Anonim

Their brightly colored liveries are already particularly beautiful from afar, when we see them in flight. But beneath the microscope lens, the wings of the lepidopterans appear even more hypnotic and wonderful: luckily for us, Linden Gledhill, a biochemist and photographer, was the author of this series of kaleidoscopic macros.

In his shots, magnified up to 7 times, the scales of the wings of butterflies and moths are visible in all their iridescent beauty, and take on almost the consistency of a fabric: an aerial and light "parade", whose designer is, still once, Mother Nature.

In the photo, a detail of the wings of a "Birdwing" butterfly (gen. Trogonoptera, Troides, Ornithoptera) native to Australia and Southeast Asia.

Gledhill said he discovered, thanks to a microscope, a "second level of beauty" in the wings of the lepidoptera. The photographer started the series using a common camera "equipped with old microscope lenses"; but given the attractiveness of the subjects, he soon decided to switch to something more professional, and now uses an Olympus BH-2 microscope with LED lighting and a high-speed flash.

The charm of the wings of lepidopterans is hidden in the very etymology of the word, from lepid, scaglia, and pteròn, ala: literally, "wings with scales". The tiny formations, placed on the wing in close formation, like the tiles of a roof, serve to seduce the partner, frighten the predators and blend in as much as possible in the surrounding habitat.

In the photo, a detail of the wings of the Madagascar comet moth (Argema mittrei), so named for the long red ends of its wings.

How do moths become invisible? Watch the video

The livery of one of the most colorful and admired moths in the world, the urania of Madagascar (Chrysiridia rhipheus). Unlike the wings of many other Lepidoptera, those of this insect do not take the iridescent colors from chemical pigments, but from the diffraction of light made by the microscopic curved scales that cover them. For this reason, they are at the center of dozens of optical studies.

An urania from Madagascar again. The conformation of the iridescent "lamellas" on the wings of some butterflies or moths is currently being studied by groups of scientists who hope, through biomimicry, to produce dyes or cosmetics with a metallic effect, or very thin new-generation monitors, consisting of photonic crystals able to change color depending on the orientation with respect to the light source.

The characteristic trait of a Morphus butterfly, much loved for the iridescent blue color of its wings. Most of the photos of Linden that we admire here have been enlarged seven times, although its instrumentation allows for different levels of magnification.

This, for example, has been enlarged 50 times to allow us to catch an otherwise invisible detail: a grain of pollen left entangled in the wings of a butterfly Protographium agesilaus, native to central and south America (we see it here life-size).

While the butterflies feed on the nectar of the flowers, their body gets dirty with pollen which is involuntarily transported to the next flower: it is the mechanism of pollination, which allows most of the flowers to reproduce.

The secrets of butterfly flight

The wings of a Cithaerias aurorina, a moth originating from Peru with pinkish lower wings and equipped with two "eye" shaped decorations.

The wings of the Cithaerias aurorina are transparent and it is possible to see one of the two "faces" through the other. Even under the microscope: in this photo, the white spot on one of the two wings is facing us. The red lamellas, on the other hand, are on the other side of the wing, but we see them in transparency.

The wings of a Graphium weiskei arfakensis, a butterfly endemic to New Guinea. The fabric of the butterfly wings is made up of various nerve fibers and some small tubes, the tracheas, which are used to transport oxygen.

Under the microscope, one of the most famous moths: the monarch butterfly, famous for its "epic" migrations that last thousands of kilometers (a photogallery on this record-breaking journey).

Another variety of blue butterfly Morpho, a Morpho zephrytes.

From ugly duckling to lady of the heavens: thus a butterfly is born

The spotted wings of a butterfly Troides hypolitus sangirensis.

A rarity of Sulawesi (Indonesia): the Papilio blumei fruhstorferi, known for its black wings furrowed with green water bands.

You might also like: This is how a butterfly is born The incredible journey of the monarch butterflies The high technology of butterfly wings Where butterflies dare How butterflies fly Their brightly colored liveries are already particularly beautiful from afar, when we see them in flight. But beneath the microscope lens, the wings of the lepidopterans appear even more hypnotic and wonderful: luckily for us, Linden Gledhill, a biochemist and photographer, was the author of this series of kaleidoscopic macros.
In his shots, magnified up to 7 times, the scales of the wings of butterflies and moths are visible in all their iridescent beauty, and take on almost the consistency of a fabric: an aerial and light "parade", whose designer is, still once, Mother Nature.
In the photo, a detail of the wings of a "Birdwing" butterfly (gen. Trogonoptera, Troides, Ornithoptera) native to Australia and Southeast Asia.

Anonim

Schon von weitem sind ihre bunten Lackierungen besonders schön, wenn wir sie im Flug sehen. Doch unter dem Mikroskop wirken die Flügel der Schmetterlinge noch hypnotischer und wundervoller: Zum Glück war Linden Gledhill, Biochemikerin und Fotografin, Autorin dieser Serie kaleidoskopischer Makros.

In seinen bis zu siebenfach vergrößerten Aufnahmen sind die Schuppen der Flügel von Schmetterlingen und Motten in ihrer schillernden Schönheit sichtbar und nehmen fast die Konsistenz eines Gewebes an: eine luftige und leichte "Parade", deren Designer noch ist einmal Mutter Natur.

Auf dem Foto ein Detail der Flügel eines "Birdwing" -Schmetterlings (Gen. Trogonoptera, Troides, Ornithoptera) aus Australien und Südostasien.

Gledhill sagte, er habe dank eines Mikroskops eine "zweite Stufe der Schönheit" in den Flügeln der Schmetterlinge entdeckt. Der Fotograf startete die Serie mit einer herkömmlichen Kamera, die "mit alten Mikroskopobjektiven ausgestattet" war. Aufgrund der Attraktivität der Motive entschied er sich jedoch bald für einen Wechsel zu einem professionelleren Modell und verwendet nun ein Olympus BH-2-Mikroskop mit LED-Beleuchtung und Hochgeschwindigkeitsblitz.

Der Reiz der Flügel von Schmetterlingen ist in der Etymologie des Wortes verborgen, von Lepid, Scaglia und Pteròn, ala: wörtlich "Flügel mit Schuppen". Die winzigen Formationen, die in enger Formation wie Dachziegel auf dem Flügel platziert sind, dienen dazu, den Partner zu verführen, die Raubtiere zu erschrecken und sich so gut wie möglich in den umgebenden Lebensraum einzufügen.

Auf dem Foto ein Detail der Flügel der Madagaskar-Kometenmotte (Argema mittrei), so benannt nach den langen roten Enden ihrer Flügel.

Wie werden Motten unsichtbar? Sehen Sie sich das Video an

Die Bemalung einer der buntesten und bewundertesten Motten der Welt, der Urania von Madagaskar (Chrysiridia rhipheus). Im Gegensatz zu den Flügeln vieler anderer Schmetterlinge nehmen die Flügel dieses Insekts die schillernden Farben nicht von chemischen Pigmenten, sondern von der Beugung des Lichts, das durch die mikroskopisch gekrümmten Schuppen erzeugt wird, die sie bedecken. Aus diesem Grund stehen sie im Zentrum von Dutzenden von optischen Studien.

Wieder eine Urania aus Madagaskar. Die Konformation der schillernden "Lamellen" auf den Flügeln einiger Schmetterlinge wird derzeit von Gruppen von Wissenschaftlern untersucht, die mithilfe der Biomimik Farbstoffe oder Kosmetika mit Metallic-Effekt oder sehr dünne Monitore der neuen Generation herstellen möchten Photonische Kristalle, die in Abhängigkeit von der Ausrichtung in Bezug auf die Lichtquelle ihre Farbe ändern können.

Das charakteristische Merkmal eines Morphus-Schmetterlings, das wegen der schillernden blauen Farbe seiner Flügel sehr beliebt ist. Die meisten Fotos von Linden, die wir hier bewundern, wurden siebenmal vergrößert, obwohl ihre Instrumentierung verschiedene Vergrößerungsstufen zulässt.

Dies wurde zum Beispiel um das 50-fache vergrößert, um ein ansonsten unsichtbares Detail einzufangen: ein Pollenkorn, das in den Flügeln eines Schmetterlings Protographium agesilaus verwickelt ist, der in Mittel- und Südamerika beheimatet ist (wir sehen es hier in Lebensgröße).

Während sich die Schmetterlinge vom Nektar der Blüten ernähren, wird ihr Körper mit Pollen verschmutzt, der unwillkürlich zur nächsten Blüte transportiert wird. Dies ist der Bestäubungsmechanismus, durch den sich die meisten Blüten vermehren können.

Die Geheimnisse des Schmetterlingsflugs

Die Flügel einer Cithaerias aurorina, einer aus Peru stammenden Motte mit rosa Unterflügeln und zwei "Augen" -förmigen Verzierungen.

Die Flügel der Cithaerias aurorina sind durchsichtig und es ist möglich, eines der beiden "Gesichter" durch das andere zu sehen. Auch unter dem Mikroskop: Auf diesem Foto steht uns der weiße Fleck auf einem der beiden Flügel gegenüber. Die roten Lamellen befinden sich auf der anderen Seite des Flügels, aber wir sehen sie in Transparenz.

Die Flügel eines Graphium weiskei arfakensis, eines in Neuguinea heimischen Schmetterlings. Der Stoff der Schmetterlingsflügel besteht aus verschiedenen Nervenfasern und einigen Röhrchen, den Luftröhren, die zum Sauerstofftransport dienen.

Unter dem Mikroskop eine der berühmtesten Motten: der Monarchfalter, berühmt für seine "epischen" Wanderungen, die Tausende von Kilometern dauern (eine Fotogalerie auf dieser rekordverdächtigen Reise).

Eine andere Sorte des blauen Schmetterlings Morpho, ein Morpho-Zephryte.

Vom hässlichen Entlein zur Frau des Himmels: So wird ein Schmetterling geboren

Die gefleckten Flügel eines Schmetterlings Troides hypolitus sangirensis.

Eine Seltenheit von Sulawesi (Indonesien): der Papilio blumei fruhstorferi, bekannt für seine schwarzen Flügel mit grünen Wasserbändern.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: So entsteht ein Schmetterling Die unglaubliche Reise der Monarchfalter Die Spitzentechnologie der Schmetterlingsflügel Wo sich Schmetterlinge trauen Wie Schmetterlinge fliegen Ihre bunten Farben sind schon von weitem besonders schön, wenn wir sie im Flug sehen. Doch unter dem Mikroskop wirken die Flügel der Schmetterlinge noch hypnotischer und wundervoller: Zum Glück war Linden Gledhill, Biochemikerin und Fotografin, Autorin dieser Serie kaleidoskopischer Makros.
In seinen bis zu siebenfach vergrößerten Aufnahmen sind die Schuppen der Flügel von Schmetterlingen und Motten in ihrer schillernden Schönheit sichtbar und nehmen fast die Konsistenz eines Gewebes an: eine luftige und leichte "Parade", deren Designer noch ist einmal Mutter Natur.
Auf dem Foto ein Detail der Flügel eines "Birdwing" -Schmetterlings (Gen. Trogonoptera, Troides, Ornithoptera) aus Australien und Südostasien.