Anonim

A little less than 2 meters long, the head resembles that of a snake, with advanced nostrils and flexible jaws that allow you to swallow large fish: what is most striking, however, are the teeth, over 300, very sharp and arranged on 25 lines, a paraphernalia that makes escape to any prey impossible.

In short, it is an animal that must have contributed to feeding who knows how many legends about monsters and sea snakes. Recently a specimen was captured by a group of European Union researchers who, off the coast of Portugal, were conducting a study on various fishing techniques.

Image A close-up of Chlamydoselachus anguineus captured off the coast of Portugal, with its three hundred very sharp teeth. See also: fish with unexpected talents. |

An ancient predator. Although on board the oceanographic vessel there were biologists, scientists had some difficulty in accurately classifying the animal, which was finally identified as a collared shark (Chlamydoselachus anguineus), which is believed to inhabit the platforms and on the ocean embankments of the Pacific and Atlantic.

In very rare cases it has been observed by robotic rovers at a depth of 1, 300 meters, but it is not clear what its ideal habitat is. According to the researchers it belongs to an evolutionary line that makes it date back to at least 95 million years ago, perhaps even earlier.

Image The head resembles that of a snake. See also: 10 giant animals of the past. |

What is surprising is that he survived the extinction of the Cretaceous, when most of his closest "relatives" disappeared from the planet.

Like snakes. The few times he has been seen hunting has shown different behaviors than sharks, because he pounces on his prey swaying like a snake and, like snakes, C. anguineus can spend a lot of time between one meal and another, made mainly of cephalopods (especially squid) and small sharks.

Anonim

Mit einer Länge von etwas weniger als 2 Metern ähnelt der Kopf einer Schlange, mit fortschrittlichen Nasenlöchern und flexiblen Kiefern, mit denen Sie große Fische schlucken können. Am auffälligsten sind jedoch die über 300 Zähne, die sehr scharf und in 25 Linien angeordnet sind, ein Utensil, das es unmöglich macht, einer Beute zu entkommen.

Kurz gesagt, es ist ein Tier, das zur Fütterung beigetragen haben muss und weiß, wie viele Legenden über Monster und Seeschlangen existieren. Kürzlich wurde ein Exemplar von einer Gruppe von Forschern der Europäischen Union gefangen, die vor der Küste Portugals eine Studie zu verschiedenen Fangtechniken durchführten.

Image Eine Nahaufnahme von Chlamydoselachus anguineus vor der Küste Portugals mit seinen dreihundert sehr scharfen Zähnen. Siehe auch: Fisch mit unerwarteten Talenten. |

Ein uraltes Raubtier. Obwohl sich an Bord des ozeanografischen Schiffes Biologen befanden, hatten die Wissenschaftler einige Schwierigkeiten, das Tier genau zu klassifizieren. Letztendlich wurde es als Kragenhai (Chlamydoselachus anguineus) identifiziert, von dem angenommen wird, dass er die Plattformen und die Ufer des Ozeans bewohnt Pazifik und Atlantik.

In sehr seltenen Fällen wurde es von Robotern in einer Tiefe von 1.300 Metern beobachtet, aber es ist nicht klar, was sein idealer Lebensraum ist. Laut den Forschern gehört es zu einer Evolutionslinie, die es auf mindestens 95 Millionen Jahre zurückführen lässt, vielleicht sogar noch früher.

Image Der Kopf ähnelt dem einer Schlange. Siehe auch: 10 Riesentiere der Vergangenheit. |

Überraschend ist, dass er das Aussterben der Kreidezeit überlebte, als die meisten seiner engsten "Verwandten" vom Planeten verschwanden.

Wie Schlangen. Die wenigen Male, die er auf der Jagd gesehen hat, zeigten ein anderes Verhalten als Haie, weil er wie eine Schlange auf seiner Beute schwankt und C. anguineus wie Schlangen zwischen den Mahlzeiten viel Zeit verbringen kann, hauptsächlich aus Kopffüßer (insbesondere Tintenfische) und kleine Haie.