begabten Gegner: den Axolotl, eine Art von Salamander, der im Leben den Larvenstatus nie überschreitet (und der unserer Meinung nach auch hübsch ist), der Nase, einem Affen mit hängender Nase und einer Länge von bis zu 17 Zentimetern (Aussehen) und dem Titicacasee-Frosch, der auch "Frosch" genannt wird Hodensack "für die nicht wirklich schönen Falten seiner Haut, durch die die Amphibie mit verminderter Lungenkapazität atmen kann.

Alle diese Arten sind vom Verschwinden bedroht, es sei denn, es werden bald spezifische Schutzprogramme finanziert: «Unser traditioneller Ansatz zum Schutz ist egoistisch», erklärt Simon Watt, Präsident des Verbandes und Moderator der Ausstellung. «Wir riskieren, nur die Tiere zu schützen, die uns mit Zärtlichkeit inspirieren, wie Pandas. Ich habe nichts gegen Pandas, aber sie haben bereits ihre Anhänger. Stattdessen brauchen diese Arten unsere Hilfe. "

Der Wettbewerb der "Hässlichkeit" hat, so die Wissenschaftler, auch dazu gedient, eine leichtere und spielerischere Seite der Tierschutzaktivitäten hervorzuheben, die sonst jeden Tag auf die gleiche frustrierende Frage reduziert würden: "Also, wer ist heute verschwunden?".

Sehen Sie auch alle prominentesten Nasentiere

Die hässlichsten Kreaturen unter dem Mikroskop gesehen

Und die 5 Tiere, die du niemals adoptieren möchtest