Anonim

Researchers at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) in Massachusetts, along with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), have developed a special drone that comes close to whales to take high-resolution photos and collect "on the fly" samples of the their breath.

Images and liquid are then analyzed in the laboratory, also to make sure that there are no respiratory infections, that is the main health problem of cetaceans.

The hexacopter and whales. The hexacopter, or a drone with six rotors, is commanded by a researcher located on a boat not far from where the whales are stationed. The first tests took place in June at the Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary, where the WHOI and NOAA team photographed 36 specimens from 40 meters high, then descended up to 3 meters near the blowhole, to collect precisely breath samples.

Image The drone ready for takeoff. | Michael Moore, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution; Acquired under National Marine Fisheries Servic

New frontiers. This modality of intervention, intelligent and respectful of the animal, has been tested for now only in the Marine Sanctuary of Stellwagen Bank, a place exposed to a certain extent to the traffic of ships and pollution. In the coming winter the researchers plan to move to Antarctica, to compare the health conditions of the local cetaceans with those of the Stellwagen Bank, in front of the coasts of Massachusetts.

Anonim

Forscher der Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) in Massachusetts haben zusammen mit der National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) eine spezielle Drohne entwickelt, die Walen nahe kommt, um hochauflösende Fotos zu machen und "on the fly" -Proben der zu sammeln ihr Atem.

Im Labor werden dann Bilder und Flüssigkeiten analysiert, um sicherzustellen, dass keine Infektionen der Atemwege vorliegen, was das Hauptproblem für die Gesundheit von Walen darstellt.

Der Hexacopter und die Wale. Der Hexacopter oder eine Drohne mit sechs Rotoren wird von einem Forscher befohlen, der sich auf einem Boot unweit der Station der Wale befindet. Die ersten Tests fanden im Juni im National Marine Sanctuary der Stellwagen Bank statt, wo das WHOI- und das NOAA-Team 36 Exemplare aus 40 Metern Höhe fotografierten und dann in der Nähe des Blaslochs bis zu 3 Meter hinabstiegen, um sie präzise zu sammeln Atemproben.

Image Die Drohne startbereit. | Michael Moore, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution; Erworben unter National Marine Fisheries Servic

Neue Grenzen. Diese Art des Eingreifens, intelligent und respektvoll gegenüber dem Tier, wurde bisher nur im Marine Sanctuary der Stellwagen Bank getestet, einem Ort, der in gewissem Maße dem Schiffsverkehr und der Umweltverschmutzung ausgesetzt ist. Im kommenden Winter planen die Forscher einen Umzug in die Antarktis, um die Gesundheitsbedingungen der lokalen Wale mit denen der Stellwagen Bank vor den Küsten von Massachusetts zu vergleichen.