Anonim

A study by the University of Bristol has shown that the glitter of the spatula fish scales, the glittering formations around the eyes of a cuttlefish and the metallic effect of the cetonia carapace all have the same origin.

Physics meets biology. To explain this phenomenon, biologists have come to the aid of physics and in particular the so-called Anderson localization model, which according to the team of scientists Thomas Jordan, Julian Partridge and Nicholas Roberts explains the natural reflectors that characterize certain animals, such as these:

Brilliant disorders. Whether it is the silvery color of a carp, or the iridescence of an insect, this effect is the result of an evolutionary process on a nanometric scale (see From the Universe to the atom) which has allowed some animals to exploit the properties of waves luminous, as in the case of some fish that use the crystals present in their scales to camouflage themselves in shallow waters. What scholars have discovered is that all "bright" animals have one thing in common: the difference in thickness between the crystalline layers of their outermost part (scales, shells, wings, etc.).

Nicholas Roberts explained to the BBC that "when light filters in and meets the irregularity between the different layers, the light waves interfere with each other" or "bounce between the various layers" and eventually come back.

Help from nature. One of the most interesting aspects of this study is that such natural surfaces are often more reflective than artificially created ones. Understanding how they work could therefore lead us to reproduce highly reflective materials and, for example, make LED lights even more efficient.

Anonim

Eine Studie der Universität Bristol hat gezeigt, dass das Glitzern der Spatelfischschuppen, die glitzernden Formationen um die Augen eines Tintenfischs und die metallische Wirkung des Cetonia carapace alle denselben Ursprung haben.

Physik trifft Biologie. Um dieses Phänomen zu erklären, sind Biologen der Physik und insbesondere dem sogenannten Anderson-Lokalisierungsmodell zu Hilfe gekommen, das nach Angaben des Wissenschaftlerteams von Thomas Jordan, Julian Partridge und Nicholas Roberts die natürlichen Reflektoren erklärt, die bestimmte Tiere wie diese charakterisieren:

Geniale Störungen. Ob es sich um die silberne Farbe eines Karpfens oder das Schillern eines Insekts handelt, dieser Effekt ist das Ergebnis eines Evolutionsprozesses im Nanometerbereich (siehe Vom Universum zum Atom), durch den einige Tiere die Eigenschaften von Wellen ausnutzen konnten hell, wie im Fall einiger Fische, die die in ihren Schuppen vorhandenen Kristalle verwenden, um sich in seichten Gewässern zu tarnen. Wissenschaftler haben herausgefunden, dass alle "hellen" Tiere eines gemeinsam haben: den Unterschied in der Dicke zwischen den kristallinen Schichten ihres äußersten Teils (Schuppen, Muscheln, Flügel usw.).

Nicholas Roberts erklärte der BBC, dass "wenn Licht in die Unregelmäßigkeiten zwischen den verschiedenen Schichten eindringt und diese trifft, interferieren die Lichtwellen miteinander" oder "zwischen den verschiedenen Schichten springen" und schließlich zurückkommen.

Hilfe aus der Natur. Einer der interessantesten Aspekte dieser Studie ist, dass solche natürlichen Oberflächen oft mehr reflektieren als künstlich geschaffene. Wenn wir verstehen, wie sie funktionieren, können wir daher stark reflektierende Materialien reproduzieren und beispielsweise LED-Leuchten noch effizienter machen.