Anonim

There are those who vote by show of hands and some by … sneezing. The packs of African wild dogs (Lycaon pictus), wild canids from the hypercarnivorous diet, make group decisions in a democratic way, moreover expressing their opinion loudly. When a good number of specimens in the group sneeze, it means that it is time to stop resting and go hunting, as a study published in Proceedings of the Royal Society B shows.

A group of biologists from the Center for Ecosystem Science (University of New South Wales, Australia), noticed the singular form of reaching the quorum while studying the gatherings that the canines face to force each other before going hunting for prey. Shortly before these ceremonies, the rate of sneezing between wild dogs undergoes a surge.

hunting, predators, wild animals, prey, rivalry between animals Curiosity: breathtaking battles between prey and predators. |

If the leader says … So far it was thought that sneezing simply served to clear the airways of animals, but by studying the behavior more closely, scientists discovered that the reason is more interesting: the greater the number of sneezing, the higher the probability that the pack leaves for hunting. If the dominant wild dogs sneeze, then it takes only a small number of other sneezes to go. If the alpha male does not express himself, instead, a broader consensus is needed, demonstrating that, if desired, one can oppose the decisions of the leader.

Nothing to fear. The observations were made on 68 social gatherings of 5 packs of wild dogs in the Okavango River Delta, Botswana. The sneezes are similar to the warning signs launched by other canids, but in the case of the "votes", the specimens seemed relaxed, and the other animals also did not seem scared.

Why do dogs smell their ass?

Other forms of democratic voting have been documented among meerkats, bees, mountain gorillas and capuchin cebus. However, sneezing could also be a physiological response to a decision already made in another way: the rapid exhalation of air is a way to prepare the nostrils to sniff more finely and breathe better during the pursuit of the prey.

Anonim

Es gibt diejenigen, die durch Handzeichen und einige durch … Niesen abstimmen. Die Rudel afrikanischer Wildhunde (Lycaon pictus), wilde Caniden aus der hyperkarnivoren Ernährung, treffen Gruppenentscheidungen demokratisch und äußern ihre Meinung zudem laut. Wenn eine gute Anzahl von Exemplaren in der Gruppe niest, ist es an der Zeit, sich auszuruhen und auf die Jagd zu gehen, wie eine in Proceedings of the Royal Society B veröffentlichte Studie zeigt.

Eine Gruppe von Biologen vom Centre for Ecosystem Science (Universität von New South Wales, Australien) bemerkte die einzigartige Form, das Kollegium zu erreichen, als sie die Versammlungen studierten, denen sich die Eckzähne gegenübersahen, um sich gegenseitig zu zwingen, bevor sie auf Beutejagd gingen. Kurz vor diesen Zeremonien nimmt die Niesrate zwischen wilden Hunden zu.

Jagd, Raubtiere, wilde Tiere, Beute, Rivalität zwischen Tieren Neugier: atemberaubende Kämpfe zwischen Beute und Raubtieren. |

Wenn der Anführer sagt … Bisher wurde angenommen, dass Niesen lediglich dazu diente, die Atemwege von Tieren zu befreien. Bei genauerer Betrachtung des Verhaltens stellten die Wissenschaftler jedoch fest, dass der Grund interessanter ist: Je höher die Anzahl der Niesen, desto höher die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass das Rudel zur Jagd aufbricht. Wenn die dominierenden Wildhunde niesen, braucht es nur eine kleine Anzahl von anderen Niesen, um zu gehen. Wenn sich das Alpha-Männchen stattdessen nicht ausdrückt, ist ein breiterer Konsens erforderlich, der zeigt, dass man, falls gewünscht, die Entscheidungen des Führers ablehnen kann.

Nichts zu befürchten. Die Erfassungen wurden an 68 sozialen Versammlungen von 5 Rudeln Wildhunden im Okavango River Delta, Botswana, durchgeführt. Das Niesen ähnelt den Warnsignalen anderer Canids, aber bei den "Stimmen" wirkten die Exemplare entspannt und die anderen Tiere schienen ebenfalls keine Angst zu haben.

Warum riechen Hunde ihren Arsch?

Andere Formen der demokratischen Stimmabgabe wurden bei Erdmännchen, Bienen, Berggorillas und Kapuziner-Cebus dokumentiert. Niesen kann jedoch auch eine physiologische Reaktion auf eine bereits auf eine andere Weise getroffene Entscheidung sein: Durch schnelles Ausatmen der Luft können die Nasenlöcher so vorbereitet werden, dass sie beim Verfolgen der Beute feiner riechen und besser atmen können.