Anonim

Like any other animal: swallowing food and directing it to the stomach for digestion. But the process is not so simple.

In the best case, the bicephaly is caused by the abnormal bifurcation, during the development of the embryo, of the vertebral column. What is a normal body up to the neck, at the height of the digestive tract is divided into two. The animal only has to worry about ingesting the food: the only stomach of the body can feed both heads.

Brains in competition. The only drawback is the eventual competition: having two heads also means having two brains, and the cases in which the two ends are made … ruthless competition are not rare.

It is worse for the animals in which the anomaly is deeper, and in addition to the two heads also the other internal organs are double: in this case, each head must worry about nourishing its own stomach, and the competition can also lead to autocannibalismo.

This is why two-headed animals tend to have a shorter life than "normal" animals. With a few exceptions: the San Diego Zoo (USA) has for years hosted Thelma and Louise, a two-headed specimen of an obsolete Elaphe snake. In twenty years, the animal has also had 15 healthy children.

Anonim

Wie jedes andere Tier: Schlucken von Futter und Weiterleiten an den Magen zur Verdauung. Aber der Prozess ist nicht so einfach.

Im besten Fall wird die Bizephalie durch die abnormale Bifurkation der Wirbelsäule während der Entwicklung des Embryos verursacht. Was ist ein normaler Körper bis zum Hals, auf der Höhe des Verdauungstraktes ist zweigeteilt. Das Tier muss sich nur um die Nahrungsaufnahme kümmern: Der einzige Magen des Körpers kann beide Köpfe füttern.

Gehirne im Wettbewerb. Der einzige Nachteil ist der eventuelle Wettbewerb: Zwei Köpfe zu haben bedeutet auch, zwei Köpfe zu haben, und die Fälle, in denen die beiden Ziele erreicht werden … rücksichtsloser Wettbewerb sind keine Seltenheit.

Es ist schlimmer für die Tiere, bei denen die Anomalie tiefer ist, und zusätzlich zu den beiden Köpfen sind auch die anderen inneren Organe doppelt: In diesem Fall muss sich jeder Kopf um die Ernährung seines eigenen Magens sorgen, und die Konkurrenz kann auch zu Autocannibalismo führen.

Dies ist der Grund, warum zweiköpfige Tiere tendenziell ein kürzeres Leben haben als "normale" Tiere. Mit wenigen Ausnahmen: Im San Diego Zoo (USA) leben seit Jahren Thelma und Louise, ein zweiköpfiges Exemplar einer veralteten Elaphe-Schlange. In zwanzig Jahren hat das Tier auch 15 gesunde Kinder bekommen.