Anonim

The "green-eyed monster", as William Shakespeare defines it in the Othello, spares no one. With two or four legs. In fact, even dogs are victims of what was thought to be a feeling only of man: jealousy.

For the bosses, already convinced that Fido behaves in an absolutely human way, it may not be a surprise. But now science has tried it experimentally. The team of Christine Harris, of the University of California at San Diego, has in fact found the behavior of 36 dogs made jealous by taking them back to their homes. The jealousy of the man's best friend was stimulated by having their master show affection towards a realistic looking fake dog that barked, whined and waved its tail.

Fish-dogs Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image GO TO GALLERY (N photos)

Image Christine Harris, professor of psychology at the University of California at San Diego, with Samwise, one of the 3 border collies who inspired the study of canine jealousy. | Steve Harris

I BITE YOU. Fido's reactions were clear: three quarters of the dogs touched their legs or pushed their master while he was caressing and cuddling the "rival", much more than when the owner instead turned his attention to other objects, like a book (in in this case, only 22% of dogs did it). A third of the four-legged animals also tried to get between the master and the fake Fido, and a quarter of them managed to bite the puppet. "Not only did the dogs show jealous behavior, but they also tried to break the relationship between the master and the rival, " says Harris.

COMPETITION BETWEEN BROTHERS. Human jealousy is a complex feeling; according to some scholars, it is even a social construction, which is not found in all human cultures and is not "printed" in us as fear or anger. According to Harris, the canine would be a more basic form. That may have evolved in species where more puppies have to compete for attention and food. Although we generally think that jealousy is unleashed in the couple, in fact, Harris comments, this often happens between brothers or even between friends.

Dogs to the rescue Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image GO TO GALLERY (N photos)

Anonim

Das "grünäugige Monster", wie es William Shakespeare im Othello definiert, schont niemanden. Mit zwei oder vier Beinen. Tatsächlich sind sogar Hunde Opfer eines Gefühls, das man nur für den Menschen hielt: Eifersucht.

Für die Chefs, die bereits davon überzeugt sind, dass sich Fido absolut menschlich verhält, ist dies möglicherweise keine Überraschung. Aber jetzt hat die Wissenschaft es experimentell versucht. Das Team von Christine Harris von der Universität von Kalifornien in San Diego hat das Verhalten von 36 eifersüchtigen Hunden festgestellt, indem es sie zurück nach Hause brachte. Die Eifersucht des besten Freundes des Mannes wurde dadurch angeregt, dass ihr Meister Zuneigung zu einem realistisch aussehenden falschen Hund zeigte, der bellte, jammerte und mit dem Schwanz winkte.

Fisch-Hunde Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Gehe zur Galerie (N Fotos)

Image Christine Harris, Professorin für Psychologie an der Universität von Kalifornien in San Diego, mit Samwise, einem der drei Border Collies, die das Studium der Hunde-Eifersucht inspiriert haben. | Steve Harris

BEIß DICH. Die Reaktionen von Fido waren klar: Drei Viertel der Hunde berührten ihre Beine oder stießen ihren Herrn, während er den "Rivalen" streichelte und kuschelte, viel mehr als wenn der Besitzer seine Aufmerksamkeit stattdessen auf andere Objekte richtete, wie ein Buch (in In diesem Fall haben es nur 22% der Hunde getan. Ein Drittel der vierbeinigen Tiere versuchte auch, zwischen den Meister und den falschen Fido zu kommen, und ein Viertel gelang es, die Puppe zu beißen. "Die Hunde zeigten nicht nur eifersüchtiges Verhalten, sondern versuchten auch, die Beziehung zwischen dem Meister und dem Rivalen zu unterbrechen", sagt Harris.

WETTBEWERB ZWISCHEN BRUDERN. Menschliche Eifersucht ist ein komplexes Gefühl; einigen Gelehrten zufolge handelt es sich sogar um eine soziale Konstruktion, die nicht in allen menschlichen Kulturen anzutreffen ist und in uns nicht als Angst oder Wut "gedruckt" wird. Harris zufolge wäre der Eckzahn eine grundlegendere Form. Dies könnte sich bei Arten entwickelt haben, bei denen mehr Welpen um Aufmerksamkeit und Futter konkurrieren müssen. Obwohl wir im Allgemeinen denken, dass Eifersucht in dem Paar ausgelöst wird, geschieht dies laut Harris häufig zwischen Brüdern oder sogar zwischen Freunden.

Hunde zur Rettung Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Gehe zur Galerie (N Fotos)