Anonim

Take the shopping list and start deleting the items: melon, coffee, chocolate, apples, lemons … Keep the pen in your hand, you will need it: if the bees disappeared, and with them other precious pollinating insects, the list of foods we should do without would become infinite.

Image A bee of the species Halictus ligatus, just out of a pollen "bath". See face to face with bees. | Sam Droege / USGS Bee Inventory and Monitoring Lab

Bees, beetles, butterflies and other pollinators are "responsible" for the good yield of 75% of the crops on which we base our survival. The health of all these pollinators is today put to the test: a quarter of European bees risk extinction, for reasons that are not yet entirely clear, but which probably include the use of pesticides, the scarce availability of food for insects, the spread of native or alien parasites.

In the United States and Europe, a veritable silent massacre is underway that experts have called beehive depopulation syndrome. One of the largest and most wonderful seasonal events in the world, the migration of monarch butterflies - another important pollinator - has reached record lows in number of individuals: in 2018, 86% less than in 2017.

Fruit-bearing hecatomb. It seems an unstoppable trend and it seems that interesting (but sporadic) "shock initiatives" like the one periodically organized by Whole Foods Market, an important chain of supermarkets present in the USA, Canada and Great Britain, are needed to sensitize its customers on this problem removes from its shelves all the vegetables whose cultivation depends on pollinating insects: 52% of the assortment of fruit and vegetable products normally on sale!

Image |

The banality of bees. If you imagine removing from your supermarket also products whose existence depends not only on bees, but on a wider range of pollinators, 70% of the food products we feed ourselves would disappear. An example: for cocoa pollination, definitely not essential (but very good), Forcipomyia, a kind of biting and annoying gnats (for humans), are essential.

Image |

What can we do? The answers (yes they are) are trivial: attention to consumption? Tolerate insects? For what we can and for what is in the hands of each of us … protect the species. It is the theme of World Earth Day 2019.

Anonim

Nehmen Sie die Einkaufsliste und löschen Sie die Artikel: Melone, Kaffee, Schokolade, Äpfel, Zitronen … Halten Sie den Stift in Ihrer Hand, Sie werden ihn brauchen: Wenn die Bienen und mit ihnen andere wertvolle bestäubende Insekten verschwinden, wird die Liste der Lebensmittel, auf die wir verzichten sollten, unendlich.

Image Eine Biene der Art Halictus ligatus, gerade aus einem Blütenstaub "Bad". Von Angesicht zu Angesicht mit Bienen. | Sam Droege / USGS Bee Inventory und Monitoring Lab

Bienen, Käfer, Schmetterlinge und andere Bestäuber sind "verantwortlich" für den guten Ertrag von 75% der Ernten, auf denen wir unser Überleben gründen. Die Gesundheit all dieser Bestäuber wird heute auf die Probe gestellt: Ein Viertel der europäischen Bienen ist vom Aussterben bedroht, und zwar aus Gründen, die noch nicht vollständig geklärt sind, zu denen wahrscheinlich der Einsatz von Pestiziden und die knappe Verfügbarkeit von Nahrungsmitteln für Insekten gehören. die Ausbreitung von einheimischen oder fremden Parasiten.

In den USA und in Europa ist ein regelrechtes stilles Massaker im Gange, das Experten als Bienenstock-Entvölkerungs-Syndrom bezeichnen. Als eines der größten und schönsten saisonalen Ereignisse der Welt hat die Migration der Monarchfalter - ein weiterer wichtiger Bestäuber - bei der Anzahl der Individuen Rekordwerte erreicht: 2018 waren es 86% weniger als 2017.

Fruchttragende Hekatombe. Es scheint ein unaufhaltsamer Trend zu sein, und es scheint, dass interessante (aber sporadische) "Schockinitiativen" wie die, die regelmäßig vom Whole Foods Market, einer wichtigen Kette von Supermärkten in den USA, Kanada und Großbritannien, organisiert werden, erforderlich sind, um seine Kunden dafür zu sensibilisieren Problem entfernt aus seinen Regalen das gesamte Gemüse, dessen Anbau von bestäubenden Insekten abhängt: 52% des Sortiments an Obst- und Gemüseprodukten, die normalerweise zum Verkauf stehen!

Image |

Die Banalität der Bienen. Wenn Sie sich vorstellen, auch Produkte aus Ihrem Supermarkt zu entfernen, deren Existenz nicht nur von Bienen abhängt, sondern von einer größeren Anzahl von Bestäubern, würden 70% der Lebensmittel, die wir selbst füttern, verschwinden. Ein Beispiel: Für die Kakaobestäubung ist Forcipomyia, eine Art beißender und ärgerlicher Mücken (für den Menschen), auf jeden Fall nicht unbedingt erforderlich (aber sehr gut).

Image |

Was können wir tun? Die Antworten (ja, sie sind) sind trivial: Aufmerksamkeit für den Konsum? Insekten vertragen? Für das, was wir können und was in den Händen eines jeden von uns ist … beschütze die Spezies. Es ist das Thema des World Earth Day 2019.