Anonim

The cephalorcins of Maui (Cephalorhynchus hectori maui), the smallest dolphins in the world, are destined to disappear by 2030. The alarm was given during the last meeting of the scientific committee of the International Whaling Commission (IWC), in San Diego (California).

Reporting on the fate of small mammals was Nabu, the German organization for the conservation of endangered species, committed to monitoring the last remaining specimens, in the waters off New Zealand. Despite calls for action from many sides, the company seems difficult, if not impossible.

Always less. These dolphins, which live exclusively in the waters of the North Island (New Zealand), are the smallest in the world: they measure from 1.2 to 1.6 meters and weigh around 50 kg. What distinguishes them from other dolphins (Delphinidae) is the rather rounded dorsal fin and the color, white in the lower part of the body and gray on the sides.

The extinction process of the Maui dolphins, which began in the 1970s, seems to be nearing its end. From the 1800 copies registered in 1970, today it has reached an altitude of fifty. Of these, only fifteen are fertile females. Between indiscriminate fishing and the absence of real protection, the chances of reproduction and perpetuation of the species are rather low.

Insufficient measures. According to the Nabu report, the main cause of the disappearance of these cetaceans is fishing with the mail net method. These are very large vertical nets that are thrown into the sea with the aim of trapping as many fish as possible. Among the unfortunates, more and more often dolphins also end up.

Although the New Zealand government has already tried to limit this type of fishing, Nabu's president, Barbara Maas, denounces the exaggerated tolerance of the authorities and the inability to take truly effective measures to protect these animals.

Below, the countdown to extinction for Maui dolphins in a video montage a few years ago.

According to the German organization, taking into account the reproductive cycles of dolphins and single specimens, targeted interventions would allow the end of 4-18 years to be delayed, but the total number of specimens is no longer sufficient to guarantee the continuity of the species and the extinction is now inevitable. It is only a matter of time.

Anonim

Die Cephalorks von Maui (Cephalorhynchus hectori maui), die kleinsten Delfine der Welt, sollen bis 2030 verschwinden. Der Alarm wurde auf der letzten Sitzung des wissenschaftlichen Komitees der Internationalen Walfangkommission (IWC) in San gegeben Diego (Kalifornien).

Über das Schicksal von Kleinsäugetieren berichtete Nabu, die deutsche Organisation zur Erhaltung gefährdeter Arten, die die letzten verbliebenen Exemplare in den Gewässern vor Neuseeland überwachen soll. Trotz vieler Handlungsaufforderungen erscheint das Unternehmen schwierig, wenn nicht unmöglich.

Immer weniger. Diese Delfine, die ausschließlich in den Gewässern der Nordinsel (Neuseeland) leben, sind die kleinsten der Welt: Sie messen 1, 2 bis 1, 6 Meter und wiegen rund 50 kg. Was sie von anderen Delfinen (Delphinidae) unterscheidet, ist die eher abgerundete Rückenflosse und die Farbe, die im unteren Teil des Körpers weiß und an den Seiten grau ist.

Der Aussterben der Maui-Delfine, der in den 1970er Jahren begann, scheint sich seinem Ende zu nähern. Von den 1800 Exemplaren, die 1970 registriert wurden, hat es heute eine Höhe von fünfzig erreicht. Von diesen sind nur fünfzehn fruchtbare Frauen. Zwischen wahlloser Fischerei und dem Fehlen eines wirklichen Schutzes ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit der Fortpflanzung und des Fortbestehens der Art eher gering.

Unzureichende Maßnahmen. Laut dem Nabu-Bericht ist die Hauptursache für das Verschwinden dieser Wale das Fischen mit der Postnetzmethode. Dies sind sehr große vertikale Netze, die ins Meer geworfen werden, um so viele Fische wie möglich zu fangen. Unter den Unglücklichen landen immer häufiger auch Delfine.

Obwohl die neuseeländische Regierung bereits versucht hat, diese Art des Fischfangs einzuschränken, kritisiert die Präsidentin von Nabu, Barbara Maas, die übertriebene Toleranz der Behörden und die Unfähigkeit, wirklich wirksame Maßnahmen zum Schutz dieser Tiere zu ergreifen.

Unten der Countdown für Maui-Delfine in einer Videomontage vor einigen Jahren.

Gezielte Eingriffe würden nach Angaben der deutschen Organisation unter Berücksichtigung der Fortpflanzungszyklen von Delfinen und einzelnen Exemplaren eine Verzögerung des Endes von 4 bis 18 Jahren ermöglichen, doch die Gesamtzahl der Exemplare reicht nicht mehr aus, um die Kontinuität der Art und der Bestände zu gewährleisten Aussterben ist jetzt unvermeidlich. Es ist nur eine Frage der Zeit.