Anonim

When and under what thrusts did the largest animals on the planet reach their current size? The dilemma about the size of the blue whales (Balaenoptera musculus) and other giant cetaceans may have found a first answer. According to a group of evolutionary biologists at the University of Chicago, whale gigantism has accelerated dramatically over the past three million years.

10 things you didn't know about cetaceans

Lanky recently. "We think of whales as giant creatures, but if we consider the 36 million years of their evolutionary history, they have been so great for no more than a tenth of this period, " explains Graham Slater, among the authors. The researcher studied the fossils of 63 extinct whales and 13 living species with his colleagues. He compared dimensions and position in the cetacean family tree, elaborating computer models on how gigantism evolved.

More food, concentrated. Although the size of these animals has gradually changed over time, the exaggerated sizes of 10 meters and over (of blue whales and other whales) would have been reached only in the last 2-3 million years, probably due to the increase in cold water and nutrient dense in the regions around the continental shelves, due to the beginning of the glaciation in the northern hemisphere, about 3 million years ago.

The climatic phenomenon led cetacean food to concentrate in dense pockets, rather than distributing it uniformly in the seas. Giant animals with equally gigantic mouths can make the most of plankton reserves while they are there, and forfeit enough energy to swim to the next ones, which can also be found "months" away.

Anonim

Wann und unter welchen Stößen erreichten die größten Tiere der Erde ihre heutige Größe? Das Dilemma um die Größe der Blauwale (Balaenoptera musculus) und anderer Riesenwale mag eine erste Antwort gefunden haben. Laut einer Gruppe von Evolutionsbiologen an der Universität von Chicago hat der Gigantismus der Wale in den letzten drei Millionen Jahren dramatisch zugenommen.

10 Dinge, die Sie über Wale nicht wussten

Vor kurzem schlaksig. "Wir betrachten Wale als gigantische Kreaturen, aber wenn wir die 36 Millionen Jahre ihrer Evolutionsgeschichte betrachten, sind sie seit nicht mehr als einem Zehntel dieser Periode so großartig", erklärt Graham Slater unter den Autoren. Der Forscher untersuchte mit seinen Kollegen die Fossilien von 63 ausgestorbenen Walen und 13 lebenden Arten. Er verglich Dimensionen und Positionen im Stammbaum der Wale und erarbeitete Computermodelle für die Entwicklung des Gigantismus.

Mehr Essen, konzentriert. Obwohl sich die Größe dieser Tiere im Laufe der Zeit allmählich geändert hat, wären die übertriebenen Größen von 10 Metern und mehr (von Blauwalen und anderen Walen) nur in den letzten 2-3 Millionen Jahren erreicht worden, wahrscheinlich aufgrund des Anstiegs des Kaltwassers und Nährstoffdichte in den Regionen rund um die Festlandsockel aufgrund des Beginns der Vereisung auf der Nordhalbkugel vor etwa 3 Millionen Jahren.

Das klimatische Phänomen führte dazu, dass sich Walfutter in dichten Taschen konzentrierte, anstatt es gleichmäßig auf den Meeren zu verteilen. Riesentiere mit ebenso riesigen Mäulern können das meiste aus Planktonreserven machen, während sie dort sind, und verlieren genug Energie, um zu den nächsten zu schwimmen, die auch "Monate" entfernt sind.