Anonim

They are as big as rats, have an irrepressible hunger and wherever they go they leave behind a long trail of drool. Forget about the snails you see coming out of the blue on rainy days. We are talking about African giant snails (Achatina Fulica).

Native to East Africa but also widespread in Hawaii, they are considered one of the most destructive invasive species. For this they have been included in the list of "100 alien species in the habitat in which they are" most harmful in the world. On their menu there are over 500 species of plants, but they are also fond of plastic, stucco (which they use as a source of calcium to reconstruct their shell), tires and in general of anything green on their path.

These snails easily equal the size of a mouse and can reach 21 centimeters in length. Many specimens of this snail species have invaded several countries in South America and the US state of Florida.

A specimen of the genus Achatina discovered while illegally entering Australia.

The largest species, Achatina achatina, reaches a weight of 1 kg and can have a shell more than 20-25 centimeters long.

But Achatina fulica is also extra large (with a dozen centimeters shell), which has an extraordinary appetite: it is considered a scourge for agriculture, devouring 500 plant species ranging from cocoa to beans to papaya. Originally from Africa, this snail has now spread to Asia, the Caribbean and the Pacific islands.

A specimen of African giant snail (Achatina fulica) and a common garden snail compared.

To import them illegally for the first time from Hawaii to the United States was a young man from Miami in 1966. The boy, given the size and propensity of shellfish to interact with humans, wanted to keep the three specimens collected as pets, but the grandmother freed them in the garden, giving rise to a plague for agriculture that took 10 years and a million dollars to be eradicated. The danger seemed to have escaped, when in 2011 and then in 2013 the authorities witnessed a new spread.

An average adult reaches the size of the specimen in the photo. These animals survive for up to 9 years and mate continuously: with female and male reproductive organs, they can also produce 1200 eggs in a year. In Barbados, where they are more widespread, they come to puncture the tires of cars with their shells and turn into real bullets when they are fired into the air by the rotating blades of lawnmowers.

Contrary to what the man in the picture is doing, it is better not to come into direct contact with these molluscs, which can carry parasites and transmit serious forms of tropical meningitis.

You give her your hand, you also take your arm. It is not difficult for the inhabitants of the places where these molluscs are found to find one of these omnivorous devourers in the home: the stucco of the walls is a source of calcium for African snails and contributes to the reconstruction of the shell.

An African giant snail (Achatina achatina) with the characteristic striped motifs of the shell.

The trace of burr left by these animals is becoming a serious problem for the inhabitants of Barbados, where extra-large snails are very common.

A specimen of Achatina fulica in Madagascar.

A captured specimen appears from a laboratory display case.

In addition to being a threat to agriculture, shellfish are also dangerous for health: they are in fact carriers of nematode parasitic worms of rats that, entering into contact with man through the mucus of snails, can transmit serious forms of tropical meningitis. For this the authorities have invited anyone not to touch the snails and to disinfect the surfaces infected by their drool.

In some beauty salons in Krasnoyarsk, Siberia, the giant snails of the Achatina genus are used for beauty massages (it is thought, without sufficient scientific proof, that their "natural massage" promotes skin regeneration).

In controlled environments they are not very dangerous, but in tropical areas these giant African snails can carry and transmit the "nematode", a species of parasite, which, if ingested, can reach the brain through blood circulation and cause eosinophilic meningitis.

An example of an African giant snail (Achatina fulica) preserved in the Natural History Museum of London is weighed as usual every year. The snail well withdrawn into its shell does not seem particularly interested in it.

African giant snails prefer damp places: plant pot saucers, conditioner drains, soil.

You might also like: USA, the cicadas return mass A team of worms against snail invasions The invasion of mini-monsters The deafening concert of the insect that sings with the penis They are as big as rats, they have an irrepressible hunger and everywhere they leave behind them a long trail of drool. Forget about the snails you see coming out of the blue on rainy days. We are talking about African giant snails (Achatina Fulica).
Native to East Africa but also widespread in Hawaii, they are considered one of the most destructive invasive species. For this they have been included in the list of "100 alien species in the habitat in which they are" most harmful in the world. On their menu there are over 500 species of plants, but they are also fond of plastic, stucco (which they use as a source of calcium to reconstruct their shell), tires and in general of anything green on their path.

Anonim

Sie sind so groß wie Ratten, haben einen unbändigen Hunger und hinterlassen überall eine lange Spur von Sabbern. Vergessen Sie die Schnecken, die an regnerischen Tagen aus heiterem Himmel auftauchen. Wir sprechen von afrikanischen Riesenschnecken (Achatina Fulica).

Eingeboren in Ostafrika, aber auch auf Hawaii weit verbreitet, gelten sie als eine der destruktivsten invasiven Arten. Dafür wurden sie in die Liste der "100 gebietsfremden Arten in dem Lebensraum, in dem sie" am schädlichsten sind, der Welt aufgenommen. Auf ihrer Speisekarte stehen über 500 Pflanzenarten, aber sie mögen auch Plastik, Stuck (den sie als Kalziumquelle für die Rekonstruktion ihrer Schale verwenden), Reifen und im Allgemeinen alles, was auf ihrem Weg grün ist.

Diese Schnecken entsprechen leicht der Größe einer Maus und können eine Länge von 21 Zentimetern erreichen. Viele Exemplare dieser Schneckenart sind in mehrere Länder Südamerikas und in den US-Bundesstaat Florida eingedrungen.

Ein Exemplar der Gattung Achatina, das bei der illegalen Einreise nach Australien entdeckt wurde.

Die größte Art, Achatina achatina, erreicht ein Gewicht von 1 kg und kann eine Schale von mehr als 20-25 cm Länge aufweisen.

Achatina fulica ist aber auch besonders groß (mit einer Schale von zehn Zentimetern) und hat einen außergewöhnlichen Appetit: Sie gilt als Geißel für die Landwirtschaft und verschlingt 500 Pflanzenarten von Kakao über Bohnen bis hin zu Papaya. Die ursprünglich aus Afrika stammende Schnecke hat sich inzwischen in Asien, der Karibik und auf den pazifischen Inseln verbreitet.

Ein Exemplar der afrikanischen Riesenschnecke (Achatina fulica) und eine Gartenschnecke verglichen.

Die ersten illegalen Importe aus Hawaii in die USA unternahm ein junger Mann aus Miami im Jahr 1966. Der Junge wollte die drei Exemplare, angesichts der Größe und Neigung von Schalentieren zur Interaktion mit Menschen, als Haustiere sammeln lassen, aber Die Großmutter befreite sie im Garten und verursachte eine Pest für die Landwirtschaft, die 10 Jahre brauchte und eine Million Dollar kostete, um ausgerottet zu werden. Die Gefahr schien gebannt zu sein, als die Behörden 2011 und 2013 eine neue Ausbreitung erlebten.

Ein durchschnittlicher Erwachsener erreicht die Größe des Exemplars auf dem Foto. Diese Tiere überleben bis zu 9 Jahre und paaren sich ununterbrochen. Mit weiblichen und männlichen Fortpflanzungsorganen können sie auch 1200 Eier pro Jahr produzieren. Auf Barbados, wo sie am weitesten verbreitet sind, stechen sie mit ihren Granaten in die Reifen von Autos und verwandeln sich in echte Kugeln, wenn sie von den rotierenden Messern der Rasenmäher in die Luft geschossen werden.

Im Gegensatz zu dem, was der Mann auf dem Bild tut, ist es besser, nicht in direkten Kontakt mit diesen Weichtieren zu kommen, die Parasiten übertragen und schwere Formen der tropischen Meningitis übertragen können.

Du gibst ihr deine Hand, du nimmst auch deinen Arm. Für die Bewohner der Orte, an denen sich diese Weichtiere aufhalten, ist es nicht schwer, einen dieser Allesfresser im Haus zu finden: Der Stuck der Wände ist eine Kalziumquelle für afrikanische Schnecken und trägt zum Wiederaufbau der Schale bei.

Eine afrikanische Riesenschnecke (Achatina achatina) mit den charakteristischen Streifenmotiven der Schale.

Die Spuren von Graten, die diese Tiere hinterlassen, werden für die Bewohner von Barbados zu einem ernsten Problem, wo besonders große Schnecken weit verbreitet sind.

Ein Exemplar von Achatina fulica in Madagaskar.

Eine aufgenommene Probe erscheint auf einer Laborvitrine.

Muscheln sind nicht nur eine Bedrohung für die Landwirtschaft, sondern auch eine Gefahr für die Gesundheit: Sie sind auch Träger von Fadenwürmern von Ratten, die beim Kontakt mit dem Menschen über den Schleim von Schnecken schwere Formen der tropischen Meningitis übertragen können. Zu diesem Zweck haben die Behörden jeden aufgefordert, die Schnecken nicht zu berühren und die von ihrem Sabber befallenen Oberflächen zu desinfizieren.

In einigen Schönheitssalons in Krasnojarsk, Sibirien, werden die Riesenschnecken der Gattung Achatina für Schönheitsmassagen verwendet (ohne ausreichende wissenschaftliche Beweise wird angenommen, dass ihre "natürliche Massage" die Hautregeneration fördert).

In kontrollierten Umgebungen sind sie nicht sehr gefährlich, aber in tropischen Gebieten können diese afrikanischen Riesenschnecken den "Nematoden" übertragen, eine Parasitenart, die, wenn sie verschluckt werden, das Gehirn durch den Blutkreislauf erreichen und eine eosinophile Meningitis verursachen kann.

Ein Beispiel einer afrikanischen Riesenschnecke (Achatina fulica), die im Londoner Naturkundemuseum aufbewahrt wird, wird wie gewöhnlich jedes Jahr gewogen. Die Schnecke, die gut in ihre Schale zurückgezogen ist, scheint nicht besonders daran interessiert zu sein.

Afrikanische Riesenschnecken bevorzugen feuchte Standorte: Blumentopf-Untertassen, Conditioner-Abflüsse, Erde.

Sie könnten auch mögen: USA, die Zikaden kehren zurück Masse Ein Team von Würmern gegen Schneckeninvasionen Die Invasion von Mini-Monstern Das ohrenbetäubende Konzert des Insekts, das mit dem Penis singt Sie sind so groß wie Ratten, sie haben einen unbändigen Hunger und überall sie hinterlassen eine lange Spur von Sabbern. Vergessen Sie die Schnecken, die an regnerischen Tagen aus heiterem Himmel auftauchen. Wir sprechen von afrikanischen Riesenschnecken (Achatina Fulica).
Eingeboren in Ostafrika, aber auch auf Hawaii weit verbreitet, gelten sie als eine der destruktivsten invasiven Arten. Dafür wurden sie in die Liste der "100 gebietsfremden Arten in dem Lebensraum, in dem sie" am schädlichsten sind, der Welt aufgenommen. Auf ihrer Speisekarte stehen über 500 Pflanzenarten, aber sie mögen auch Plastik, Stuck (den sie als Kalziumquelle für die Rekonstruktion ihrer Schale verwenden), Reifen und im Allgemeinen alles, was auf ihrem Weg grün ist.