Anonim

Understanding when someone is wrong is interpreted as a clear sign of social cognition: until now it was believed to be an exclusive of man and that other primates did not have this ability. A study conducted by a team of researchers from the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology seems to have gathered indications of the possibility that primates have the ability to distinguish a person's beliefs, false or true: the work is published in the scientific journal PLOS One.

anthropology, primates, monkeys, anthropomorphic monkeys The midwife monkey: the assisted birth of a golden rhinopithus. | Bin Yang

The scientists subjected 34 primates to a test developed for children one and a half years old. In the experiment, an individual had to place an object inside a box of choice between two.

Immediately after, an accomplice moved the object to the other box. Later the person would have to open the first box to retrieve the item.

In the first variable the individual was present in the room while the object was moved by the accomplice while, in the second, it was brought out for the time necessary for the movement. In both conditions the individual however opened the box chosen at the beginning, whether he had observed the movement or not.

It is not the first research that explores this theme: see
What's on our mind? A monkey understands it

The researchers found that, like children, primates preferred to help the person when, not having witnessed the movement of the box, he was acting incorrectly based on a false belief. This is an important clue that suggests that even primates are able to grasp the "conviction" that a person has about the reality that surrounds it immediately. The study shows for the first time how primates present the ability to understand the intentions of others based on more complex and subtle social interactions than imagined.

Anonim

Das Verstehen, wenn jemand Unrecht hat, wird als ein klares Zeichen sozialer Erkenntnis interpretiert: Bisher wurde angenommen, dass es sich nur um Menschen handelt und dass andere Primaten diese Fähigkeit nicht besaßen. Eine Studie, die von einem Forscherteam des Max-Planck-Instituts für evolutionäre Anthropologie durchgeführt wurde, scheint Hinweise auf die Möglichkeit zu haben, dass Primaten die Fähigkeit haben, die falschen oder wahren Überzeugungen einer Person zu unterscheiden: Die Arbeit wird im wissenschaftlichen Journal veröffentlicht PLOS One.

Anthropologie, Primaten, Affen, anthropomorphe Affen Der Hebammenaffe: die assistierte Geburt eines goldenen Rhinopithus. | Bin Yang

Die Wissenschaftler haben 34 Primaten einem Test unterzogen, der für anderthalbjährige Kinder entwickelt wurde. In dem Experiment musste eine Person ein Objekt in eine Kiste der Wahl zwischen zwei platzieren.

Unmittelbar danach verschob ein Komplize das Objekt in die andere Box. Später müsste die Person das erste Kästchen öffnen, um den Gegenstand zu erhalten.

In der ersten Variable befand sich das Individuum im Raum, während das Objekt vom Komplizen bewegt wurde, während es in der zweiten Variable für die für die Bewegung erforderliche Zeit herausgebracht wurde. In beiden Fällen öffnete der Einzelne jedoch die zu Beginn gewählte Kiste, unabhängig davon, ob er die Bewegung beobachtet hatte oder nicht.

Es ist nicht die erste Forschung, die dieses Thema untersucht: siehe
Was haben wir vor? Ein Affe versteht es

Die Forscher stellten fest, dass Primaten wie Kinder es vorzogen, der Person zu helfen, wenn sie, nachdem sie die Bewegung der Kiste nicht miterlebt hatten, aufgrund eines falschen Glaubens falsch handelten. Dies ist ein wichtiger Hinweis, der darauf hindeutet, dass sogar Primaten die "Überzeugung" erfassen können, die eine Person von der Realität hat, die sie unmittelbar umgibt. Die Studie zeigt zum ersten Mal, wie Primaten die Fähigkeit präsentieren, die Absichten anderer zu verstehen, die auf komplexeren und subtileren sozialen Interaktionen beruhen als gedacht.