Who was the father of capitalism?

Anonim

Capitalism was born with the modern economy. His noble father is the Scottish philosopher Adam Smith (1723-1790), who left a work destined to change the world to posterity: Investigation of the nature and cause of the wealth of nations (1776). Five volumes that attempted to answer a central question of modernity: what relationship and state must they have?

What philosopher are you? Find out with a test capitalism, economy, market, social equity, inequalities Adam Smith, according to the Scottish philosopher According to him a society prospered only if each pursued his own personal interest, because on the sum of the individual interests he then supervised a "providence": the invisible hand of the market that governs everything. | WikiMedia

State and market. As we have described in detail in the (far) number 90 of Focus History (April 2014) the philosopher's answer was: none, or almost. Because left free to act, and governed by a sort of "providence", the market triggers a virtuous circle capable of producing wealth for all.

Enlightenment, involved in the fervent debate of his years, Smith lived the transformations of the first embryonic industrial revolution. He lived in a reality made up of small expanding economic centers, great certainties and cumbersome political and religious hierarchies (it was the century of the crisis of the monarchies, in France swept away by the Revolution of 1789).

Smith noted how the gold business of the India Company - the commercial arm of the British Empire - was the offspring of a modern culture and a monopolistic vision: it threw itself against caste, lobby and conflicts of interest, invoking a free market .

Freedom I am looking for … Like all Enlightenment scholars, Smith wanted the center of freedom - of men and of thought. He then elaborated his prophetic intuition: the political sphere, he said, cannot be released from the economic dimension, and even less from the ethical one. At the center of the debate was then to put "the problem of problems": how to produce wealth for the community (today we would say how to make the economy grow), and above all … Why? For what purpose?

So many selfishness, so much well-being. The question was enormous: it was a question of defining the intended use of money, just when the money started to run. Smith opted for a solution in which the state refrained from intervening. According to him, a society prospered only if each pursued his own personal interest, because on the sum of the individual interests there then supervised a "providence": the invisible hand of the market that regulated everything.

So upstream from society there would be so many egoisms. But can so many selfishness make everyone happy? That is to say, can we stay in a capitalist model and consider everyone's needs?

Smith thought so. According to him, man is endowed with empathy. That is, he puts himself in the shoes of others to understand how to behave. The capitalist model, managed by men who are naturally attentive to others, would therefore have benefited the well-being of all.

capitalism, economy, market, social equity, inequalities The Crystal Palace in London where the Great Exhibition was held in 1851, at the height of the industrial revolution. | J.Mc Neven / WikiMedia

Denied by the facts. When the Industrial Revolution came to fruition, a century later, however, contradictions emerged that neither he nor the previous philosophers had imagined.

In the second half of the 19th century it was realized that the economy had grown, but economic growth had accentuated social inequalities and injustices.

The economy and wealth of nations, unlike what Adam Smith had hoped, did not guarantee happiness. Nor did they ensure that the moral improvement of man that the Enlightenment philosophers had theorized.

Trump and Putin. Economics and politics at the time of global warming.

And today? The thought of Adam Smith in the twentieth century was taken up by the Austrian economic school and then by that of Chicago, which inspired the neoliberal deregulation of the 1980s. But any direct attribution between modern politics and the Scottish philosopher is, according to many scholars, undue.

More than an economist it could then be said that Smith was a moral philosopher. A man who cared about a (still today) central problem, a child of modernity: how to reconcile the economy and the development of the individual?

Wer war der Vater des Kapitalismus? | Verhalten 2020

Anonim

Der Kapitalismus wurde mit der modernen Wirtschaft geboren. Sein edler Vater ist der schottische Philosoph Adam Smith (1723-1790), der ein Werk hinterließ, das dazu bestimmt war, die Welt in die Nachwelt zu verwandeln: Erforschung der Natur und der Ursache des Reichtums der Nationen (1776). Fünf Bände, die versuchten, eine zentrale Frage der Moderne zu beantworten: Welches Verhältnis und welchen Zustand müssen sie haben?

Welcher Philosoph bist du? Finden Sie es mit einem Test heraus Kapitalismus, Wirtschaft, Markt, soziale Gerechtigkeit, Ungleichheiten Adam Smith, laut dem schottischen Philosophen Eine Gesellschaft gedieh seiner Meinung nach nur, wenn jeder sein eigenes persönliches Interesse verfolgte, denn aus der Summe der individuellen Interessen überwachte er dann eine "Vorsehung": die unsichtbare Hand des Marktes, der alles regiert. | WikiMedia

Staat und Markt. Wie wir ausführlich in der (fernen) Nummer 90 von Focus History (April 2014) beschrieben haben, lautete die Antwort des Philosophen: keine oder fast keine. Weil der Markt handlungsfrei bleibt und von einer Art "Vorsehung" regiert wird, löst er einen tugendhaften Kreislauf aus, der in der Lage ist, Wohlstand für alle zu schaffen.

Die Aufklärung, die in die leidenschaftliche Debatte seiner Jahre verwickelt war, erlebte die Transformationen der ersten embryonalen industriellen Revolution. Er lebte in einer Realität, die aus kleinen expandierenden Wirtschaftszentren, großen Gewissheiten und schwerfälligen politischen und religiösen Hierarchien bestand (es war das Jahrhundert der Krise der Monarchien in Frankreich, das von der Revolution von 1789 mitgerissen wurde).

Smith bemerkte, dass das Goldgeschäft der India Company - der Handelsarm des britischen Empire - das Ergebnis einer modernen Kultur und einer monopolistischen Vision war: Es warf sich gegen Kaste, Lobby und Interessenkonflikte und rief einen freien Markt hervor .

Freiheit, die ich suche ... Wie alle Gelehrten der Aufklärung wollte Smith das Zentrum der Freiheit - der Menschen und des Denkens. Anschließend erarbeitete er seine prophetische Intuition: Die politische Sphäre könne nicht von der wirtschaftlichen und noch weniger von der ethischen Dimension befreit werden. Im Zentrum der Debatte stand dann das "Problem der Probleme": wie man Wohlstand für die Gemeinschaft schafft (heute würden wir sagen, wie man die Wirtschaft wachsen lässt) und vor allem ... Warum? Zu welchem ​​Zweck?

So viel Egoismus, so viel Wohlbefinden. Die Frage war gewaltig: Es ging darum, die beabsichtigte Verwendung von Geld zu definieren, gerade als das Geld anfing zu fließen. Smith entschied sich für eine Lösung, bei der der Staat auf Interventionen verzichtete. Ihm zufolge gedieh eine Gesellschaft nur, wenn jeder sein eigenes persönliches Interesse verfolgte, denn aus der Summe der dortigen Einzelinteressen heraus überwachte dann eine "Vorsehung": die unsichtbare Hand des Marktes, der alles regiert.

Der Gesellschaft vorgelagert gäbe es also so viele Egoismen. Aber können so viele Selbstsüchte alle glücklich machen? Das heißt, können wir in einem kapitalistischen Modell bleiben und die Bedürfnisse aller berücksichtigen?

Smith glaubte es. Ihm zufolge ist der Mensch mit Empathie ausgestattet. Das heißt, er versetzt sich in die Lage anderer, um zu verstehen, wie man sich verhält. Das kapitalistische Modell, das von Männern verwaltet wird, die von Natur aus auf andere achten, hätte daher dem Wohlergehen aller zugute kommen können.

Kapitalismus, Wirtschaft, Markt, soziale Gerechtigkeit, Ungleichheiten Der Kristallpalast in London, in dem die Große Ausstellung 1851 auf dem Höhepunkt der industriellen Revolution stattfand. | J.Mc Neven / WikiMedia

Von den Tatsachen bestritten. Als jedoch ein Jahrhundert später die industrielle Revolution zum Tragen kam, tauchten Widersprüche auf, die weder er noch die vorherigen Philosophen gedacht hatten.

In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts stellte sich heraus, dass die Wirtschaft gewachsen war, das Wirtschaftswachstum jedoch soziale Ungleichheiten und Ungerechtigkeiten verstärkt hatte.

Die Wirtschaft und der Reichtum der Nationen garantierten, anders als Adam Smith gehofft hatte, kein Glück. Sie sorgten auch nicht für die moralische Verbesserung des Menschen, die die Philosophen der Aufklärung theoretisiert hatten.

Trump und Putin. Wirtschaft und Politik in Zeiten der globalen Erwärmung.

Und heute? Der Gedanke von Adam Smith im 20. Jahrhundert wurde von der österreichischen Wirtschaftsschule und dann von dem von Chicago aufgegriffen, was die neoliberale Deregulierung der 1980er Jahre inspirierte. Eine direkte Zuordnung zwischen der modernen Politik und dem schottischen Philosophen ist jedoch nach Ansicht vieler Gelehrter unangemessen.

Mehr als ein Ökonom könnte man dann sagen, dass Smith ein Moralphilosoph war. Ein Mann, der sich um ein (noch heute) zentrales Problem gekümmert hat, ein Kind der Moderne: Wie können Wirtschaft und Entwicklung des Einzelnen in Einklang gebracht werden?