Anonim

On the Japanese island of Yakushima, a young male snow monkey (Macaca fuscata) repeatedly tried to mate with female sikas, a small local deer (Cervus nippon). The strange behavior was observed in 2015 and is described in an article published in the scientific journal Primates.

Stay away. The macaque tried sexual approaches with two different females, and the only contact was with the animal's back. In one case, the deer shook the monkey from the back; in the other, the female did not seem to oppose. The male was also seen to "defend" the potential partner from other macaques.

Image One of the attempts to mate the Japanese macaque with a female sika deer. | Alexandre Bonnefoy - Éditions Issekinicho

We remain friends. These two species generally have a collaborative relationship. The deer feed on the fruits that the macaques drop from the trees, and occasionally tolerate having them on the back for grooming. The filmed approaches could be an evolution of this behavior on the part of a male who is still inexperienced, marginalized from the rest of the group precisely in the mating season and struck by the lack of partners.

Not the first case. Just the deprivation of companions would be the most probable reason of the attempts of the primate, that however, for inexperience, could also have been wrong "target". Other examples of interspecies sex have been filmed, in the past, between sea lions and penguins (we had written here), between orphan elephants and rhinos, and between a chimpanzee and a toad.

Anonim

Auf der japanischen Insel Yakushima versuchte ein junger männlicher Schneeaffe (Macaca fuscata) wiederholt, sich mit weiblichen Sikas, einem kleinen lokalen Hirsch (Cervus nippon), zu paaren. Das seltsame Verhalten wurde im Jahr 2015 beobachtet und ist in einem Artikel in der Fachzeitschrift Primates beschrieben.

Bleib weg. Der Makaken versuchte es mit zwei verschiedenen Weibchen, und der einzige Kontakt bestand mit dem Rücken des Tieres. In einem Fall schüttelte der Hirsch den Affen von hinten; in der anderen schien sich die Frau nicht zu widersetzen. Der Mann wurde auch gesehen, um den möglichen Partner von anderen Makaken "zu verteidigen".

Image Einer der Versuche, den japanischen Makaken mit einem weiblichen Sikahirsch zu paaren. | Alexandre Bonnefoy - Éditions Issekinicho

Wir bleiben Freunde. Diese beiden Arten haben im Allgemeinen eine kollaborative Beziehung. Die Hirsche ernähren sich von den Früchten, die die Makaken von den Bäumen fallen lassen, und dulden gelegentlich, sie zur Pflege auf dem Rücken zu haben. Die gefilmten Ansätze könnten eine Weiterentwicklung dieses Verhaltens eines Mannes sein, der gerade in der Paarungszeit noch unerfahren, vom Rest der Gruppe ausgegrenzt und vom Mangel an Partnern betroffen ist.

Nicht der erste Fall. Gerade der Entzug von Gefährten wäre der wahrscheinlichste Grund für die Versuche des Primaten, der aber aus Unerfahrenheit auch falsches "Ziel" gewesen sein könnte. Andere Beispiele für Interspezies-Sex wurden in der Vergangenheit zwischen Seelöwen und Pinguinen (wir hatten hier geschrieben), zwischen verwaisten Elefanten und Nashörnern sowie zwischen einem Schimpansen und einer Kröte gedreht.