Anonim

Do you talk to your dog and make fun of you? From today you can cite a research published in a prestigious scientific journal - Current Biology - which has succeeded in showing that dogs have an understanding of our language that is much more sophisticated than previously thought and are able to grasp the different components of our language.

Can you recognize the language of dogs?

They understand our language. The study shows, in fact, that dogs know how to recognize sounds (and this was already known) and are able to analyze even words and their intonation (and this is new).

Two researchers from the University of Sussex, Victoria Ratcliffe and David Reby, subjected 250 dogs to an experiment: various sounds and phrases from their masters were transmitted from two speakers positioned to the right and left of the dogs respectively. The system was designed so that the dogs could hear the sounds from the two opposite sound sources at the same time.

Interpretative key. The experiment was based on the hypothesis that stimuli arriving at one ear are transmitted mostly to the cerebral hemisphere of the opposite side. If therefore a hemisphere was specialized in the elaboration of specific information, then that information would be perceived as coming from the opposite ear.

Having established these premises, during the experiment the researchers noticed that if well-known commands like "come here" or "let's go" were pronounced, about 80% of the dogs turned their heads to the right, in the opposite direction to the left hemisphere, responsible for understanding language.

If the same command was pronounced, instead, in a language "unknown" to the animal or with some grammatical error, so as to make the word different, the dog turned its head to the left, in the opposite direction to the right hemisphere, deputy to the deciphering the tone and the emotion underlying it.

Let's try to understand. The separate processing in the two hemispheres is very similar to that which occurs in the brain of the human being. This absolutely does not mean that dogs understand everything that is said to them (as some media have erroneously reported), but simply that they pay attention to different aspects of communication: that is not only to what we say but also to how we say it. "We do not know to what extent they understand the words - explained the scholar Victoria Ratcliffe -, but they certainly analyze the information transmitted by human language in different areas of the brain, just like us".

And do we know when our dog "speaks" to us with the body? Take the test

Anonim

Sprichst du mit deinem Hund und machst dich lustig über dich? Ab heute können Sie eine Studie zitieren, die in der renommierten Fachzeitschrift Current Biology veröffentlicht wurde. Sie hat gezeigt, dass Hunde unsere Sprache viel besser verstehen als bisher angenommen und in der Lage sind, die verschiedenen Bestandteile unserer Sprache zu erfassen.

Kannst du die Sprache der Hunde erkennen?

Sie verstehen unsere Sprache. Die Studie zeigt in der Tat, dass Hunde Geräusche erkennen können (und das war bereits bekannt) und sogar Wörter und deren Intonation analysieren können (und das ist neu).

Zwei Forscher der University of Sussex, Victoria Ratcliffe und David Reby, haben 250 Hunde einem Experiment unterzogen: Verschiedene Töne und Phrasen ihrer Meister wurden von zwei Lautsprechern übertragen, die sich rechts und links von den Hunden befanden. Das System wurde so konzipiert, dass die Hunde gleichzeitig die Geräusche der beiden gegenüberliegenden Schallquellen hören können.

Interpretationsschlüssel. Das Experiment basierte auf der Hypothese, dass Reize, die an einem Ohr ankommen, größtenteils auf die Gehirnhälfte der gegenüberliegenden Seite übertragen werden. Wenn daher eine Hemisphäre auf die Ausarbeitung spezifischer Informationen spezialisiert wäre, würden diese Informationen als vom gegenüberliegenden Ohr stammend wahrgenommen.

Nachdem die Forscher diese Prämissen festgelegt hatten, stellten sie während des Experiments fest, dass, wenn bekannte Befehle wie "Komm her" oder "Lass uns gehen" ausgesprochen wurden, etwa 80% der Hunde ihren Kopf nach rechts in die entgegengesetzte Richtung zur linken Hemisphäre drehten. verantwortlich für das Verständnis der Sprache.

Wenn derselbe Befehl stattdessen in einer dem Tier "unbekannten" Sprache oder mit einem Grammatikfehler ausgesprochen wurde, um das Wort zu unterscheiden, drehte der Hund seinen Kopf nach links, in die entgegengesetzte Richtung zur rechten Hemisphäre, stellvertretend für die den Ton und das Gefühl, das ihm zugrunde liegt, zu entziffern.

Versuchen wir zu verstehen. Die getrennte Verarbeitung in den beiden Hemisphären ist der im Gehirn des Menschen sehr ähnlich. Dies bedeutet keineswegs, dass Hunde alles verstehen, was ihnen gesagt wird (wie einige Medien fälschlicherweise berichtet haben), sondern lediglich, dass sie auf verschiedene Aspekte der Kommunikation achten: Dies gilt nicht nur für das, was wir sagen, sondern auch für das, was wir sagen. "Wir wissen nicht, inwieweit sie die Wörter verstehen - erklärte die Wissenschaftlerin Victoria Ratcliffe -, aber sie analysieren mit Sicherheit die Informationen, die die menschliche Sprache in verschiedenen Bereichen des Gehirns übermittelt, genau wie wir."

Und wissen wir, wann unser Hund mit uns "spricht"? Mach den Test