Anonim

It is estimated that 17, 000 to 24, 000 new species of animals are identified each year. An impressive number: usually it is a pair of mammals, hundreds of amphibians and many thousands of insects and other invertebrates.

The scientists who identify the new species also have the honor of choosing the scientific name. The choice often refers to the distinctive characteristics of the animal, or to the place where it was found. But many entomologists allow themselves to be carried away by imagination and "baptize" the new species by referring to famous people to whom they are particularly attached (or who remember the new species). The stars of the show are among the most popular, as we show you in this gallery.

The gadfly Beyoncé (Scaptia beyonceae) owes its name to the roundness of its colorful and flashy abdomen which reminded the singer to the young entomologist Bryan Lessard, of the Australian Center for scientific research (Csiro) who discovered it in 2008.

Two American scientists have baptized three cockroaches with the names George Bush, Dick Cheney and Donald Rumsfeld. In 2005 Cornell University classified 65 new species and Kelly Miller and Quentin Wheeler baptized 3 cockroaches A gathidium bushi, Agathidium cheneyi and Agathidium rumsfeldi. A tribute, the two entomologists were required to specify.

The biologist Jason Bond in 2007 found in Alabama a spider a little different than usual. After finding that it was a new arachnid, he wanted to give the new species the name of Myrmekiaphila neilyoungi, as a tribute to the Canadian musician who wrote the history of Rock first with Buffalo Springfield then with Crosby, Stills and Nash and then as soloist.

And so the name of Young will remain forever in the history of Rock and that of biology.

A small parasite crustacean that feeds on fish in the Caribbean has been called Gnathia marleyi in honor of reggae legend Bob Marley. "I called this species, which is truly a wonder of nature, like Bob Marley because of my respect and admiration for his Marley music, " said Paul Sikkel, the marine biologist who discovered it.

Cirolana mercuryi, in honor of Freddie Mercury, is a crustacean that was found in the coral reef of Zanzibar (Tanzania) where Farrokh Bulsara was born, better known as Freddy Mercury and as Queen singer.

The front man of the Rolling Stones does not seem to stop with age (he is almost 70 years old, having been born in 1943). And the name given to the fossilized (and now extinct) mollusc Anomphalus jaggerius does not seem quite correct.

Music stars are the most popular, but there are also animals that are named after actors and directors. This is the case of Agra katewinsletae, the colored beetle named Kate Winslet.

Scientists have taken the name of Playboy founder Hugh Hefner to baptize a new species of rabbit, Sylvilagus palustris hefneri, found in the southern United States. A fairly obvious name, because the symbol of the newspaper is just a rabbit and the models that appear in the newspaper are called bunnies.

Millions of years ago the trilobites lived. Some of them, to be precise 4, were the trilo-Beatles: Avalanchurus lennoni (John Lennon), Avalanchurus starri (Ringo Starr), Struszia harrisoni (George Harrison) and Struszia mccartneyi (Paul McCartney). These are 4 species of which we only found fossils that were named after the 4 Beatles.

Anophthalmus hitleri is a species of blind beetle found only in five wet caves in Slovenia. It was named so, not surprisingly, by a German collector in 1933.

At the beginning of the 1990s the butterfly Parnassius mnemosyne guccinii was discovered and named by an entomologist with a passion for the Modenese songwriter.

A few years later Guccini paid off by naming an album on the moth.

The abdomen of the spider Pachygnatha zappa has a sign very similar to the mustache of Frank Zappa. And that's why it took its name.

Zappa is much loved by biologists. In addition to the spider there is also a jellyfish with its name: Phialella zappai, discovered by the Italian Ferdinando Boero.

Comedian John Cleese has a passion for lemurs and has had the honor of seeing one with his name, Avahi cleesei.

If you like these curious mammals, look at this photo gallery.

In the title we allowed ourselves a poetic license, but we correct ourselves immediately: it is a frog (Hyloscirtus princecharlesi) and not a toad to have taken the name of Prince Charles of England.

Almost all the stars "gave" the name to a single species, but the superstar of scientific names is the scientist and science writer Richard Dawkins who has the honor of even giving the name to a genus of fish, called Dawkinsia.

The last to arrive is the Obama fish. In the photo the president with shoulders with Bruce Springsteen and Robert De Niro who, at the moment, did not name any animals.

You might also like: Everyone on the scale Beast hitchhikers A fish named Obama It is estimated that 17, 000 to 24, 000 new species of animals are identified each year. An impressive number: usually it is a pair of mammals, hundreds of amphibians and many thousands of insects and other invertebrates.
The scientists who identify the new species also have the honor of choosing the scientific name. The choice often refers to the distinctive characteristics of the animal, or to the place where it was found. But many entomologists allow themselves to be carried away by imagination and "baptize" the new species by referring to famous people to whom they are particularly attached (or who remember the new species). The stars of the show are among the most popular, as we show you in this gallery.
The gadfly Beyoncé (Scaptia beyonceae) owes its name to the roundness of its colorful and flashy abdomen which reminded the singer to the young entomologist Bryan Lessard, of the Australian Center for scientific research (Csiro) who discovered it in 2008.

Anonim

Schätzungen zufolge werden jedes Jahr 17.000 bis 24.000 neue Tierarten identifiziert. Eine beeindruckende Zahl: Normalerweise handelt es sich um ein Paar Säugetiere, Hunderte von Amphibien und viele Tausende von Insekten und anderen wirbellosen Tieren.

Die Wissenschaftler, die die neue Art identifizieren, haben auch die Ehre, den wissenschaftlichen Namen zu wählen. Die Wahl bezieht sich oft auf die besonderen Merkmale des Tieres oder auf den Ort, an dem es gefunden wurde. Viele Entomologen lassen sich jedoch von der Phantasie mitreißen und "taufen" die neue Art, indem sie sich auf berühmte Personen beziehen, denen sie besonders verbunden sind (oder die sich an die neue Art erinnern). Die Stars der Show gehören zu den beliebtesten, wie wir Ihnen in dieser Galerie zeigen.

Die Gadfly Beyoncé (Scaptia beyonceae) verdankt ihren Namen der Rundheit ihres farbenfrohen und auffälligen Bauches, die den Sänger an den jungen Entomologen Bryan Lessard vom australischen Zentrum für wissenschaftliche Forschung (Csiro) erinnerte, der sie 2008 entdeckte.

Zwei amerikanische Wissenschaftler haben drei Kakerlaken mit den Namen George Bush, Dick Cheney und Donald Rumsfeld getauft. 2005 klassifizierte die Cornell University 65 neue Arten und Kelly Miller und Quentin Wheeler tauften 3 Kakerlaken A gathidium bushi, Agathidium cheneyi und Agathidium rumsfeldi. Ein Tribut, den die beiden Entomologen angeben mussten.

Der Biologe Jason Bond fand 2007 in Alabama eine etwas andere Spinne als sonst. Nachdem er herausgefunden hatte, dass es sich um eine neue Spinnentiere handelte, wollte er der neuen Art den Namen Myrmekiaphila neilyoungi geben, als eine Hommage an den kanadischen Musiker, der die Geschichte des Rock zuerst mit Buffalo Springfield, dann mit Crosby, Stills und Nash und dann mit as schrieb Solist.

Und so wird der Name Young für immer in der Geschichte des Rocks und der Biologie bleiben.

Ein kleines parasitäres Krebstier, das sich von Fischen in der Karibik ernährt, wurde zu Ehren der Reggae-Legende Bob Marley Gnathia marleyi genannt. "Ich nannte diese Art, die wirklich ein Wunder der Natur ist, Bob Marley, weil ich seine Marley-Musik respektiere und bewundere", sagte Paul Sikkel, der Meeresbiologe, der sie entdeckte.

Cirolana mercuryi, zu Ehren von Freddie Mercury, ist ein Krebs, der im Korallenriff von Sansibar (Tansania) gefunden wurde, wo Farrokh Bulsara geboren wurde, besser bekannt als Freddy Mercury und als Sängerin der Königin.

Der Frontmann der Rolling Stones scheint nicht mit dem Alter aufzuhören (er ist fast 70 Jahre alt und wurde 1943 geboren). Und der Name der versteinerten (und inzwischen ausgestorbenen) Weichtierart Anomphalus jaggerius scheint nicht ganz richtig zu sein.

Am beliebtesten sind Musikstars, aber es gibt auch Tiere, die nach Schauspielern und Regisseuren benannt sind. Dies ist der Fall von Agra katewinsletae, dem farbigen Käfer namens Kate Winslet.

Wissenschaftler haben den Namen des Playboy-Gründers Hugh Hefner angenommen, um eine neue Kaninchenart, Sylvilagus palustris hefneri, zu taufen, die im Süden der USA vorkommt. Ein ziemlich offensichtlicher Name, da das Symbol der Zeitung nur ein Kaninchen ist und die Modelle, die in der Zeitung erscheinen, Hasen genannt werden.

Vor Millionen von Jahren lebten die Trilobiten. Einige von ihnen, um genau zu sein 4, waren die Trilo-Beatles: Avalanchurus lennoni (John Lennon), Avalanchurus starri (Ringo Starr), Struszia harrisoni (George Harrison) und Struszia mccartneyi (Paul McCartney). Dies sind 4 Arten, von denen wir nur Fossilien gefunden haben, die nach den 4 Beatles benannt wurden.

Anophthalmus hitleri ist eine Art von Blindkäfern, die nur in fünf nassen Höhlen in Slowenien vorkommt. Es war nicht überraschend, dass es 1933 von einem deutschen Sammler so benannt wurde.

Anfang der 1990er Jahre wurde der Schmetterling Parnassius mnemosyne guccinii von einem Entomologen entdeckt und benannt, der eine Leidenschaft für den Modenese-Songwriter hat.

Einige Jahre später zahlte sich Guccini mit der Nennung eines Albums auf der Motte aus.

Der Bauch der Spinne Pachygnatha zappa hat ein dem Schnurrbart von Frank Zappa sehr ähnliches Zeichen. Und deshalb hat es seinen Namen bekommen.

Zappa wird von Biologen sehr geliebt. Neben der Spinne gibt es auch eine Qualle mit dem Namen Phialella zappai, die vom Italiener Ferdinando Boero entdeckt wurde.

Der Komiker John Cleese hat eine Leidenschaft für Lemuren und hatte die Ehre, einen mit seinem Namen, Avahi cleesei, zu sehen.

Wenn Sie diese neugierigen Säugetiere mögen, schauen Sie sich diese Fotogalerie an.

Im Titel gönnten wir uns eine poetische Lizenz, aber wir korrigieren uns sofort: Es ist ein Frosch (Hyloscirtus princecharlesi) und keine Kröte, den Namen von Prinz Charles von England angenommen zu haben.

Fast alle Sterne "gaben" einer einzelnen Art den Namen, aber der Superstar der wissenschaftlichen Namen ist der Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftsjournalist Richard Dawkins, der die Ehre hat, sogar einer Fischgattung namens Dawkinsia den Namen zu geben.

Der letzte, der ankommt, ist der Obama-Fisch. Auf dem Foto der schulterhohe Präsident mit Bruce Springsteen und Robert De Niro, der im Moment keine Tiere nannte.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: Jeder auf der Skala Per Anhalter durch das Biest Ein Fisch namens Obama Schätzungen zufolge werden jedes Jahr 17.000 bis 24.000 neue Tierarten identifiziert. Eine beeindruckende Zahl: Normalerweise handelt es sich um ein Paar Säugetiere, Hunderte von Amphibien und viele Tausende von Insekten und anderen wirbellosen Tieren.
Die Wissenschaftler, die die neue Art identifizieren, haben auch die Ehre, den wissenschaftlichen Namen zu wählen. Die Wahl bezieht sich oft auf die besonderen Merkmale des Tieres oder auf den Ort, an dem es gefunden wurde. Viele Entomologen lassen sich jedoch von der Phantasie mitreißen und "taufen" die neue Art, indem sie sich auf berühmte Personen beziehen, denen sie besonders verbunden sind (oder die sich an die neue Art erinnern). Die Stars der Show gehören zu den beliebtesten, wie wir Ihnen in dieser Galerie zeigen.
Die Gadfly Beyoncé (Scaptia beyonceae) verdankt ihren Namen der Rundheit ihres farbenfrohen und auffälligen Bauches, die den Sänger an den jungen Entomologen Bryan Lessard vom australischen Zentrum für wissenschaftliche Forschung (Csiro) erinnerte, der sie 2008 entdeckte.