Anonim

23 reptiles, 16 amphibians, 9 fish, a mammal and various forms of insects and plants, for a total of 139 new species. It is the result of the research conducted in 2014 in the Greater Mekong (Greater Mekong Subregion), the Asian region that takes its name from the river of the same name and embraces Cambodia, Laos, Burma, Thailand, Vietnam and the Chinese province of Yunnan. The creatures, described in a report published by WWF, represent only the tip of an iceberg of vast proportions: in this area, from 1997 to 2014, scientists discovered 2216 species previously unknown.

In the list of newcomers there is no shortage of bizarre specimens: in the photo we see a wasp that with its poison paralyzes the preys before devouring them. The hymn was renamed Ampulex dementor in honor of being obscure who in the Harry Potter saga sucks the soul of men (Dementor in English, Dementor in the Italian version).

The mimetic snake. The Lycodon zoosvictoriae is a variant of the common wolf snake: in order to hunt and protect itself from predators it camouflages with the mosses and barks of the trees. According to the document drawn up by the WWF, the discovery of new animal and plant species in the Great Mekong represents a challenge with the counted hours. Although the territory is an extraordinary sanctuary of biodiversity, many of these creatures would be at risk of extinction due to deforestation and poaching.

Vampire fangs. In the list there is only one mammal, called Hypsugo dolichodon, a bat with sharp teeth (note above all the upper canines), which allow it to hunt even insects with a particularly leathery exoskeleton.

Like a chameleon. At night it is used to show itself to the public "dressed" in rose-yellow, but like many other species of frogs the Gracixalus lumarius is able to change color to blend in, thus protecting itself from the attack of predators. The back is covered with small white spikes that create a "sandpaper" effect.

Branch or insect? With its 54 centimeters, Phryganistria heusii yentuensis is officially the second longest insect in the world, beaten only by another stick insect that lives in Borneo (56 cm). The placement of honor could, however, falter very soon, because, according to the researchers, the area of ​​Vietnam where it was found has a high number of close relatives still to be cataloged.

Zebra-striped reptile. The peculiarity of Cyrtodactylus vilaphongi is not limited only to the coloring of the skin: according to the Reptile Database, this gecko is the ten thousandth species of reptile discovered by science.

Miniature Crocodile. The inhabitants of Taunggyi (Burma) had known this amphibian for some time, but only a genetic analysis made it possible to understand that it is a species of salamander in its own right. However, the survival of Tylototriton shanorum is in serious danger as a result of growing urbanization and illegal trade.

Regal demeanor Among the insects there are also four species of a new genus of moth, renamed Sirindhornia in homage to the Thai princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn.

Unexpected meeting. At first glance, the Ovabunda andamanensis may not excite excessive enthusiasm. However, for scientists it was an unexpected taxonomic discovery: so far the corals of the genus Ovabunda had been observed only in the Red Sea and in the western Indian Ocean. The likelihood of finding something similar near the Phuket island in Thailand was the same as finding "a new species of African monkey in Asia".

Not just animals. During the various research conducted in the markets of wild ornamental plants two new and very rare species of orchids have been discovered. In order not to attract the attention of collectors, scholars had initially thought of not making public disclosure.

You might also like: The 10 most bizarre new species of the year The last white rhino male In the Amazon discovered a new monkey The 10 most crazy new species in the world 23 reptiles, 16 amphibians, 9 fish, a mammal and various forms of insects and plants, for a total of 139 new species. It is the result of the research conducted in 2014 in the Greater Mekong (Greater Mekong Subregion), the Asian region that takes its name from the river of the same name and embraces Cambodia, Laos, Burma, Thailand, Vietnam and the Chinese province of Yunnan. The creatures, described in a report published by WWF, represent only the tip of an iceberg of vast proportions: in this area, from 1997 to 2014, scientists discovered 2216 species previously unknown.
In the list of newcomers there is no shortage of bizarre specimens: in the photo we see a wasp that with its poison paralyzes the preys before devouring them. The hymn was renamed Ampulex dementor in honor of being obscure who in the Harry Potter saga sucks the soul of men (Dementor in English, Dementor in the Italian version).

Anonim

23 Reptilien, 16 Amphibien, 9 Fische, ein Säugetier und verschiedene Arten von Insekten und Pflanzen für insgesamt 139 neue Arten. Es ist das Ergebnis der 2014 in der Region Greater Mekong (Greater Mekong Subregion) durchgeführten Forschung, die ihren Namen vom gleichnamigen Fluss bezieht und Kambodscha, Laos, Birma, Thailand, Vietnam und die chinesische Provinz Yunnan umfasst. Die Kreaturen, die in einem vom WWF veröffentlichten Bericht beschrieben wurden, stellen nur die Spitze eines Eisberges von gewaltigen Ausmaßen dar: In diesem Gebiet entdeckten Wissenschaftler von 1997 bis 2014 2216 bisher unbekannte Arten.

In der Liste der Neuankömmlinge mangelt es nicht an bizarren Exemplaren: Auf dem Foto sehen wir eine Wespe, die mit ihrem Gift die Beute lähmt, bevor sie sie verschlingt. Die Hymne wurde in Ampulex dementor umbenannt, zu Ehren der Unbekannten, die in der Harry-Potter- Saga die Seele der Menschen saugen (Dementor auf Englisch, Dementor in der italienischen Version).

Die mimetische Schlange. Die Lycodon zoosvictoriae ist eine Variante der gemeinen Wolfsschlange: Um sich vor Raubtieren zu schützen und zu jagen, tarnt sie sich mit den Moosen und Rinden der Bäume. Laut dem vom WWF erstellten Dokument ist die Entdeckung neuer Tier- und Pflanzenarten im Großen Mekong eine Herausforderung für die gezählten Stunden. Obwohl das Gebiet ein außergewöhnliches Heiligtum der Artenvielfalt ist, sind viele dieser Tiere durch Abholzung und Wilderei vom Aussterben bedroht.

Vampirzähne. In der Liste gibt es nur ein Säugetier namens Hypsugo dolichodon, eine Fledermaus mit scharfen Zähnen (vor allem die oberen Eckzähne), mit denen sie sogar Insekten mit einem besonders ledrigen Exoskelett jagen kann.

Wie ein Chamäleon. Nachts wird es verwendet, um sich der Öffentlichkeit "in Roségelb" zu zeigen, aber wie viele andere Froscharten kann der Gracixalus lumarius seine Farbe ändern und sich so vor dem Angriff von Raubtieren schützen. Die Rückseite ist mit kleinen weißen Stacheln bedeckt, die einen "Sandpapier" -Effekt erzeugen.

Zweig oder Insekt? Phryganistria heusii yentuensis ist mit 54 Zentimetern offiziell das zweitlängste Insekt der Welt und wird nur von einem anderen in Borneo lebenden Stabheuschrecken (56 cm) geschlagen. Die Platzierung der Ehre könnte jedoch sehr bald ins Stocken geraten, da nach Angaben der Forscher in dem Gebiet, in dem sie gefunden wurde, noch eine große Anzahl enger Verwandter zu katalogisieren ist.

Reptil mit Zebrastreifen. Die Besonderheit von Cyrtodactylus vilaphongi beschränkt sich nicht nur auf die Färbung der Haut: Nach Angaben der Reptilien-Datenbank ist dieser Gecko die zehntausendste von der Wissenschaft entdeckte Reptilienart.

Miniatur-Krokodil. Die Bewohner von Taunggyi (Birma) kannten diese Amphibie schon seit einiger Zeit, aber nur eine genetische Analyse ermöglichte es zu verstehen, dass es sich um eine eigene Salamanderart handelt. Das Überleben von Tylototriton shanorum ist jedoch aufgrund der zunehmenden Verstädterung und des illegalen Handels ernsthaft gefährdet.

Königliches Auftreten Unter den Insekten gibt es auch vier Arten einer neuen Mottengattung, die als Hommage an die thailändische Prinzessin Maha Chakri Sirindhorn in Sirindhornia umbenannt wurde.

Unerwartetes Treffen. Auf den ersten Blick dürfte die Ovabunda andamanensis keine übermäßige Begeisterung hervorrufen. Für Wissenschaftler war es jedoch eine unerwartete taxonomische Entdeckung: Bisher wurden die Korallen der Gattung Ovabunda nur im Roten Meer und im westlichen Indischen Ozean beobachtet. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, in der Nähe der thailändischen Insel Phuket etwas Ähnliches zu finden, war die gleiche wie die eines "neuen afrikanischen Affen in Asien".

Nicht nur Tiere. Während der verschiedenen Untersuchungen auf den Märkten für wildlebende Zierpflanzen wurden zwei neue und sehr seltene Orchideenarten entdeckt. Um die Aufmerksamkeit der Sammler nicht auf sich zu ziehen, hatten Wissenschaftler zunächst daran gedacht, die Veröffentlichung nicht zu veröffentlichen.

Sie könnten auch mögen: Die 10 bizarrsten neuen Arten des Jahres Das letzte weiße Nashorn Männchen Im Amazonas entdeckte ein neuer Affe Die 10 verrücktesten neuen Arten der Welt 23 Reptilien, 16 Amphibien, 9 Fische, ein Säugetier und verschiedene Insektenarten und Pflanzen für insgesamt 139 neue Arten. Es ist das Ergebnis der 2014 in der Region Greater Mekong (Greater Mekong Subregion) durchgeführten Forschung, die ihren Namen vom gleichnamigen Fluss bezieht und Kambodscha, Laos, Birma, Thailand, Vietnam und die chinesische Provinz Yunnan umfasst. Die Kreaturen, die in einem vom WWF veröffentlichten Bericht beschrieben wurden, stellen nur die Spitze eines Eisberges von gewaltigen Ausmaßen dar: In diesem Gebiet entdeckten Wissenschaftler von 1997 bis 2014 2216 bisher unbekannte Arten.
In der Liste der Neuankömmlinge mangelt es nicht an bizarren Exemplaren: Auf dem Foto sehen wir eine Wespe, die mit ihrem Gift die Beute lähmt, bevor sie sie verschlingt. Die Hymne wurde in Ampulex dementor umbenannt, zu Ehren der Unbekannten, die in der Harry-Potter- Saga die Seele der Menschen saugen (Dementor auf Englisch, Dementor in der italienischen Version).