Anonim

In the common imagination, the octopus is certainly not one of the most sociable and playful sea creatures. The intelligent cephalopod leads a solitary existence, with sporadic two-person meetings aimed only at reproducing. For the rest, except for some territorial struggle, each on his own way.

Not so fast, though: US researchers have discovered in the Bay of Jervis, off the east coast of Australia, a submerged city inhabited by 15 specimens of the octopus Octopus tetricus. A novella underwater Atlantis in which the creatures cohabit, communicate indirectly, mate and - above all - they quarrel, but without seemingly getting away.

Metropolitan area. Octlantis, as the site was called at 10-15 meters depth, is the second octopus marine settlement observed in nature. The first, called Octopolis, was identified in 2009 in the same bay, a few hundred meters away, as biologists at the University of Illinois tell in the magazine Marine and Freshwater Behavior and Physiology.

The octopus that makes the shoe … with a jellyfish instead of bread

Houses and neighborhoods. Octopolis housed 16 specimens, collected in objects abandoned by man: the hypothesis, then, had been that the octopuses needed artificial structures to form stable congregations.

The discovery of the new city leads to a review of this theory. The assemblage that develops on 18 meters of length, in fact includes shelters in the rock, burrows drawn in the sand and skyscrapers formed by heaps of shells and other shells of consumed preys.

Vicious neighbors. Its inhabitants have often been seen interacting at a tentacle distance, even if "in their own way": the most frequent contacts were couplings, territorial struggles, manifestations of aggression with color changes, attempts to appropriate others' den. An antagonistic attitude that biologists have not yet been able to fully explain, but which could depend on the population density of the space. Analyzes of the 10-hour video footage of Octlantis captured by GoPro (still being examined by scientists) will provide some of the answers.

Anonim

In der allgemeinen Vorstellung ist der Tintenfisch keines der geselligsten und verspieltesten Meerestiere. Der intelligente Kopffüßer führt eine einsame Existenz, mit sporadischen Zweipersonentreffen, die nur der Reproduktion dienen. Im übrigen, bis auf einige territoriale Auseinandersetzungen, jeder auf seine eigene Art und Weise.

Nicht so schnell: US-Forscher haben in der Bucht von Jervis vor der australischen Ostküste eine untergetauchte Stadt entdeckt, in der 15 Exemplare des Tintenfischs Octopus tetricus leben. Eine Novelle unter Wasser Atlantis, in der die Kreaturen zusammenleben, indirekt kommunizieren, sich paaren und - vor allem - streiten, ohne jedoch scheinbar davonzukommen.

Ballungsraum. Octlantis, wie die Stätte in 10-15 Metern Tiefe genannt wurde, ist die zweite in der Natur beobachtete Oktopusmeeresiedlung. Die erste, Octopolis genannt, wurde 2009 in derselben Bucht, einige hundert Meter entfernt, identifiziert, wie Biologen der Universität von Illinois in der Zeitschrift Marine and Freshwater Behaviour and Physiology berichten.

Die Krake, aus der der Schuh besteht … mit einer Qualle statt Brot

Häuser und Nachbarschaften. Octopolis beherbergte 16 Exemplare, die in vom Menschen verlassenen Gegenständen gesammelt waren. Damals war die Hypothese laut worden, dass die Oktopusse künstliche Strukturen brauchten, um stabile Gemeinden zu bilden.

Die Entdeckung der neuen Stadt führt zu einer Überprüfung dieser Theorie. Die Assemblage, die sich auf einer Länge von 18 Metern entwickelt, umfasst in der Tat Schutzräume im Gestein, in den Sand gezogene Höhlen und Wolkenkratzer, die aus Haufen von Muscheln und anderen Muscheln von verbrauchten Beutetieren gebildet werden.

Bösartige Nachbarn. Man hat oft gesehen, wie seine Bewohner in Tentakelentfernung miteinander interagierten, auch wenn "auf ihre Weise": Die häufigsten Kontakte waren Verbindungen, territoriale Auseinandersetzungen, Manifestationen von Aggressionen mit Farbveränderungen, Versuche, sich die Verstecke anderer anzueignen. Eine antagonistische Haltung, die die Biologen noch nicht vollständig erklären konnten, die jedoch von der Bevölkerungsdichte des Raums abhängen könnte. Die Analyse des 10-stündigen Videomaterials von Octlantis, das von GoPro aufgenommen wurde (wird noch von Wissenschaftlern untersucht), liefert einige Antworten.