Even the chicks count from left to right

Anonim

When we imagine a numerical scale, we organize the figures in ascending order, from left to right. We are not the only ones: they even succeed … the chicks, proof that this predisposition does not depend only on cultural reasons, but has very ancient roots, of a biological nature. The discovery made by a group of researchers from the University of Trento and Padua led by Rosa Rugani has just been published in Science.

Let's give the numbers. The team taught some chicks of a few days to find food hidden behind panels marked with 5 squares. After training, the birds were placed in front of two new identical panels, one on the left and one on the right of their beak. In the first case, both panels reported a number less than 5, ie 2. In the second case, on both panels there was a greater number of squares than the one to which they had been trained, ie 8.

Less on the left. When the chicks found themselves in front of a smaller number than the initial one, then 2 squares, they went to look for food in the left panel in 70% of the cases. When the squares were greater than 5, that is 8, the chicks headed towards the right panel in 71% of the cases.

Confirmation. Smaller numbers than the initial ones then pushed the chicks to the left, larger numbers, to the right. The same phenomenon was repeated training the birds with another number, and consequently changing the quantity of squares on the panels. The proof that the size of a number was perceived relative to the comparison with the initial number.

Image A chick of the same species and age as those used in the experiment. | Rosa Rugani, University of Padua

A primitive ability. Neuroscientists have chosen to involve chickens in the experiment (and it is not the first time) precisely because they are phylogenetically very different from humans: the fact that these feathered ones also order the elements in increasing numbers from left to right «suggests that the predisposition to in this way to map the numbers in space is incorporated into the architecture of the neural systems of organisms »explains Rosa Rugani, first author of the study.

Before language. The hypothesis is that it is the dominance of the right cerebral hemisphere in visuospatial and numerical tasks that directs the initial attention towards the opposite quadrant, that is to the left, both in the mental line of numbers, and in physical space.

The fact that the phenomenon is also observed in chicks tells us that "the possession of a symbolic system - such as human verbal language - is not necessary for the representation of numbers and their manipulation, as has long been argued, " says Giorgio Vallortigara, full professor of Neuroscience and director of the Mind / Brain Center at the University of Trento.

Innate tendency. "Studies conducted on very young children and on other animals demonstrate, in fact, the possession by beings without verbal language of extraordinary abilities to perform sophisticated operations on magnitudes also of different nature, such as space, time and number".

The original is: "Number-space mapping in the newborn chick resembles humans' mental number line, " by R. Rugani; K. Priftis; L. Regolin at University of Padua in Padua, Italy; G. Vallortigara at University of Trento in Trento, Italy. DOI: 10.1126 / science.aaa1379

Sogar die Küken zählen von links nach rechts

Anonim

Wenn wir uns eine numerische Skala vorstellen, ordnen wir die Zahlen in aufsteigender Reihenfolge von links nach rechts an. Wir sind nicht die einzigen: Sie schaffen es sogar … die Küken, ein Beweis dafür, dass diese Veranlagung nicht nur von kulturellen Gründen abhängt, sondern sehr alte Wurzeln hat, die biologischer Natur sind. Die Entdeckung einer Gruppe von Forschern der Universität von Trento und Padua unter der Leitung von Rosa Rugani wurde gerade in Science veröffentlicht.

Geben wir die Zahlen an. Das Team brachte einigen Küken von ein paar Tagen bei, Nahrung zu finden, die hinter mit 5 Quadraten markierten Feldern versteckt war. Nach dem Training wurden die Vögel vor zwei neue identische Felder gelegt, eines links und eines rechts von ihrem Schnabel. Im ersten Fall gaben beide Panels eine Zahl von weniger als 5 an, dh 2. Im zweiten Fall gab es auf beiden Panels eine größere Anzahl von Quadraten als diejenige, auf die sie trainiert worden waren, dh 8.

Weniger auf der linken Seite. Wenn sich die Küken vor einer kleineren Zahl als der ersten befanden, dann vor 2 Feldern, suchten sie in 70% der Fälle im linken Feld nach Futter. Wenn die Quadrate größer als 5, dh 8 waren, gingen die Küken in 71% der Fälle zur rechten Tafel.

Bestätigung. Kleinere Zahlen als die anfänglichen schoben die Küken dann nach links, größere Zahlen nach rechts. Das gleiche Phänomen wurde wiederholt, indem die Vögel mit einer anderen Zahl trainiert und folglich die Anzahl der Quadrate auf den Tafeln geändert wurden. Der Beweis, dass die Größe einer Zahl relativ zum Vergleich mit der ursprünglichen Zahl wahrgenommen wurde.

Image Ein Küken der gleichen Art und des gleichen Alters wie die im Versuch verwendeten. | Rosa Rugani, Universität Padua

Eine primitive Fähigkeit. Neurowissenschaftler haben sich entschieden, Hühner in das Experiment einzubeziehen (und dies ist nicht das erste Mal), weil sie sich phylogenetisch stark von Menschen unterscheiden: Die Tatsache, dass diese gefiederten auch die Elemente in zunehmender Anzahl von links nach rechts anordnen, legt nahe, dass die Veranlagung zu auf diese Weise wird die Abbildung der räumlichen Zahlen in die Architektur der neuronalen Organismensysteme einbezogen », erklärt Rosa Rugani, Erstautorin der Studie.

Vor der Sprache. Die Hypothese ist, dass es die Dominanz der rechten Gehirnhälfte bei visuellen und numerischen Aufgaben ist, die die anfängliche Aufmerksamkeit auf den gegenüberliegenden Quadranten lenkt, der sich sowohl in der mentalen Linie der Zahlen als auch im physischen Raum links befindet.

Die Tatsache, dass das Phänomen auch bei Küken beobachtet wird, sagt uns, dass "der Besitz eines symbolischen Systems - wie der menschlichen Verbalsprache - für die Darstellung von Zahlen und ihre Manipulation nicht notwendig ist, wie lange argumentiert wurde", sagt Giorgio Vallortigara, ordentlicher Professor für Neurowissenschaften und Direktor des Mind / Brain Centers an der Universität Trento.

Angeborene Tendenz. "Studien, die an sehr kleinen Kindern und an anderen Tieren durchgeführt wurden, belegen in der Tat, dass Wesen ohne Muttersprache außerordentliche Fähigkeiten besitzen, anspruchsvolle Operationen an Mengen durchzuführen, die auch unterschiedlicher Art sind, wie z. B. Raum, Zeit und Zahl."

Das Original lautet: "Die Zuordnung des Zahlenraums beim neugeborenen Küken ähnelt der mentalen Zahlenlinie des Menschen" von R. Rugani; K. Priftis; L. Regolin an der Universität von Padua in Padua, Italien; G. Vallortigara an der Universität von Trento in Trento, Italien. DOI: 10.1126 / science.aaa1379