Anonim

Men are not the only animals capable of creating instruments: and this record was not beaten by an monkey or an elephant. During a research conducted by researchers at the University of Oxford (England), a New Caledonian crow (Corvus moneduloides) managed to build a perfect tool for the purpose it had set itself. Betty, the specimen in question, is a young two-year-old female who had to get a bucket of food out of a tube.

He had at his disposal a straight wire and a hooked wire, which was immediately stolen by an older male in the cage. Since he could not lift the bucket with the straight wire, he stopped one end of the wire and bent the rest until it formed a hook. And he repeated the test, nine times out of ten with complete success: Betty's companies are documented on this page of the University of Oxford website. The male, on the other hand, has not even tried to tackle the problem, but this does not seem to be attributable to sex.

Image Betty's business in Oxford. |

Even if these crows, in particular, are known as users of tools, an animal (even among chimpanzees) had never been seen to build the first tool, and without any training, the right tool to solve a problem.

News updated: May 2015

Anonim

Menschen sind nicht die einzigen Tiere, die Instrumente herstellen können, und dieser Rekord wurde weder von einem Affen noch von einem Elefanten geschlagen. Während einer von Forschern der Universität Oxford (England) durchgeführten Untersuchung gelang es einer neukaledonischen Krähe (Corvus moneduloides), ein perfektes Werkzeug für den von ihr selbst festgelegten Zweck zu bauen. Betty, das fragliche Exemplar, ist eine junge zweijährige Frau, die einen Eimer mit Essen aus einer Tube holen musste.

Er verfügte über einen geraden Draht und einen Hakendraht, die von einem älteren Mann im Käfig sofort gestohlen wurden. Da er den Eimer mit dem geraden Draht nicht anheben konnte, stoppte er ein Ende des Drahtes und bog den Rest, bis er einen Haken bildete. Und er wiederholte den Test neun Mal von zehn mit vollem Erfolg: Bettys Unternehmen sind auf dieser Seite der Website der Universität Oxford dokumentiert. Der Mann hingegen hat nicht einmal versucht, das Problem anzugehen, aber dies scheint nicht auf Sex zurückzuführen zu sein.

Image Bettys Geschäft in Oxford. |

Auch wenn insbesondere diese Krähen als Werkzeugnutzer bekannt sind, wurde von einem Tier (auch unter Schimpansen) nie das erste Werkzeug gebaut, und ohne jegliche Schulung war es das richtige Werkzeug, um ein Problem zu lösen.

Neuigkeiten aktualisiert: Mai 2015