Anonim

Logical analysis for whales
Grammatical rules and logical structures similar to those of human language are hidden in the love songs of humpback whales.

Humpback love songs have complex structures, with sentences and themes. Photo: © NOAA.
Humpback love songs have complex structures, with sentences and themes. Photo: © NOAA.

It is well known that animals communicate with one another. But that one of these languages, that of humpback whales, has a grammar and a syntax just like our languages ​​can seem really surprising.
Songs to communicate. The Megaptera novaeangliae is a cetacean known for its melodious vocalizations characterized by "phrases" that are articulated and linked together. These songs vary according to geographical areas and can change over the years. When groups of humpback whales belonging to different populations come into contact with each other, these strange languages ​​influence, overlap or even become extinct. Just like with human languages.
This has been well known since the 1970s, when Roger Payne and Scott McVay first described these songs. Now some researchers from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (Maryland, USA) and from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology have tried to give a scientific explanation to what so far were only assumptions. They then examined the songs of 16 specimens, analyzed up to the basic structures thanks to ad hoc software. ( Listen to one of the songs ) The algorithm was able to highlight the presence of recurrent structures linked together to form more complex structures.
The hierarchy of words. With an approach that is almost more linguistic than biological, it was discovered that the language of humpback whales, just like human ones, is hierarchical: it is made up of minimum units - corresponding to periods, propositions, phrases, words and phonemes - contained within each other, as in Chinese boxes.
According to scientists, such a complex structure would serve both human beings and humpback whales to facilitate understanding and organize communication.

(News updated March 27, 2006)

Anonim

Logische Analyse für Wale
Grammatische Regeln und logische Strukturen, die denen der menschlichen Sprache ähneln, sind in den Liebesliedern der Buckelwale verborgen.

Buckelliebeslieder haben komplexe Strukturen mit Sätzen und Themen. Foto: © NOAA.
Buckelliebeslieder haben komplexe Strukturen mit Sätzen und Themen. Foto: © NOAA.

Es ist bekannt, dass Tiere miteinander kommunizieren. Aber dass eine dieser Sprachen, die der Buckelwale, eine Grammatik und eine Syntax wie unsere Sprachen hat, kann wirklich überraschend erscheinen.
Songs zu kommunizieren. Die Megaptera novaeangliae ist ein Wal, der für seine melodiösen Vokalisationen bekannt ist, die durch "Phrasen" gekennzeichnet sind, die artikuliert und miteinander verbunden sind. Diese Songs variieren je nach geografischem Gebiet und können sich im Laufe der Jahre ändern. Wenn Gruppen von Buckelwalen verschiedener Populationen miteinander in Kontakt kommen, beeinflussen, überlappen oder verschwinden diese seltsamen Sprachen. Genau wie bei menschlichen Sprachen.
Dies ist seit den 1970er Jahren bekannt, als Roger Payne und Scott McVay diese Songs zum ersten Mal beschrieben haben. Nun haben einige Forscher des Howard Hughes Medical Institute (Maryland, USA) und des Massachusetts Institute of Technology versucht, wissenschaftliche Erklärungen für die bislang nur angenommenen Ergebnisse abzugeben. Anschließend untersuchten sie die Lieder von 16 Exemplaren und analysierten sie mithilfe einer Ad-hoc-Software bis zu den Grundstrukturen. ( Hören Sie sich einen der Songs an. ) Der Algorithmus konnte das Vorhandensein wiederkehrender Strukturen hervorheben, die zu komplexeren Strukturen verknüpft sind.
Die Hierarchie der Wörter. Mit einem Ansatz, der mehr sprachlich als biologisch ist, wurde daher entdeckt, dass die Sprache der Buckelwale genau wie die der Menschen hierarchisch ist: Sie besteht aus minimalen Einheiten, die Perioden, Sätzen, Phrasen, Wörtern und Phonemen entsprechen. ineinander enthalten, wie in chinesischen Boxen.
Laut Wissenschaftlern würde eine solch komplexe Struktur sowohl den Menschen als auch den Buckelwalen dienen, um das Verständnis zu erleichtern und die Kommunikation zu organisieren.

(News aktualisiert am 27. März 2006)