Anonim

How to recognize a face
Even the monkeys recognize each other from the face and do not use memory but some specialized neurons. With a process that according to some US scientists is very similar to ours.

Image
Monkeys can also recognize faces
human.

Recognizing someone is a very spontaneous action that we do almost without realizing. And according to some estimates, we are able to recognize thousands of faces .
But how is it possible to "memorize" so much data? Some scientists from the National Health Institute of Bethesda in Maryland (USA) asked about this, studying the recognition system of some monkeys, whose functioning is very similar to the human one.
Face to face
In the part of the brain called "inferotemporal cortex" there are a series of neurons "involved" in the recognition of faces. But their operation is still unclear.
Scientists observed the brains of two monkeys (Macaca mulatta) as they were shown a series of photos of human faces. Then they slightly modified them and showed them back to the animals. And they discovered that the "recognition neurons" of the monkeys were activated especially in the face of even slight differences between one image and another.
The differences that make the difference
The study, according to the scientists, shows that we do not store the physical features of all the people we know in our memory and then recall them when we encounter one. But, as the monkeys do, we probably proceed by comparison. At the head we have a generic "archive" of the most common and frequent somatic traits, when we see a face we compare it to the statistical average we have in mind, immediately noticing the differences, even the most subtle. And it is precisely the differences that determine that face for us and make us recognize it.
In other words we recognize a person with characteristics that he does not have in common with the others and we manage to do it in a fraction of a second. And without "weighing down" the memory.
(News updated 6 July 2006)

Anonim

Wie man ein Gesicht erkennt
Sogar die Affen erkennen sich vom Gesicht aus und verwenden kein Gedächtnis, sondern einige spezialisierte Neuronen. Mit einem Prozess, der nach Ansicht einiger US-Wissenschaftler unserem sehr ähnlich ist.

Image
Affen können auch Gesichter erkennen
Mensch.

Jemanden zu erkennen ist eine sehr spontane Handlung, die wir fast ohne zu merken machen. Und nach einigen Schätzungen können wir Tausende von Gesichtern erkennen .
Aber wie ist es möglich, sich so viele Daten zu "merken"? Einige Wissenschaftler des National Health Institute in Bethesda, Maryland (USA), fragten danach und untersuchten das Erkennungssystem einiger Affen, deren Funktionsweise der des Menschen sehr ähnlich ist.
Von Angesicht zu Angesicht
In dem Teil des Gehirns, der "inferotemporaler Kortex" genannt wird, gibt es eine Reihe von Neuronen, die an der Erkennung von Gesichtern "beteiligt" sind. Ihre Funktionsweise ist jedoch noch unklar.
Wissenschaftler beobachteten das Gehirn zweier Affen (Macaca mulatta), als ihnen eine Reihe von Fotos von menschlichen Gesichtern gezeigt wurde. Dann modifizierten sie sie leicht und zeigten sie den Tieren zurück. Und sie stellten fest, dass die "Erkennungsneuronen" der Affen vor allem bei geringfügigen Bildunterschieden aktiviert wurden.
Die Unterschiede, die den Unterschied machen
Laut den Wissenschaftlern zeigt die Studie, dass wir nicht die physischen Merkmale aller Menschen, die wir kennen, in unserem Gedächtnis speichern und sie dann abrufen, wenn wir auf einen Menschen stoßen. Aber wie die Affen verfahren wir wahrscheinlich im Vergleich. An der Spitze haben wir ein generisches "Archiv" der häufigsten und häufigsten somatischen Merkmale. Wenn wir ein Gesicht sehen, vergleichen wir es mit dem statistischen Durchschnitt, den wir im Sinn haben, und bemerken sofort die Unterschiede, selbst die subtilsten. Und genau die Unterschiede bestimmen dieses Gesicht für uns und lassen uns es erkennen.
Mit anderen Worten, wir erkennen eine Person mit Eigenschaften, die sie nicht mit den anderen gemeinsam hat, und wir schaffen es, dies in Bruchteilen von Sekunden zu tun. Und ohne die Erinnerung zu "beschweren".
(News aktualisiert 6 Juli 2006)