Anonim

The ability to take on the emotions of one's fellows is not a human exclusive: which animal species do best to us? Among the primates, probably the bonobos (Pan paniscus).

According to a study published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, these cousins ​​of the hominid family react faster than other great apes to the emotions of their peers, especially when there are positive social behaviors like grooming or sex at stake.

The test. Researchers at the University of Leiden (Netherlands) came to this conclusion thanks to the dot-probe task, a psychological investigation tool used to measure emotional attention. During the experiment, animals are presented with neutral images or with various types of emotions; the photo is then replaced by the design of a point, which the subjects must touch to receive a reward. The speed with which the animals perform the operation is an indication of the attention they were devoting to the previous photo.

Positive contagion. The bonobos, compared to chimpanzees, orangutans and gorillas, showed a more rapid response to the emotional images depicting other bonobos: the spy of the ability to empathize with their own kind. The effect appeared more marked with images depicting protective or "group" behaviors such as grooming, mating and infectious yawning; less interest was given to photos of stressful or aggressive situations.

Similarities. Like humans, bonobos live in large groups in which social cohesion is indispensable for survival: hence the need to empathize with behaviors that favor interaction between peers. The situations that have aroused greater empathy are all protective or conducive to group bonds: the yawn cools the brain and increases alertness; sex and grooming cement the group (the bonobos, not surprisingly, are the only primates besides the man to have "frontal" sexual relations and to kiss with the tongue).

The discovery also confirms some neuroanatomical peculiarities: compared to other monkeys, bonobos have more gray matter in the amygdala and in the insula, brain structures linked to the control of emotions.

Anonim

Die Fähigkeit, die Gefühle der Mitmenschen zu übernehmen, ist kein menschlicher Ausschluss: Welche Tierart tut uns am besten? Unter den Primaten wohl die Bonobos (Pan paniscus).

Laut einer Studie, die in Proceedings der National Academy of Sciences veröffentlicht wurde, reagieren diese Cousins der hominiden Familie schneller als andere Menschenaffen auf die Emotionen ihrer Altersgenossen, insbesondere wenn positive soziale Verhaltensweisen wie Pflege oder Sex auf dem Spiel stehen.

Der Test. Forscher der Universität Leiden (Niederlande) gelangten zu diesem Ergebnis dank der Dot-Probe-Aufgabe, einem psychologischen Untersuchungsinstrument zur Messung der emotionalen Aufmerksamkeit. Während des Experiments werden den Tieren neutrale Bilder oder verschiedene Arten von Emotionen präsentiert. Das Foto wird dann durch die Gestaltung eines Punktes ersetzt, den die Probanden berühren müssen, um eine Belohnung zu erhalten. Die Geschwindigkeit, mit der die Tiere die Operation ausführen, ist ein Hinweis auf die Aufmerksamkeit, die sie dem vorherigen Foto gewidmet haben.

Positive Ansteckung. Die Bonobos zeigten im Vergleich zu Schimpansen, Orang-Utans und Gorillas eine schnellere Reaktion auf die emotionalen Bilder anderer Bonobos: den Spion der Fähigkeit, sich in ihre eigene Art hineinzuversetzen. Der Effekt zeigte sich deutlicher bei Bildern, die Schutz- oder "Gruppen" -Verhalten zeigten, wie z. B. Pflege, Paarung und infektiöses Gähnen. Fotos von stressigen oder aggressiven Situationen fanden weniger Beachtung.

Ähnlichkeiten. Bonobos leben wie Menschen in großen Gruppen, in denen sozialer Zusammenhalt überlebenswichtig ist. Daher muss man sich in Verhaltensweisen einfühlen, die die Interaktion zwischen Gleichaltrigen fördern. Die Situationen, die größeres Einfühlungsvermögen erregt haben, sind alle schützend oder förderlich für Gruppenbindungen: Das Gähnen kühlt das Gehirn und erhöht die Wachsamkeit; Sex und Pflege zementieren die Gruppe (die Bonobos sind, nicht überraschend, die einzigen Primaten neben dem Mann, die "frontale" sexuelle Beziehungen haben und sich mit der Zunge küssen).

Die Entdeckung bestätigt auch einige neuroanatomische Besonderheiten: Im Vergleich zu anderen Affen haben Bonobos mehr graue Substanz in der Amygdala und in der Insula, Gehirnstrukturen, die mit der Kontrolle von Emotionen verbunden sind.