Anonim

Spider webs are not just a means of capture: on some occasions, they can turn into an efficient means of air transport. The ballooning technique (from the English word for ballooning) has been known for a long time. Certain species of spider secrete silk threads that function as sails, thanks to which they are raised and allowed to be transported even at great distances.

Lords of the air. Now some German scientists have studied this original form of dispersion on the territory more closely, discovering that preparations for take-off are accurate and far from random. They placed 14 crab spiders (gen. Xysticus) on a mushroom-shaped platform in Lilienthal Park, the same park in Berlin where aviation pioneer Otto Lilienthal (1848-1896) conducted his personal flight tests with the first gliders.

In a separate experiment, the researchers instead observed the same spiders in a miniature wind tunnel, in which they could measure temperature and air flow velocity. You can see the test footage in this beautiful Science video (the text continues after the movie).

Careful preparation. Spiders did not deploy their sails at random. Before taking flight, they tested wind direction and speed by lifting two legs for 5-8 seconds. On cold and windy days, they sheltered on one side of the platform without taking off. But in the warm ones and with a breeze no faster than 3 meters per second, they raised the abdomen releasing about sixty silk threads, and forming a triangular canvas which they then used to let themselves be lifted by the wind.

The study, in the pre-publication phase, is the first to show that, like any good aviator who respects himself, even spiders taste the weather conditions, before exposing themselves to a risk.

Anonim

Spinnennetze sind nicht nur ein Mittel zur Gefangennahme: In manchen Fällen können sie zu einem effizienten Lufttransportmittel werden. Die Ballontechnik (vom englischen Wort für Ballonfahren) ist seit langem bekannt. Bestimmte Spinnenarten scheiden als Segel fungierende Seidenfäden aus, durch die sie angehoben werden und auch über große Entfernungen transportiert werden dürfen.

Herren der Luft. Nun haben einige deutsche Wissenschaftler diese ursprüngliche Form der Ausbreitung auf dem Territorium genauer untersucht und festgestellt, dass die Startvorbereitungen präzise und alles andere als zufällig sind. Sie platzierten 14 Krabbenspinnen (Gen. Xysticus) auf einer pilzförmigen Plattform im Lilienthal-Park, dem gleichen Park in Berlin, in dem der Luftfahrtpionier Otto Lilienthal (1848-1896) seine persönlichen Flugtests mit der ersten durchführte Segelflugzeug.

In einem separaten Experiment beobachteten die Forscher stattdessen die gleichen Spinnen in einem Miniaturwindkanal, in dem sie Temperatur und Luftströmungsgeschwindigkeit messen konnten. Sie können das Testmaterial in diesem wunderschönen Science-Video sehen (der Text wird nach dem Film fortgesetzt).

Sorgfältige Vorbereitung. Spinnen setzten ihre Segel nicht willkürlich aus. Vor dem Flug testeten sie die Windrichtung und -geschwindigkeit, indem sie zwei Beine 5-8 Sekunden lang anhoben. An kalten und windigen Tagen schützten sie sich auf einer Seite des Bahnsteigs, ohne abzuheben. Aber in den warmen und mit einer Brise von nicht schneller als 3 Metern pro Sekunde hoben sie den Bauch an und lösten ungefähr sechzig Seidenfäden. Sie bildeten eine dreieckige Leinwand, die sie dann benutzten, um sich vom Wind anheben zu lassen.

Die Studie in der Vorveröffentlichungsphase ist die erste, die zeigt, dass selbst Spinnen wie jeder gute Flieger, der sich selbst respektiert, die Wetterbedingungen schmecken, bevor sie sich einem Risiko aussetzen.