Anonim

The Komodo dragon (Varanus komodoensis), also known as the Komodo varan or varanus, is one of the most fearsome and deadly animals on earth.

To understand why, just find it in front of you: a lizard three meters long, covered by scales, with long claws and forked tongue that darts from the mouth, capable of attacking prey as big as a buffalo. Or a man.

The Komodo dragon looks like a mix between a creature of medieval legends and a dinosaur. A ferocious predator that dominates forests and river areas of the Indonesian island of Komodo, from which it takes its name, and of the other islands of the Sonda archipelago. Here are some interesting facts about him.

How much do komodo dragons weigh?

From a scientific point of view it is the largest of the saurians (suborder which includes lizards, geckos, iguanas). It reaches 3 meters in length, but it is easier to see examples of 2 meters. The weight is also considerable: an adult is around 80 kg, rarely more than 100 kg .

Size and appearances must not deceive. The Komodo varans are agile and fast animals, able to attack preys of 450 kg.

Video: Komodo dragons from Komodo National Park

The speed of the Komodo dragon

It is perhaps the most active among the predatory reptiles, it can cover up to 10 km a day in search of food, and even if it generally moves slowly, at 5 km / h, it can take lightning fast shots and reach speeds of 18-20 km / h. For this reason, approaching less than 10 meters is very, very dangerous.

Komodo National Park - Komodo Dragon The varano runs with the body well raised off the ground. It arrives at 20 km / h, even if for short distances. |

How it attacks. The secret weapon of the Komodo dragon is the bite, which injects a lethal mix of bacteria and poison into the victim. Its hunting technique is very effective: it attacks wild boars, deer, buffaloes, human beings. It lies in wait, camouflages itself, waits and approaches slowly, then snaps and grabs its prey by a paw. His sharp, serrated teeth are made to tear the flesh.

He drops the victim, then jumps around her neck, pierces her abdomen. And he begins to devour her greedily, tearing her to pieces, clenching his jaws and giving her head a hard jerk: the Komodo dragon can consume 80% of its own weight in one meal. Nothing will be left of the carcass, not even bones and hooves.

Slow death. Even if the prey manages to escape, it is enough for the dragon to be able to bite it in order not to let them escape. In the lizard's saliva, in fact, there are 50 strains of bacteria that, in 1-2 days, poison the victim's blood until it is killed. So the varans follow the fugitive for miles until the bacteria do their duty. Or they continue to attack, even for days.

Komodo National Park - Komodo Dragon The Varanus darts the forked tongue to look for food: the tongue feels the molecules of odorous substances in the air. Thus the chestnut finds, for example, the carcasses of dead animals. At night, it shelters in underground dens. And in a nest in the ground the female lays her eggs. |

Cannibals. Komodo dragons are so ravenous that they attack even the youngest specimens of their own species. And they don't dislike dead animals: they are the "scavengers" of their environment. The sense of smell guides them on food: they smell the meat 5 km away, exploring the air with the forked tongue that detects the odorous substances. Sometimes the varans venture into the villages: they look for goats and cattle, in some cases they have also attacked the man. Not surprisingly, in the past the natives spoke of them as dragons devouring men and animals: at the beginning of the 1900s, the European colonists spread the legend of the "monster". In 1912 the scientists were able to examine the first specimen. But not to take away the sinister fame that surrounds him.

Look: how was the myth of the dragons born? Komodo National Park - Komodo Dragon The Komodo Varanus is the largest of the saurians (suborder which includes lizards, geckos, iguanas). Only 5, 000 remain. Today they are protected from hunting, but remain at risk for the destruction of their environment and the decrease in their prey. | Contrast

How Komodo dragons live. They move through weeds, woods (the young remain in the trees to avoid being eaten by adults) and rivers (Komodo dragons can also swim, to refresh their bodies).

At night, Komodo dragons take shelter in underground dens. And in a nest in the ground the females lay eggs.

They live a long time, up to 65 years, even if from "elders" they have a sedentary lifestyle: they always seem half asleep, they mainly eat carrion and it is easy to defend themselves from their attack.

Komodo Dragons are at risk of extinction.

The varans live not only in Komodo, but also in Flores, and on some others of the Lesser Sunda Islands, in Indonesia. In all there are less than 5, 000 specimens and the species is defined as vulnerable and is included in the IUCN Red List.

The species is considered to be at risk because the females able to reproduce are only 350. To safeguard the dragon on 6 March 1980, 37 years ago, the Komodo National Park was established, or Komodo National Park.

Look: The real dragons of the animal kingdom

Parthenogenesis. Other curiosities concern reproduction. The Komodo dragon is one of the reptiles in which the females can give birth to the children without mating. When it happens, however, only males are born. And it usually happens in captivity. In general, however, mating takes place between May and August and the eggs are laid in September. The latter, about twenty, are laid in abandoned megapod nests, birds that build large nests with piles of rotting vegetation, or in cavities dug specifically.

The young Komodo dragons are very vulnerable and for this reason they spend most of their time in trees, until around the age of three, safe from predators and cannibal adults.

Antibiotics. But the most curious aspect of the Komodo dragon lies in its blood. A recent study by George Mason University in Virginia (USA), published in The Journal of Proteome Research, found that the blood of these saurians is rich in compounds that could be used as antibiotics.

As mentioned, their saliva is a mix of poison and deadly bacteria. Curiously though, Komodo dragons seem to resist the bites of other dragons. Many animals, not just Komodo dragons, have proteins known as antimicrobial peptides (AMPs) that act as weapons against infections. But if the Komodo dragon AMPs are so strong as to protect them from the bacteria of other dragons, they must be particularly powerful. And they could be a promising source of active ingredients on which to build new and effective antibiotics.

Anonim

Der Komodo-Drache (Varanus komodoensis), auch Komodo- Varan oder Varanus genannt, ist eines der furchterregendsten und tödlichsten Tiere der Erde.

Um zu verstehen, warum, finden Sie es einfach vor sich: eine drei Meter lange Eidechse, bedeckt von Schuppen, mit langen Krallen und einer gespaltenen Zunge, die aus dem Mund schießt und in der Lage ist, Beute anzugreifen, die so groß ist wie ein Büffel. Oder ein Mann.

Der Komodo-Drache sieht aus wie eine Mischung aus einer Kreatur mittelalterlicher Legenden und einem Dinosaurier. Ein wildes Raubtier, das die Wälder und Flussgebiete der indonesischen Insel Komodo, von der es seinen Namen hat, und der anderen Inseln des Sonda-Archipels dominiert. Hier sind einige interessante Fakten über ihn.

Wie viel wiegen Komododrachen?

Aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht ist es der größte der Saurier (Unterordnung, die Eidechsen, Geckos, Leguane umfasst). Es erreicht eine Länge von 3 Metern, aber es ist einfacher, Beispiele von 2 Metern zu sehen. Auch das Gewicht ist beachtlich: Ein Erwachsener wiegt etwa 80 kg, selten mehr als 100 kg .

Größe und Aussehen dürfen nicht täuschen. Die Komodo-Varans sind agile und schnelle Tiere, die Beute von 450 kg angreifen können.

Video: Komodo-Drachen aus dem Komodo-Nationalpark

Die Geschwindigkeit des Komodo-Drachen

Es ist vielleicht das aktivste unter den räuberischen Reptilien, es kann bis zu 10 km pro Tag auf der Suche nach Nahrung zurücklegen, und selbst wenn es sich im Allgemeinen langsam bewegt, kann es mit 5 km / h blitzschnelle Schüsse abfeuern und Geschwindigkeiten von 18 bis 20 km erreichen / h. Aus diesem Grund ist die Annäherung an weniger als 10 Meter sehr, sehr gefährlich.

Komodo-Nationalpark - Komodo-Drache Der Varano läuft mit gut angehobenem Körper. Es kommt auf 20 km / h, auch wenn für kurze Strecken. |

Wie es angreift. Die Geheimwaffe des Komodo-Drachen ist der Biss, der dem Opfer eine tödliche Mischung aus Bakterien und Gift injiziert. Die Jagdtechnik ist sehr effektiv: Sie greift Wildschweine, Hirsche, Büffel und Menschen an. Es lauert, tarnt sich, wartet und nähert sich langsam, schnappt und packt seine Beute mit einer Pfote. Seine scharfen, gezackten Zähne sollen das Fleisch zerreißen.

Er lässt das Opfer fallen, springt um ihren Hals und durchbohrt ihren Bauch. Und er fängt an, sie gierig zu verschlingen, sie in Stücke zu reißen, seine Kiefer zusammenzubeißen und ihrem Kopf einen harten Ruck zu versetzen: Der Komodo-Drache kann 80% seines Eigengewichts in einer Mahlzeit verzehren. Von dem Kadaver bleibt nichts übrig, nicht einmal Knochen und Hufe.

Langsamer Tod. Selbst wenn es der Beute gelingt zu entkommen, reicht es für den Drachen, sie zu beißen, um sie nicht entkommen zu lassen. Im Speichel der Eidechse befinden sich tatsächlich 50 Bakterienstämme, die in 1-2 Tagen das Blut des Opfers vergiften, bis es abgetötet wird. So folgen die Varans dem Flüchtling kilometerweit, bis die Bakterien ihren Pflichten nachkommen. Oder sie greifen sogar tagelang weiter an.

Komodo-Nationalpark - Komodo-Drache Der Varanus schießt mit der gegabelten Zunge auf Nahrungssuche: Die Zunge spürt die Moleküle von Geruchsstoffen in der Luft. So findet die Kastanie zum Beispiel die Kadaver toter Tiere. Nachts beherbergt es unterirdische Höhlen. Und in einem Nest im Boden legt das Weibchen ihre Eier ab. |

Cannibals. Komodo-Drachen sind so ausgehungert, dass sie selbst die jüngsten Exemplare ihrer eigenen Spezies angreifen. Und sie mögen keine toten Tiere: Sie sind die "Aasfresser" ihrer Umwelt. Der Geruchssinn leitet sie beim Essen: Sie riechen das 5 km entfernte Fleisch und erkunden die Luft mit der gespaltenen Zunge, die die Geruchsstoffe erkennt. Manchmal wagen sich die Varans in die Dörfer: Sie suchen nach Ziegen und Rindern, manchmal haben sie auch den Mann angegriffen. Es überrascht nicht, dass die Eingeborenen sie in der Vergangenheit als Drachen bezeichneten, die Menschen und Tiere verschlingen: Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts verbreiteten die europäischen Kolonisten die Legende vom "Monster". 1912 konnten die Wissenschaftler das erste Exemplar untersuchen. Aber den unheimlichen Ruhm, der ihn umgibt, nicht wegzunehmen.

Schauen Sie: Wie wurde der Mythos der Drachen geboren? Komodo-Nationalpark - Komodo-Drache Der Komodo Varanus ist der größte der Saurier (Unterordnung, die Eidechsen, Geckos, Leguane umfasst). Nur 5.000 sind noch übrig. Heute sind sie vor der Jagd geschützt, aber weiterhin gefährdet für die Zerstörung ihrer Umwelt und die Abnahme ihrer Beute. | Kontrast

Wie Komodo-Drachen leben. Sie bewegen sich durch Unkräuter, Wälder (die Jungen bleiben in den Bäumen, um nicht von Erwachsenen gefressen zu werden) und Flüsse (Komodo-Drachen können auch schwimmen, um ihren Körper zu erfrischen).

Nachts suchen Komodo-Drachen Schutz in unterirdischen Höhlen. Und in einem Nest im Boden legen die Weibchen Eier.

Sie leben eine lange Zeit, bis zu 65 Jahre, auch wenn sie von "Ältesten" einen sitzenden Lebensstil haben: Sie scheinen immer halb zu schlafen, sie essen hauptsächlich Aas und es ist leicht, sich gegen ihren Angriff zu verteidigen.

Komodo-Drachen sind vom Aussterben bedroht.

Die Varans leben nicht nur in Komodo, sondern auch in Flores und auf einigen anderen Inseln der Kleinen Sunda-Inseln in Indonesien. Insgesamt gibt es weniger als 5.000 Exemplare, und die Art gilt als gefährdet und wird in die Rote Liste der IUCN aufgenommen.

Die Art gilt als gefährdet, da die Weibchen, die sich fortpflanzen können, nur 350 sind. Um den Drachen am 6. März 1980 vor 37 Jahren zu schützen, wurde der Komodo-Nationalpark oder der Komodo-Nationalpark gegründet.

Schau: Die wahren Drachen des Tierreichs

Parthenogenese. Andere Kuriositäten betreffen die Reproduktion. Der Komodo-Drache ist eines der Reptilien, bei denen die Weibchen die Kinder ohne Paarung zur Welt bringen können. In diesem Fall werden jedoch nur Männer geboren. Und normalerweise passiert es in Gefangenschaft. Die Paarung findet jedoch in der Regel zwischen Mai und August statt und die Eier werden im September gelegt. Letztere, ungefähr zwanzig, werden in verlassenen Megapod-Nestern, Vögeln, die große Nester mit verrottenden Vegetationshaufen bauen, oder in speziell gegrabenen Hohlräumen gelegt.

Die jungen Komodo-Drachen sind sehr verletzlich und verbringen aus diesem Grund den größten Teil ihrer Zeit in Bäumen, bis sie etwa drei Jahre alt sind, sicher vor Raubtieren und Kannibalen.

Antibiotika. Aber der merkwürdigste Aspekt des Komodo-Drachen liegt in seinem Blut. Eine kürzlich im Journal of Proteome Research veröffentlichte Studie der George Mason University in Virginia (USA) ergab, dass das Blut dieser Saurier reich an Verbindungen ist, die als Antibiotika verwendet werden könnten.

Wie bereits erwähnt, ist ihr Speichel eine Mischung aus Gift und tödlichen Bakterien. Komodo-Drachen scheinen seltsamerweise den Bissen anderer Drachen zu widerstehen. Viele Tiere, nicht nur Komodo-Drachen, haben Proteine, die als antimikrobielle Peptide (AMPs) bekannt sind und als Waffen gegen Infektionen fungieren. Aber wenn die AMPs des Komodo-Drachen so stark sind, dass sie sie vor den Bakterien anderer Drachen schützen, müssen sie besonders stark sein. Und sie könnten eine vielversprechende Quelle für Wirkstoffe sein, auf denen neue und wirksame Antibiotika aufbauen können.