Anonim

The future human mothers are not the only ones to have sudden food cravings during pregnancy: even the females of a New Zealand passerine seem to prefer some particular dishes while they hatch. Above all, they seem to have understood very well how to communicate it to the partners, who work in every way to satisfy them.

High jump to woo: the feats of an African bird

spoil yourself properly. Researchers at the Victoria University in Wellington (New Zealand) tested the harmony of 16 pairs of New Zealand wet nurse (Petroica a. Longipes) while the females were brooding. These were fed with worms or insect larvae in two conditions: while the males saw them eating, and with the males distant.

It's the little one who asks for it! The feathered ones prefer the food that they have not touched for the longest time. The males have always been able to recover it, even when they had not seen the contents of the previous meal: the proof that the companions had been able to communicate them not only to be hungry, but also of what. The partners thinned more strongly and in a more insistent way when the partner kept the favorite food in its beak, thus signaling its satisfaction.

This strategy could be common to other bird species, and contribute to the couple's reproductive success: a diet as varied as possible covers the high energy costs of the hatching.

Anonim

Die zukünftigen menschlichen Mütter sind nicht die einzigen, die während der Schwangerschaft plötzlich Heißhungerattacken haben: Selbst die Weibchen einer neuseeländischen Passantin scheinen bestimmte Gerichte zu bevorzugen, während sie schlüpfen. Vor allem scheinen sie sehr gut verstanden zu haben, wie man es den Partnern mitteilt, die in jeder Hinsicht daran arbeiten, sie zufriedenzustellen.

Hochsprung zum Werben: die Kunststücke eines afrikanischen Vogels

verwöhne dich richtig. Forscher der Victoria University in Wellington (Neuseeland) testeten die Harmonie von 16 Paaren neuseeländischer Ammen (Petroica a. Longipes), während die Weibchen brüteten. Diese wurden unter zwei Bedingungen mit Würmern oder Insektenlarven gefüttert: während die Männchen sie fressen sahen und mit den Männchen in der Ferne.

Es ist der Kleine, der danach fragt! Die Gefiederten bevorzugen das Essen, das sie seit langem nicht mehr angerührt haben. Die Männchen waren immer in der Lage, es wiederzugewinnen, auch wenn sie den Inhalt der vorherigen Mahlzeit nicht gesehen hatten: der Beweis, dass die Gefährten ihnen nicht nur mitteilen konnten, dass sie hungrig waren, sondern auch, worüber. Die Partner verdünnten sich stärker und eindringlicher, als der Partner das Lieblingsessen im Schnabel behielt und damit seine Zufriedenheit signalisierte.

Diese Strategie könnte anderen Vogelarten gemeinsam sein und zum Fortpflanzungserfolg des Paares beitragen: Eine möglichst abwechslungsreiche Ernährung deckt die hohen Energiekosten des Schlupfes ab.