Anonim

To reconstruct the movement of theropods, the ancient bipedal dinosaurs, many species of birds have been studied, including the Australian white ibis (Threskiornis molucca). The study aims to better understand the habits and appearance of these giants of the past, and is made possible by the close relationship between birds and dinosaurs.

Content provided by The University of Queensland

Cousins. Recent discoveries of dinosaur-like birds have helped to better define the evolutionary relationship between these animals. "It would be foolish to start anywhere else, " the Queensland Museum study coordinator Peter Guardian explained to the Guardian, because the birds, or Avian dinosaurs, are indeed extinct dinosaurs.

Theropods and other dinosaurs: the new classification Image An artistic reconstruction of C. juji. A dinosaur with rainbow feathers. | Velizar Simeonovski, The Field Museum, for the UT Austin Jackson School of Geosciences

The discovery of the slowness of the T rex (and of all the theropod dinosaurs) was received with great interest. But understanding the locomotion of the ancient, enormous inhabitants of the Earth does not only stimulate the curiosity of the public. According to Bishop, in fact, it is crucial to answer specific scientific questions.

Scientific curiosity. "The gait of the dinosaurs is important to decipher important elements of their ecology: how they found the food, how the companions sought it, how they avoided becoming food themselves, " Bishop explained. Furthermore, this study could contribute to modeling dinosaur migration and even to clarify if they were warm-blooded.

dinosaurs The reconstruction of a new species of dinosaur-swan, the Halszkaraptor escuilliei. | Lukas Panzarin

Evolution. But for Bishop the interest of this research lies in finding out how dinosaurs evolved into birds. "There have been many changes in the way they move; including flight development ". By studying 12 species of birds, weighing from 45 grams to 80 kg, the researchers have the differences with increasing size and speed, and this has allowed us to create a predictive model to estimate how large saurians walked and ran. The next step will be to test the model with other bird species.

Anonim

Um die Bewegung der Theropoden, der alten Zweibein-Dinosaurier, zu rekonstruieren, wurden viele Vogelarten untersucht, darunter der australische weiße Ibis (Threskiornis molucca). Die Studie zielt darauf ab, mehr über die Gewohnheiten und das Aussehen dieser Riesen der Vergangenheit zu erfahren. Möglich wird dies durch die enge Beziehung zwischen Vögeln und Dinosauriern.

Inhalt bereitgestellt von der University of Queensland

Cousins. Jüngste Entdeckungen von dinosaurierähnlichen Vögeln haben dazu beigetragen, die evolutionäre Beziehung zwischen diesen Tieren besser zu definieren. "Es wäre töricht, irgendwo anders anzufangen", erklärte der Studienkoordinator des Queensland Museums, Peter Guardian, dem Guardian, da die Vögel oder Vogeldinosaurier tatsächlich ausgestorbene Dinosaurier sind.

Theropoden und andere Dinosaurier: die neue Klassifikation Image Eine künstlerische Rekonstruktion von C. juji. Ein Dinosaurier mit Regenbogenfedern. | Velizar Simeonovski, The Field Museum, für die UT Austin Jackson School of Geosciences

Die Entdeckung der Langsamkeit des T rex (und aller Theropodendinosaurier) wurde mit großem Interesse aufgenommen. Das Verständnis der Fortbewegung der uralten, riesigen Bewohner der Erde weckt jedoch nicht nur die Neugier der Öffentlichkeit. Laut Bishop ist es in der Tat entscheidend, bestimmte wissenschaftliche Fragen zu beantworten.

Wissenschaftliche Neugier. "Der Gang der Dinosaurier ist wichtig, um wichtige Elemente ihrer Ökologie zu entschlüsseln: wie sie das Essen fanden, wie die Gefährten es suchten, wie sie es vermieden, selbst zum Essen zu werden", erklärte Bishop. Darüber hinaus könnte diese Studie dazu beitragen, die Migration von Dinosauriern zu modellieren und sogar zu klären, ob sie warmblütig sind.

Dinosaurier Die Rekonstruktion einer neuen Art von Dinosaurierschwan, dem Halszkaraptor escuilliei. | Lukas Panzarin

Evolution. Für Bishop liegt das Interesse dieser Forschung jedoch darin, herauszufinden, wie sich Dinosaurier zu Vögeln entwickelt haben. "Es hat viele Veränderungen in der Art und Weise gegeben, wie sie sich bewegen; einschließlich Flugentwicklung ". Durch die Untersuchung von 12 Vogelarten mit einem Gewicht von 45 g bis 80 kg stellen die Forscher die Unterschiede mit zunehmender Größe und Geschwindigkeit fest. Auf diese Weise konnten wir ein Vorhersagemodell erstellen, um abzuschätzen, wie groß Saurier gingen und rannten. Der nächste Schritt wird sein, das Modell mit anderen Vogelarten zu testen.