Anonim

Until a few decades ago, the discovery of a dinosaur in Italy was considered an impossible event. Our country, in the Mesozoic, was almost all under the waters of the ocean, and for this reason it was thought that the fossils were non-existent. Then came the discovery of Cyrus (Scipionyx samniticus), one of the best preserved fossils of all paleontology, and many others followed. The last one, announced on December 19, is a fossil of great importance: a dinosaur that has been called Saltriovenator zanellai (from the place of the discovery, a quarry near Saltrio, in the province of Varese, and from the name of who discovered it, Angelo Zanella). The article, written by three Italian palentologists, Cristiano Dal Sasso, Simone Maganuco and Andrea Cau, was published in the journal Peer j (here the original text, in English).

By the way: how did the velociraptors get so fast?

A little-known period. The discovery is exceptional for many reasons. First of all, for the period: Saltriovenator in fact lived about 198 million years ago, in the first Jurassic, a period immediately following the mass extinction that took place 201 million years ago, after the Triassic.

Image Reconstruction of the skeleton of the new dinosaur. The items found are highlighted in orange. The person used as a ladder is Angelo Zanella (1.67 tall), the one who found the skeleton. | Marco Auditore

In that era some dinosaurs, the so-called theropods, were - as they say technically - diversifying a lot. New species were born and evolved and populated new environments. The theropods were a group of predators of various sizes, with a bipedal gait and equipped with forelimbs with claws; to the group belonged famous species, like the Tyrannosaurus rex or Velociraptor, lived much later than the … newcomer.

Large carnivore. Some of the paw bones, hand and ribs were found of the new dinosaur, enough to reconstruct the fossil. Saltriovenator is also important for other reasons. The dimensions are quite large: it had not yet fully grown, but it was a heavy predator about a ton, when most of the other species were smaller. This means, as one of the authors of the text says, that "the evolutionary" arms race "between predators and herbivorous dinosaurs, which involves progressively larger species, had already begun 200 million years ago".

Image Simplified evolutionary tree of predatory dinosaurs (Theropods). The Saltriovenator precedes the massive carnivorous dinosaurs for over 25 million years: it is the largest predatory dinosaur of the lower Jurassic. |

Many dinosaur bones have signs caused by marine invertebrates; they are the first ever found on the remains of dinosaurs and tell the fate of the animal: the carcass floated in a sea basin and then, sunk, remained on the seabed for quite a long time.

The hands of birds. Another important detail for paleontology and above all for the history of birds is the structure of the hand, a highly debated detail concerning the descent of birds from dinosaurs (according to some hypotheses this descent is not true). The hand of Saltriovenator instead, as Andrea Cau states: "fills a void in the evolutionary tree of theropods [demonstrating that] the predatory dinosaurs have progressively lost the little finger and the ring finger, and have thus acquired the hand with three fingers, precursor of the 'wing of the birds'.

Anonim

Bis vor einigen Jahrzehnten galt die Entdeckung eines Dinosauriers in Italien als unmögliches Ereignis. Unser Land im Mesozoikum befand sich fast ausschließlich unter dem Wasser des Ozeans, und aus diesem Grund wurde angenommen, dass die Fossilien nicht existierten. Dann folgte die Entdeckung von Cyrus (Scipionyx samniticus), einem der am besten erhaltenen Fossilien der gesamten Paläontologie, und vielen anderen. Das letzte, das am 19. Dezember angekündigt wurde, ist ein Fossil von großer Bedeutung: ein Dinosaurier namens Saltriovenator zanellai (vom Fundort, einem Steinbruch in der Nähe von Saltrio in der Provinz Varese und vom Namen desjenigen, der es entdeckt hat). Angelo Zanella). Der Artikel, der von den drei italienischen Palentologen Cristiano Dal Sasso, Simone Maganuco und Andrea Cau verfasst wurde, wurde in der Zeitschrift Peer j veröffentlicht (hier der Originaltext in englischer Sprache).

Übrigens: Wie sind die Velociraptoren so schnell geworden?

Eine wenig bekannte Zeit. Die Entdeckung ist aus vielen Gründen außergewöhnlich. Zuallererst für den Zeitraum: Saltriovenator lebte tatsächlich vor ungefähr 198 Millionen Jahren im ersten Jura, einer Zeit unmittelbar nach dem Massensterben, das vor 201 Millionen Jahren nach der Trias stattfand.

Image Rekonstruktion des Skeletts des neuen Dinosauriers. Die gefundenen Elemente werden orange hervorgehoben. Die als Leiter verwendete Person ist Angelo Zanella (1, 67 groß), der das Skelett gefunden hat. | Marco Auditore

In dieser Zeit haben sich einige Dinosaurier, die sogenannten Theropoden, - wie sie technisch sagen - stark diversifiziert. Neue Arten wurden geboren und entwickelt und besiedelten neue Umgebungen. Die Theropoden waren eine Gruppe von Raubtieren verschiedener Größe mit einem zweibeinigen Gang und mit Vorderbeinen mit Krallen ausgestattet; Zu der Gruppe gehörten berühmte Arten, wie der Tyrannosaurus Rex oder Velociraptor, die viel später lebten als der Neuling.

Großer Fleischfresser. Einige der Pfotenknochen, Hände und Rippen wurden von dem neuen Dinosaurier gefunden, genug, um das Fossil zu rekonstruieren. Saltriovenator ist auch aus anderen Gründen wichtig. Die Dimensionen sind ziemlich groß: Es war noch nicht ausgewachsen, aber es war ein schweres Raubtier um eine Tonne, als die meisten anderen Arten kleiner waren. Dies bedeutet, wie einer der Autoren des Textes sagt, dass "das evolutionäre" Wettrüsten "zwischen Raubtieren und pflanzenfressenden Dinosauriern, an dem immer größere Arten beteiligt sind, bereits vor 200 Millionen Jahren begonnen hat".

Image Vereinfachter Evolutionsbaum der Raubdinosaurier (Theropoden). Der Saltriovenator geht den massiven fleischfressenden Dinosauriern seit über 25 Millionen Jahren voraus: Er ist der größte räuberische Dinosaurier des Unterjura. |

Viele Dinosaurierknochen weisen Anzeichen auf, die von wirbellosen Meerestieren verursacht werden. Sie sind die ersten, die auf den Überresten von Dinosauriern gefunden wurden und erzählen das Schicksal des Tieres: Der Kadaver schwebte in einem Meeresbecken und blieb dann, versenkt, eine ganze Weile auf dem Meeresboden.

Die Hände der Vögel. Ein weiteres wichtiges Detail für die Paläontologie und vor allem für die Geschichte der Vögel ist die Struktur der Hand, ein umstrittenes Detail in Bezug auf die Abstammung von Vögeln von Dinosauriern (nach einigen Hypothesen ist diese Abstammung nicht wahr). Die Hand von Saltriovenator hingegen, wie Andrea Cau feststellt: "Füllt eine Lücke im Evolutionsbaum der Theropoden [was zeigt, dass] die Raubdinosaurier nach und nach den kleinen Finger und den Ringfinger verloren haben und so die Hand mit drei Fingern, Vorläufer der "Flügel der Vögel".