Anonim

We know that animals with larger brains, such as monkeys and other mammals, respond to what happens to them based on their "mental state" and previous emotions. It was thought that this was a characteristic only of the most complex animals, but a search by a group of Portuguese scientists, published in Scientific Report (here the article, in English), showed how the fish brain also functions in the same way.

fish, sea creatures, animal quirks, curiosity, evolution, ethology, animal behavior A school of fish photographed in the seas of Mexico. | Christian Vizl, Mexico, Shortlist, Professional, Natural World, 2017 Sony World Photography Awards

The researchers subjected some bream (Sparus auratus) to positive stimuli, such as food, or negatives - such as immobilization. In this way they induced particular "mental states" (satisfaction or fear), together with other conditions, such as the predictability or otherwise of a stimulus, which modified their importance.

The physiological responses of animals to stimuli and conditions were then measured, in the form of a group of genes, the level of cortisol in the blood (the stress hormone) and behavior along with other fish.

fish, sea creatures, animal quirks, curiosity, evolution, ethology, animal behavior Curiosity: 15 fish (plus one!) With unexpected talents. | NOAA

Scientists have found that the combination of stimuli and the importance of the same for animals triggers different behavioral responses: escape or approach to the stimulus. The fact that the same stimulus presented in a predictable or unpredictable manner involves different responses, demonstrates that even animals such as fish respond according to their emotions, that is "how they feel" at that moment.

Ancient origin. This experiment also confirms experimentally other previous observations, which had suggested that the basic emotions (satisfaction, fear, tranquility, etc.) were also present in animals with a less complex brain than that of mammals. And that therefore it is an ancient evolutionary mechanism, also present in animals that have separated from mammals hundreds of millions of years ago.

Anonim

Wir wissen, dass Tiere mit größerem Gehirn, wie Affen und andere Säugetiere, auf das reagieren, was mit ihnen geschieht, basierend auf ihrem "mentalen Zustand" und früheren Emotionen. Es wurde angenommen, dass dies nur ein Merkmal der komplexesten Tiere ist, aber eine Suche einer Gruppe portugiesischer Wissenschaftler, die im Scientific Report (hier der Artikel in englischer Sprache) veröffentlicht wurde, zeigte, wie das Fischgehirn auch auf die gleiche Weise funktioniert.

Fische, Meerestiere, tierische Macken, Neugier, Evolution, Ethologie, tierisches Verhalten Ein Fischschwarm, fotografiert in den Meeren Mexikos. | Christian Vizl, Mexiko, Shortlist, Professional, Natural World, Sony World Photography Awards 2017

Die Forscher setzten Brassen (Sparus auratus) positiven Reizen wie Nahrungsmitteln oder Negativen wie Immobilisierung aus. Auf diese Weise induzierten sie bestimmte "mentale Zustände" (Befriedigung oder Angst) zusammen mit anderen Zuständen, wie der Vorhersagbarkeit oder auf andere Weise eines Stimulus, die ihre Bedeutung veränderten.

Die physiologischen Reaktionen der Tiere auf Reize und Zustände wurden dann in Form einer Gruppe von Genen, dem Cortisolspiegel im Blut (dem Stresshormon) und dem Verhalten zusammen mit anderen Fischen gemessen.

Fische, Meerestiere, tierische Macken, Neugier, Evolution, Ethologie, tierisches Verhalten Neugier: 15 Fische (plus eins!) Mit unerwarteten Talenten. | NOAA

Wissenschaftler haben herausgefunden, dass die Kombination von Reizen und die Bedeutung derselben für Tiere unterschiedliche Verhaltensreaktionen auslösen: Flucht oder Annäherung an den Reiz. Die Tatsache, dass derselbe Reiz auf vorhersehbare oder unvorhersehbare Weise mit unterschiedlichen Reaktionen einhergeht, zeigt, dass sogar Tiere wie Fische entsprechend ihren Emotionen reagieren, dh, wie sie sich in diesem Moment fühlen.

Ursprünglicher Ursprung. Dieses Experiment bestätigt auch experimentell andere frühere Beobachtungen, die darauf hindeuteten, dass die grundlegenden Emotionen (Zufriedenheit, Angst, Ruhe usw.) auch bei Tieren mit einem weniger komplexen Gehirn als dem von Säugetieren vorhanden waren. Und deshalb handelt es sich um einen alten Evolutionsmechanismus, der auch bei Tieren vorhanden ist, die sich vor Hunderten von Millionen von Jahren von Säugetieren getrennt haben.