Anonim

If you could visit them you wouldn't find monkeys, lions or other exotic animals, but only steel tanks that protect the biological material of many animals, at risk of extinction or not. Frozen zoos (frozen zoos) have been storing for 40 years the genetic material taken from the animals: DNA, sperm, eggs, embryos and live tissue, stored between -170 and -225 ° C in liquid nitrogen (cryopreservation ) with the aim of safeguarding biodiversity.

What is biodiversity? Image A tank for the cryopreservation of animal biological findings at temperatures between –170 and -225 ° C. |

Scattered around the world. In the most famous of these structures, in San Diego (USA), thousands of potential tigers, lions, wild cats, elephants, orangutans, rhinos, buffaloes, bears, birds, amphibians, reptiles and fish sleep.

In recent years frozen zoos, like seed banks, have spread to various parts of the world: in Melbourne (Australia), in London (the Frozen ark project, with eight member countries), at the University of Nottingham (UK) and several others in America.

Unfortunately, there is still no real international network between the various institutes, with a catalog of preserved species, but it is estimated that all these structures have managed to secure at least 10 thousand samples of cells and tissues, from over 1, 000 species different.

The game of Creation. If what happened in John Hammond's Jurassic Park is considered scientifically impossible due to insufficiency (or damage) of the genetic material, in the near future, we could get eggs and sperm from biological tissues, create embryos and bring the animals back to life. This is what researchers at the Scripps Research Institute in San Diego have been able to get after obtaining induced pluripotent stem cells (IPS) from cryopreserved materials.

Is it possible to create a backup of the earthly life to face a possible catastrophe? Where to store the precious treasure?

IPS are cells that can differentiate themselves to become any other type of cell. The Scripps researchers intend to use them to create gametes and then originate egg cells through in vitro fertilization. When the idea of ​​frozen zoos was born, genetic technology was still in its infancy and it was not known how all the genetic specimens collected could have been used. Now, technology has overcome some limitations and would perhaps allow even extinct species to be brought back to life, but on this possibility the discussion on ethical problems is far from over.

Anonim

Wenn Sie sie besuchen könnten, würden Sie keine Affen, Löwen oder andere exotische Tiere finden, sondern nur Stahltanks, die das biologische Material vieler Tiere schützen, die vom Aussterben bedroht sind oder nicht. Gefrorene Zoos (Frozen Zoos) lagern seit 40 Jahren das genetische Material der Tiere: DNA, Sperma, Eier, Embryonen und lebendes Gewebe, gelagert zwischen -170 und -225 ° C in flüssigem Stickstoff (Kryokonservierung) ) mit dem Ziel, die biologische Vielfalt zu erhalten.

Was ist Biodiversität? Image Ein Tank zur Kryokonservierung von tierbiologischen Befunden bei Temperaturen zwischen –170 und -225 ° C. |

Über die ganze Welt verstreut. In den berühmtesten dieser Bauwerke in San Diego (USA) schlafen Tausende potenzieller Tiger, Löwen, Wildkatzen, Elefanten, Orang-Utans, Nashörner, Büffel, Bären, Vögel, Amphibien, Reptilien und Fische.

In den letzten Jahren haben sich gefrorene Zoos wie Samenbanken in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt verbreitet: in Melbourne (Australien), in London (Projekt Frozen Ark mit acht Mitgliedsländern), an der University of Nottingham (UK). und einige andere in Amerika.

Leider gibt es immer noch kein wirkliches internationales Netzwerk zwischen den verschiedenen Instituten mit einem Katalog erhaltener Arten, aber es wird geschätzt, dass all diese Strukturen es geschafft haben, mindestens 10.000 Proben von Zellen und Geweben aus über 1.000 Arten zu sichern anders.

Das Spiel der Schöpfung. Wenn das, was im Jurassic Park von John Hammond geschah, aufgrund der Unzulänglichkeit (oder Beschädigung) des genetischen Materials als wissenschaftlich unmöglich angesehen wird, könnten wir in naher Zukunft Eier und Sperma aus biologischen Geweben gewinnen, Embryonen erzeugen und die Tiere wieder zum Leben erwecken. Das ist es, was Forscher am Scripps Research Institute in San Diego nach der Gewinnung von induzierten pluripotenten Stammzellen (IPS) aus kryokonservierten Materialien erreichen konnten.

Ist es möglich, eine Sicherung des irdischen Lebens zu schaffen, um einer möglichen Katastrophe entgegenzutreten? Wo soll der kostbare Schatz aufbewahrt werden?

IPS sind Zellen, die sich von anderen Zelltypen unterscheiden können. Die Scripps-Forscher wollen damit Gameten erzeugen und dann durch In-vitro-Fertilisation Eizellen bilden. Als die Idee der gefrorenen Zoos geboren wurde, steckte die Gentechnologie noch in den Kinderschuhen und es war nicht bekannt, wie alle gesammelten genetischen Proben hätten verwendet werden können. Jetzt hat die Technologie einige Einschränkungen überwunden und würde es vielleicht ermöglichen, sogar ausgestorbene Arten wieder zum Leben zu erwecken, aber bei dieser Möglichkeit ist die Diskussion über ethische Probleme noch lange nicht beendet.