Anonim

Over 400 years and not feel them: it is the Greenland shark (Somniosus microcephalus) the longest living vertebrate on the planet. A study published in Science and conducted on 28 specimens established that the beasts of the cold waters of the North Atlantic, which reach 5 m in length, grow just 1 cm per year and reach sexual maturity only at 150 years of age. Just the slow growth would be one of the keys to their success: one of the studied specimens - most of which ended up by mistake in fishing nets - was born in 1600. The analyzes were carried out by radiocarbon dating the lens of animals, formed by proteins that do not renew, and that kept track of radioactive events such as the nuclear tests of the 1960s. The previous most long-lived vertebrate was the Arctic whale: here is the Top 10 - excluding shark - of the other "Methuselah" animals.

10. Allocyttus verrucosus. Even the last of the list, a fish known as Allocyttus verrucosus, beats by far the longest living among humans. The diamond-shaped creature, which feeds on small fish and shellfish in shallow ocean waters, can live up to 140 years: 23 years longer than the older terrestrial "grandmother", who died in Japan a few days ago.

9. orange roughy fish. In ninth place another sea creature: as we will see, many of the longest-lived creatures on the planet are aquatic. The orange roughy (Hoplostethus atlanticus), widespread in the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian oceans, can live up to 149 years. Perhaps one of the reasons for record survival lies in the slowness of growth and maturation of the animal, which takes 20 years to reach complete sexual development. The slowness of growth and reproductive is one of the recurrent features in such long-lived animals.

8. Aldabra giant tortoise. We leave the water, even if only slightly, to meet the first terrestrial of the list, the tortoise Aldabrachelys gigantea, native to the homonymous atoll in the archipelago of the Seychelles. These animals can live up to 152 years, and lay eggs once every two.

7. Sturgeon of the lakes. Acipenser fulvescens can also survive up to 152 years. The females of this freshwater fish common in North America take from 14 to 33 years only to reach reproductive maturity, and lay eggs only every 4-9 years. In comparison, the rainbow trout, spread in the same habitat, matures in 2-3 years, and lives just 11 years.

6. Sebastes borealis. This fish spread from the south-eastern waters of the Russian Kamchatka to the Californian ones can reach 157 years of life. Unless it is fished first: commercial fishing of bone fish in the Gulf of Alaska has been widespread since the 1960s. The beast can exceed one meter in length, per 20 kg of weight.

5. Galápagos tortoise. With Chelonoidis nigra, endemic to the South American archipelago, we make a quantum leap: the reptile, which reaches 400 kg in weight, can reach 177 years, with a minimum life expectancy estimated at around 150 years. A photo safari among the Galapagos Islands

4. Red sea urchin. It will be the diet based on algae, or the sharp exoskeleton that allows you to defend against predators: the fact is that the Mesocentrotus franciscanus can live up to 200 years and wins the fourth place in this unusual ranking.

3. Sebastes aleutianus. Another bone fish of the Sebastidae family is in third place: the Sebastes aleutianus (here in an illustration) a solitary fish common in the North Pacific, can live up to 205 years. It is in fact considered the longest living fish on our planet.

2. Greenland whale. Balaena mysticetus, also known as the Arctic whale, which can swim in the Arctic waters for 211 years, keeps the honor of cetaceans high. The animal can reach 20 meters in length, for a weight of 152 tons.

1. Oceanic clam. The oldest specimen of oceanic clam (Arctica islandica) never found was more than 400 years old: by far the most remarkable age ever achieved by a land animal. The bivalve, fished in the Icelandic seas in 2006, had been given an initial age of 405-410 years; but further analysis attributed it 507 years. The clam, nicknamed "Ming", was killed by mistake by the scientists who were trying to determine its age.

You might also like: The secrets of longevity Why do the Japanese live longer? Do small animals live less? Why do plants live longer than animals? Are the firstborn children up to a hundred years old? Over 400 years and not feel them: it is the Greenland shark (Somniosus microcephalus) the longest living vertebrate on the planet. A study published in Science and conducted on 28 specimens established that the beasts of the cold waters of the North Atlantic, which reach 5 m in length, grow just 1 cm per year and reach sexual maturity only at 150 years of age. Just the slow growth would be one of the keys to their success: one of the studied specimens - most of which ended up by mistake in fishing nets - was born in 1600. The analyzes were carried out by radiocarbon dating the lens of animals, formed by proteins that do not renew, and that kept track of radioactive events such as the nuclear tests of the 1960s. The previous most long-lived vertebrate was the Arctic whale: here is the Top 10 - excluding shark - of the other "Methuselah" animals.

Anonim

Über 400 Jahre und nicht zu spüren: Es ist der Grönlandhai (Somniosus microcephalus) das am längsten lebende Wirbeltier auf dem Planeten. Eine in Science veröffentlichte und an 28 Exemplaren durchgeführte Studie ergab, dass die Tiere des kalten Wassers des Nordatlantiks, die eine Länge von 5 m erreichen, nur 1 cm pro Jahr wachsen und erst im Alter von 150 Jahren geschlechtsreif werden. Nur das langsame Wachstum wäre einer der Schlüssel zu ihrem Erfolg: Eines der untersuchten Exemplare, von denen die meisten versehentlich in Fischernetzen gefunden wurden, wurde 1600 geboren. Die Analysen wurden mit Radiokohlenstoff durchgeführt, der die Linse von Tieren datiert Proteine, die sich nicht erneuern und die radioaktive Ereignisse wie die Atomtests der 1960er Jahre verfolgen. Das vormals am längsten lebende Wirbeltier war der Arktische Wal: Hier sind die Top 10 - mit Ausnahme des Hais - der anderen "Methuselah" -Tiere.

10. Allocyttus verrucosus. Selbst der letzte der Liste, ein Fisch namens Allocyttus verrucosus, ist der mit Abstand am längsten lebende unter den Menschen. Die rautenförmige Kreatur, die sich von kleinen Fischen und Schalentieren in seichten Meeresgewässern ernährt, kann bis zu 140 Jahre alt werden: 23 Jahre länger als die ältere terrestrische "Großmutter", die vor einigen Tagen in Japan gestorben ist.

9. Orange Roughy Fish. An neunter Stelle ein weiteres Meerestier: Wie wir sehen werden, sind viele der am längsten lebenden Lebewesen auf dem Planeten aquatisch. Der im pazifischen, atlantischen und indischen Ozean weit verbreitete orangefarbene Roughy (Hoplostethus atlanticus) kann bis zu 149 Jahre alt werden. Möglicherweise liegt einer der Gründe für das Rekordüberleben in der Verlangsamung des Wachstums und der Reifung des Tieres, die 20 Jahre benötigt, um eine vollständige sexuelle Entwicklung zu erreichen. Die Verlangsamung des Wachstums und der Fortpflanzung ist eines der wiederkehrenden Merkmale bei solchen langlebigen Tieren.

8. Aldabra-Riesenschildkröte. Wir verlassen das Wasser, wenn auch nur geringfügig, um dem ersten Landbewohner der Liste zu begegnen, der Schildkröte Aldabrachelys gigantea, die auf dem gleichnamigen Atoll im Archipel der Seychellen beheimatet ist. Diese Tiere können bis zu 152 Jahre alt werden und legen alle zwei Eier.

7. Stör der Seen. Acipenser fulvescens können auch bis zu 152 Jahre überleben. Die Weibchen dieses in Nordamerika verbreiteten Süßwasserfisches brauchen nur 14 bis 33 Jahre, um die Fortpflanzungsreife zu erreichen, und legen nur alle 4 bis 9 Jahre Eier. Im Vergleich dazu reift die Regenbogenforelle, die im selben Lebensraum verbreitet ist, in 2-3 Jahren und lebt nur 11 Jahre.

6. Sebastes borealis. Dieser Fisch, der von den südöstlichen Gewässern des russischen Kamtschatkas bis zu den kalifornischen Gewässern verbreitet wird, kann 157 Jahre alt werden. Es sei denn, es wird zuerst gefischt: Die kommerzielle Fischerei auf Knochenfisch im Golf von Alaska ist seit den 1960er Jahren weit verbreitet. Das Tier kann einen Meter pro 20 kg Gewicht überschreiten.

5. Galapagos-Schildkröte. Mit Chelonoidis nigra, das im südamerikanischen Archipel endemisch ist, machen wir einen Quantensprung: Das Reptil, das ein Gewicht von 400 kg erreicht, kann 177 Jahre erreichen, mit einer geschätzten Mindestlebenserwartung von etwa 150 Jahren. Eine Fotosafari zwischen den Galapagos-Inseln

4. Roter Seeigel. Es wird die auf Algen basierende Diät sein, oder das scharfe Exoskelett, mit dem Sie sich gegen Raubtiere verteidigen können: Tatsache ist, dass der Mesocentrotus franciscanus bis zu 200 Jahre alt werden kann und den vierten Platz in dieser ungewöhnlichen Rangliste belegt.

3. Sebastes aleutianus. Ein weiterer Knochenfisch aus der Familie der Sebastidae steht an dritter Stelle: Der Sebastes aleutianus (hier in einer Abbildung), ein im Nordpazifik verbreiteter Einzelfisch, kann bis zu 205 Jahre alt werden. Es gilt in der Tat als der am längsten lebende Fisch auf unserem Planeten.

2. Grönlandwal. Balaena mysticetus, auch bekannt als der Arktische Wal, der 211 Jahre lang in den arktischen Gewässern schwimmen kann, hält die Ehre der Wale hoch. Das Tier kann bei einem Gewicht von 152 Tonnen eine Länge von 20 Metern erreichen.

1. Ozeanische Muschel. Das älteste nie gefundene Exemplar der ozeanischen Muschel (Arctica islandica) war älter als 400 Jahre: das mit Abstand bemerkenswerteste Alter, das jemals ein Landtier erreicht hat. Die im Jahr 2006 in der isländischen See gefischte Muschel hatte ein Anfangsalter von 405 bis 410 Jahren; aber weitere Analyse schrieb es 507 Jahre zu. Die Muschel mit dem Spitznamen "Ming" wurde versehentlich von den Wissenschaftlern getötet, die versuchten, ihr Alter zu bestimmen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: Die Geheimnisse der Langlebigkeit Warum leben die Japaner länger? Leben kleine Tiere weniger? Warum leben Pflanzen länger als Tiere? Sind die Erstgeborenen bis zu hundert Jahre alt? Über 400 Jahre und nicht zu spüren: Es ist der Grönlandhai (Somniosus microcephalus) das am längsten lebende Wirbeltier auf dem Planeten. Eine in Science veröffentlichte und an 28 Exemplaren durchgeführte Studie ergab, dass die Tiere des kalten Wassers des Nordatlantiks, die eine Länge von 5 m erreichen, nur 1 cm pro Jahr wachsen und erst im Alter von 150 Jahren geschlechtsreif werden. Nur das langsame Wachstum wäre einer der Schlüssel zu ihrem Erfolg: Eines der untersuchten Exemplare, von denen die meisten versehentlich in Fischernetzen gefunden wurden, wurde 1600 geboren. Die Analysen wurden mit Radiokohlenstoff durchgeführt, der die Linse von Tieren datiert Proteine, die sich nicht erneuern und die radioaktive Ereignisse wie die Atomtests der 1960er Jahre verfolgen. Das vormals am längsten lebende Wirbeltier war der Arktische Wal: Hier sind die Top 10 - mit Ausnahme des Hais - der anderen "Methuselah" -Tiere.