Anonim

Curious animal, the religious Mantis, whose name - mantis - derives from the Greek mantis, which stands for prophet: "religious" is more for this disturbing insect with a somewhat alien appearance that feeds on spiders, insects, sex companions and, as has recently been discovered, even birds.

Carnivores and cannibals from the fearsome raptatory limb, they generally feed on other insects and small arthropods, but they also manage to hunt vertebrate minutes such as frogs, lizards, salamanders and snakes. So far, however, no one suspected that they also systematically killed birds.

15 things you may not know about cannibalism

Yet it seems a global habit: a group of Swiss and US researchers has shown that 12 different species and 9 genera of mantids spread in 13 different countries and on all continents (except Antarctica) are able to finish and eat birds of 24 different species.

Of the 147 cases reported, 70% were observed in the United States, where mantises often catch hummingbirds in garden plants that the unsuspecting birds pollinate. Among the most frequent victims there is the golarubino hummingbird (Archilochus colubris), 9 cm long - the female mantis reach 7.5.

Our mistakes. A few decades ago several species of mantis were introduced into the United States as a weapon for pest control. Today, those ever-hungry insects pose a threat to various bird populations.

Sogar die Vögel auf der Speisekarte der Gottesanbeterinnen

Anonim

Neugieriges Tier, die religiöse Gottesanbeterin, deren Name - Gottesanbeterin - von der griechischen Gottesanbeterin abgeleitet ist, die für Prophet steht: "religiös" ist mehr für dieses störende Insekt mit einem etwas fremden Aussehen, das sich von Spinnen, Insekten ernährt. Geschlechtsbegleiter und, wie kürzlich festgestellt wurde, sogar Vögel.

Fleischfresser und Kannibalen ernähren sich von anderen Insekten und kleinen Arthropoden, jagen aber auch Wirbeltierminuten wie Frösche, Eidechsen, Salamander und Schlangen. Bisher ahnte jedoch niemand, dass sie auch systematisch Vögel töteten.

15 Dinge, die Sie vielleicht nicht über Kannibalismus wissen

Dennoch scheint es eine globale Gewohnheit zu sein: Eine Gruppe von Schweizer und US-amerikanischen Forschern hat gezeigt, dass 12 verschiedene Arten und 9 Mantidengattungen, die in 13 verschiedenen Ländern und auf allen Kontinenten (mit Ausnahme der Antarktis) verbreitet sind, Vögel von enden und fressen können 24 verschiedene Arten.

Von den 147 gemeldeten Fällen wurden 70% in den USA beobachtet, wo Gottesanbeterinnen häufig Kolibris in Gartenpflanzen fangen, die die ahnungslosen Vögel bestäuben. Zu den häufigsten Opfern gehört der 9 cm lange Golarubino-Kolibri (Archilochus colubris) - die weibliche Gottesanbeterin erreicht 7, 5.

Unsere Fehler. Vor einigen Jahrzehnten wurden in den USA mehrere Mantis-Arten als Waffe zur Schädlingsbekämpfung eingeführt. Heutzutage stellen diese immer hungrigen Insekten eine Bedrohung für verschiedene Vogelpopulationen dar.