Anonim

One speaks of hyperesthesia when the cat suddenly manifests unusual behaviors in the evening and morning hours: during these episodes, it is as if it were prey to hallucinations and begins to run without a goal. This behavior should not be confused with the normal races that cats do every so often in the evening or in the morning: if it is hyperesthesia, the cat has a fixed gaze and glazed eyes, looks insistently at some parts of its body (the tail, the sides, the hind legs) and it is as if he did not recognize them, so much so that he tries to attack them and bite them.

Symptoms. Hyperesthesia is skin hypersensitivity of neurological origin. In the case of cats it corresponds to the rolling skin disease, so called because one of the symptoms is the appearance of movements of the skin, in the region of the back, which suggest a sequence of waves. In the most serious cases there is also uncontrolled loss of feces and urine, and the animal behaves as if it were in a completely foreign environment and does not recognize anyone: in this state it emits strong meows and growls and can even attack people, animals and even objects neighbors.

Image |

It does not respond to the demands of the environment (call of the owner) and it is therefore difficult to intervene during crises, which are periodic (once a month) and leave no traces between an episode and the next. Not all crises have extreme manifestations and even the intensity of symptoms can be very different from one episode to another, but the rolling skin accompanied by runs and meows must prompt you to request a veterinary consultation.

Therapy. The cause of this disease in felines is still unknown: it is considered a compulsive disorder, perhaps linked to stress (due for example to insufficient environmental stimulation or radical changes in the daily routine) and it is possible that it has a genetic basis. The diagnosis must include a behavioral visit and a clinical visit to rule out any dermatological (allergy) or neurological (seizure) problems that may confuse the clinical picture. The therapy involves the administration of drugs and a behavioral therapy consisting of environmental modifications (to identify the causes of stress). In addition, it is good to completely ignore the cat when it manifests the crisis, to avoid reinforcing those behaviors thanks to unusual attention.

Dogs, cats & Co.

Anonim

Man spricht von Hyperästhesie, wenn die Katze in den Abend- und Morgenstunden plötzlich ungewöhnliche Verhaltensweisen zeigt: Während dieser Episoden ist es, als wäre sie Opfer von Halluzinationen und sie beginnt, ohne Ziel zu rennen. Dieses Verhalten sollte nicht mit den normalen Rassen verwechselt werden, die Katzen abends oder morgens so oft machen: Wenn es sich um eine Hyperästhesie handelt, hat die Katze einen festen Blick und glasige Augen, schaut beharrlich auf einige Teile ihres Körpers (Schwanz, die Seiten, die Hinterbeine) und es ist, als hätte er sie nicht erkannt, so sehr, dass er versucht, sie anzugreifen und sie zu beißen.

Die Symptome. Hyperästhesie ist eine Hautüberempfindlichkeit neurologischen Ursprungs. Bei Katzen entspricht dies der sogenannten Rollhautkrankheit, da eines der Symptome das Auftreten von Hautbewegungen im Bereich des Rückens ist, die auf eine Wellenfolge hindeuten. In den schwersten Fällen kommt es auch zu einem unkontrollierten Verlust von Kot und Urin, und das Tier verhält sich wie in einer völlig fremden Umgebung und erkennt niemanden: In diesem Zustand stößt es starkes Miauen und Knurren aus und kann sogar Menschen, Tiere und sogar Gegenstände angreifen Nachbarn.

Image |

Es reagiert nicht auf die Anforderungen der Umwelt (Anruf des Eigentümers) und es ist daher schwierig, in Krisen zu intervenieren, die regelmäßig (einmal im Monat) auftreten und keine Spuren zwischen einer Episode und der nächsten hinterlassen. Nicht alle Krisen haben extreme Ausprägungen, und selbst die Intensität der Symptome kann von Episode zu Episode sehr unterschiedlich sein, aber die rollende Haut, die von Läufen und Miauen begleitet wird, muss Sie auffordern, eine tierärztliche Beratung in Anspruch zu nehmen.

Therapie. Die Ursache dieser Krankheit bei Katzen ist noch unbekannt: Es handelt sich um eine Zwangsstörung, die möglicherweise mit Stress zusammenhängt (z. B. aufgrund unzureichender Umweltstimulation oder radikaler Veränderungen im Alltag) und möglicherweise genetisch bedingt ist. Die Diagnose muss einen Verhaltensbesuch und einen klinischen Besuch umfassen, um dermatologische (Allergie) oder neurologische (Anfall) Probleme auszuschließen, die das klinische Bild verfälschen können. Die Therapie beinhaltet die Verabreichung von Medikamenten und eine Verhaltenstherapie, die aus Umweltveränderungen besteht (um die Ursachen von Stress zu identifizieren). Außerdem ist es gut, die Katze zu ignorieren, wenn sich die Krise manifestiert, um zu vermeiden, dass diese Verhaltensweisen durch ungewöhnliche Aufmerksamkeit verstärkt werden.

Hunde, Katzen & Co.