Anonim

For the first time in 10 years of absence, the Arabian sand cat (Felis margarita harrisoni) returns to the eyes of researchers: a team of scientists from the Environment Agency of Abu Dhabi has managed to photograph three specimens, with the help of food lures and hidden cameras.

Image One of the three copies of the hidden cameras. | Environment Agency - Abu Dhabi

Award-winning patience. The shots were taken in 2015 in the Baynouna area, in the western region of the United Arab Emirates, after 278 nights of stalking. It has been since 2005 that one could not observe one of these wild felines, living in the desert, and the new data will serve to understand distribution and behavior.

Al fresco. All the meetings took place at night, from midnight to six in the morning, and at mild temperatures (between 11 and 28 ° C). In 39% of the cases there was the full moon, and together with the feline it was also possible to photograph its preys: the Gerboa of the desert and the gerbil, two small rodents; and some reptiles and geckos, which could provide information on the type of feeding of the rare cat.

Anonim

Zum ersten Mal seit 10 Jahren in Abwesenheit ist die arabische Sandkatze (Felis margarita harrisoni) wieder in den Augen der Forscher: Ein Team von Wissenschaftlern der Umweltbehörde von Abu Dhabi hat es geschafft, drei Exemplare zu fotografieren, mit die Hilfe von Nahrungsködern und versteckten Kameras.

Image Eine der drei Kopien der versteckten Kameras. | Umweltbehörde - Abu Dhabi

Preisgekrönte Geduld. Die Aufnahmen wurden 2015 in der Region Baynouna in der westlichen Region der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate nach 278 nächtlichen Pirschfahrten gemacht. Es ist seit 2005, dass man eine dieser wilden Katzen, die in der Wüste leben, nicht beobachten konnte, und die neuen Daten werden dazu dienen, die Verbreitung und das Verhalten zu verstehen.

Im Freien. Alle Treffen fanden abends von Mitternacht bis sechs Uhr morgens bei milden Temperaturen (zwischen 11 und 28 ° C) statt. In 39% der Fälle war Vollmond, und zusammen mit der Katze konnten auch die Beutetiere fotografiert werden: der Gerboa der Wüste und der Gerbil, zwei kleine Nagetiere; und einige Reptilien und Geckos, die Auskunft über die Art der Fütterung der seltenen Katze geben könnten.