Anonim

We know him as a loving father and for his funny physical conformation. But the grotesque aspect of the seahorse (gen. Hippocampus) is actually an evolutionary adaptation that makes this animal a ruthless hunter: it is what a study just published in Nature Communications claims.

At lunchtime the hippocampi are forced to contend with real champions of speed: tiny crustaceans of 1-2 millimeters in length called copepods, very skilled in picking up every single disturbance of the water.
As soon as they feel movement around them, these creatures escape by grinding, every second, a distance equal to 500 times their length, as if a human being of 1.8 meters swam to 3218 kilometers per hour. And yet, under normal conditions, seahorses catch them 9 times out of 10.

To understand how some researchers from the University of Austin, Texas, have filmed the movements of a species of dwarf horse, the Hippocampus zosterae, with 3D holographic shots, a technique that uses a microscope equipped with a laser and high-speed camera.

From the analysis of the videos it emerged that the particular shape of the hippocampus snout minimizes the hydrodynamic disturbance (ie the movement of water around the proboscis) and to reach up to a millimeter away from the prey: at that point, the flexible head allows to orient the mouth according to the best angle and to suck, like a marine vacuum cleaner, the poor copepods.
See the details of the shooting (the text continues below the gif)
Seahorse

"For their victims, seahorses are more than anything else marine monsters, " say the scientists, who classify the method of hunting seahorses as "pivot" feeding, a type of fishing at short distance that also requires a certain speed of movement. Other fish with a less tapered head, such as stickleback, do not have the same "ninja" abilities shown by sea horses.
"It's like an arms race between prey and predator, " continues Brad Gemmell, head of the study "and the horse has developed a good method to get close enough to hit from a very short distance."
You might also be interested in:
The camouflage and transformist octopus (video)
The sea illusionist: the trumpet fish
And the shark that walks on the bottom

The funniest of the abyss GO TO THE GALLERY (N photo)

The 12 most fearful predators of the seven seas GO TO GALLERY (N photo)

Anonim

Wir kennen ihn als einen liebevollen Vater und für sein lustiges körperliches Exterieur. Aber der groteske Aspekt des Seepferds (Gen. Hippocampus) ist tatsächlich eine evolutionäre Anpassung, die dieses Tier zu einem skrupellosen Jäger macht: Es ist das, was eine gerade in Nature Communications veröffentlichte Studie behauptet.

Zur Mittagszeit müssen sich die Hippocampi mit echten Geschwindigkeitsmeistern messen: winzigen Krustentieren mit einer Länge von 1 bis 2 Millimetern, sogenannten Copepoden, die jede einzelne Störung des Wassers sehr gut aufnehmen können.
Sobald sie eine Bewegung um sich herum spüren, entkommen diese Kreaturen, indem sie jede Sekunde eine Distanz von 500-facher Länge schleifen, als ob ein Mensch von 1, 8 Metern auf 3218 Stundenkilometer geschwommen wäre. Und doch fangen Seepferdchen sie unter normalen Bedingungen neun von zehn.

Um zu verstehen, wie einige Forscher der Universität von Austin, Texas, die Bewegungen einer Zwergpferdeart, des Hippocampus zosterae, mit holographischen 3D-Aufnahmen, einer Technik, die ein mit einem Laser und einer Hochgeschwindigkeitskamera ausgestattetes Mikroskop verwendet, aufgenommen haben.

Aus der Analyse der Videos ging hervor, dass die besondere Form der Hippocampusschnauze die hydrodynamische Störung (dh die Bewegung des Wassers) minimiert um den Rüssel herum) und bis zu einem Millimeter von der Beute entfernt zu erreichen: An diesem Punkt ermöglicht der flexible Kopf, den Mund nach dem besten Winkel auszurichten und die armen Copepoden wie einen Marinestaubsauger zu saugen.
Details zum Shooting anzeigen (der Text wird unter dem.gif" alt="Image" /> Pferd-marine

"Seepferdchen sind für ihre Opfer mehr als alles andere Seeungeheuer", sagen die Wissenschaftler, die die Jagd auf Seepferdchen als "Pivot-Fütterung" einstufen, eine Fischart auf kurze Distanz, die auch eine gewisse Bewegungsgeschwindigkeit erfordert. Andere Fische mit weniger spitz zulaufendem Kopf wie Stichling besitzen nicht die gleichen "Ninja" -Fähigkeiten wie Seepferdchen.
"Es ist wie ein Wettrüsten zwischen Beute und Raubtier", fährt Brad Gemmell, Leiter der Studie fort.
Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:
Der Tarn- und Transformisten-Tintenfisch (Video)
Der Meeresillusionist: der Trompetenfisch
Und der Hai, der auf dem Grund geht

Der lustigste des Abgrunds GEHE ZUR GALERIE (N Foto)

Die 12 ängstlichsten Raubtiere der sieben Meere ZUR GALERIE (N Foto)