Anonim

Agriculture against birds
Over the past 24 years many species of field birds have declined. The cause is the change in habitat due to more intensive agricultural crops.

A lapwing. It is among the endangered species. Photo: © LIPU (Italian Bird Protection League).
A lapwing. It is among the endangered species. Photo: © LIPU (Italian Bird Protection League).

It is one of the least known threats; agriculture in Europe is slowly decreasing the number of birds that live in the fields. They are little known but very beautiful species, such as the bustard or lapwing. Or the mysterious quail king, who makes his strange song heard only in a few sites in Europe. This is stated by a research presented in Berlin by Lipu (Italian Bird Protection League) and by Birdlife International, the European association that fights for the defense of birds and habitats. The investigation, entitled "Agriculture, environment and consumers" examined 18 European countries. The result is that from 1980 to the present day populations of species such as the lapwing, the yellow bunting and the lark have collapsed by a percentage that exceeds thirty percent.

The numbers of the problem. Out of a total of 450 species, as many as 150 have been affected by this change in habitat, and could only survive in the presence of sustainable and environmentally-friendly agriculture. The decline, more marked in Western European countries, is essentially caused by an intensification of industrial agricultural practices.

Future Europe.
Lipu therefore asks that the countries that will soon enter Europe do not radically change their agriculture and still maintain agricultural extensions that can support the bird species that have disappeared in Western Europe. "If this does not happen, says Patrizia Rossi, head of Lipu agriculture, even in these countries we will have to see the decline and in some houses the disappearance of important animal species and, more generally, of biodiversity".

(News updated February 24, 2004)

Landwirtschaft gegen Vögel

Anonim

Landwirtschaft gegen Vögel
In den letzten 24 Jahren sind viele Arten von Feldvögeln zurückgegangen. Ursache ist die Veränderung des Lebensraums durch intensivere landwirtschaftliche Nutzpflanzen.

Ein Kiebitz. Es gehört zu den bedrohten Arten. Foto: © LIPU (Italienische Vogelschutzliga).
Ein Kiebitz. Es gehört zu den bedrohten Arten. Foto: © LIPU (Italienische Vogelschutzliga).

Es ist eine der am wenigsten bekannten Bedrohungen. Die Landwirtschaft in Europa verringert langsam die Anzahl der Vögel, die auf den Feldern leben. Es sind wenig bekannte, aber sehr schöne Arten wie die Trappe oder der Kiebitz. Oder der mysteriöse Wachtelkönig, der sein seltsames Lied nur an wenigen Orten in Europa hört. Dies geht aus einer Untersuchung hervor, die Lipu (Italienische Vogelschutzliga) und Birdlife International, der europäische Verband, der sich für die Verteidigung von Vögeln und Lebensräumen einsetzt, in Berlin vorgestellt haben. Die Untersuchung mit dem Titel "Landwirtschaft, Umwelt und Verbraucher" untersuchte 18 europäische Länder. Das Ergebnis ist, dass von 1980 bis heute Populationen von Arten wie dem Kiebitz, der gelben Ammer und der Lerche um einen Prozentsatz von mehr als dreißig Prozent zusammengebrochen sind.

Die Nummern des Problems. Von insgesamt 450 Arten waren 150 von dieser Veränderung des Lebensraums betroffen und konnten nur in Gegenwart einer nachhaltigen und umweltfreundlichen Landwirtschaft überleben. Der in westeuropäischen Ländern stärker ausgeprägte Rückgang ist im Wesentlichen auf eine Intensivierung der industriellen Landwirtschaftspraktiken zurückzuführen.

Zukünftiges Europa.
Lipu bittet daher darum, dass die Länder, die bald nach Europa einreisen werden, ihre Landwirtschaft nicht radikal verändern und dennoch landwirtschaftliche Anbauten beibehalten, die die in Westeuropa verschwundenen Vogelarten unterstützen können. "Wenn dies nicht geschieht, müssen wir auch in diesen Ländern den Rückgang und in einigen Häusern das Verschwinden wichtiger Tierarten und allgemeiner der biologischen Vielfalt beobachten", sagt Patrizia Rossi, Leiterin der Landwirtschaft in Lipu.

(News aktualisiert am 24. Februar 2004)