Anonim

It is not a chimera and is not extinct (as was thought) the giant bee of Wallace (Megachile pluto), the insect that takes its name from the British explorer Alfred Russel Wallace, who described it in 1858: despite its impressive dimensions, with females reaching 4 centimeters with a 6 cm wingspan, this Indonesian bee is a true rarity, always very elusive. Only sporadically, after the discovery, there have been reports of sightings - which have never been confirmed.

Until, in 1981, the American entomologist Adam Messer did not confirm the existence of it on three of the islands of the Moluccas (Indonesia). After that, however, no other official sighting until 2018, when a specimen that had recently died and was in a good state of repair was auctioned on eBay at the considerable sum of $ 9, 100. That bee had to be lived somewhere!

insects, entomology, melittologia, study of bees, giant bee of Wallace, Megachile pluto | University of Georgia, Clay Bolt / Elab. focus.it

Thus, in January, a team of researchers funded by the Global Wildlife Conservation, on the trail of Wallace (also) in search of the giant bee and finally found a live female on the Island of the North Moluccas.

The nest with termites. Clay Bolt, a nature photographer following the expedition, tells us about the rediscovery: "It was an incredible emotion to find ourselves almost suddenly in front of this flying bulldog that we thought was extinct, to see it flying right over our heads". The expedition also documented that the female had built her nest near a nest of termites, isolating it from the latter (to avoid intrusions) with the resin collected from the trees with its giant jaws.

insects, entomology, melittologia, study of bees, giant bee of Wallace, Megachile pluto VIDEO - Wallace's giant bee (Megachile pluto), rediscovered in Indonesia. |

The giant bee has therefore survived an extinction now given for certain, in a very limited habitat but, evidently, adequate for the maintenance of the species: it is now a matter of studying it, as well as trying to keep it alive.

Anonim

Es ist keine Chimäre und nicht ausgestorben (wie gedacht), die Riesenbiene von Wallace (Megachile pluto), das Insekt, das seinen Namen vom britischen Entdecker Alfred Russel Wallace hat, der es 1858 beschrieb: Trotz seiner beeindruckenden Dimensionen, Mit einer Flügelspannweite von 6 cm und einer weiblichen Körpergröße von 4 cm ist diese indonesische Biene eine echte Rarität, die immer sehr schwer zu fassen ist. Nur vereinzelt wurde nach der Entdeckung von Sichtungen berichtet, die nie bestätigt wurden.

Bis 1981 bestätigte der amerikanische Entomologe Adam Messer seine Existenz auf drei Molukkeninseln (Indonesien) nicht. Danach jedoch keine weitere offizielle Sichtung bis 2018, als ein Exemplar, das kürzlich verstorben war und sich in einem guten Zustand befand, bei eBay für beachtliche 9.100 USD versteigert wurde. Diese Biene musste irgendwo leben!

Insekten, Entomologie, Melittologie, Untersuchung von Bienen, Riesenbiene von Wallace, Megachile Pluto | Universität von Georgia, Clay Bolt / Elab. focus.it

So machte sich im Januar ein vom Global Wildlife Conservation finanziertes Forscherteam auf den Spuren von Wallace (auch) auf die Suche nach der Riesenbiene und fand schließlich ein lebendes Weibchen auf der Insel der Nordmolukken.

Das Nest mit Termiten. Clay Bolt, ein Naturfotograf, der der Expedition folgt, erzählt uns von der Wiederentdeckung: "Es war eine unglaubliche Emotion, fast plötzlich vor dieser fliegenden Bulldogge zu stehen, die wir für ausgestorben hielten, und sie direkt über unseren Köpfen fliegen zu sehen." Die Expedition dokumentierte auch, dass das Weibchen sein Nest in der Nähe eines Termitennestes gebaut hatte, um es von letzterem zu isolieren (um Einbrüche zu vermeiden), wobei das Harz von den Bäumen mit seinen riesigen Kiefern gesammelt wurde.

Insekten, Entomologie, Melittologie, Untersuchung von Bienen, Riesenbiene von Wallace, Megachile Pluto VIDEO - Wallaces Riesenbiene (Megachile pluto), in Indonesien wiederentdeckt. |

Die Riesenbiene hat daher eine Ausrottung überstanden, die nun für einen sehr begrenzten Lebensraum mit Sicherheit gegeben ist, aber offensichtlich für die Erhaltung der Art angemessen ist: Jetzt gilt es, sie zu untersuchen und zu versuchen, sie am Leben zu erhalten.