US elections: who spends more, always wins?

Anonim

For the election campaign, Hillary Clinton has collected and allocated more money than Donald Trump: in general it is believed that this gives an advantage in the complex mechanism that governs the functioning of the "presidential machine" in the United States, but is it really so? Did having a "big budget" make a difference in the past? Many analysts believe so and note that (almost) all the winners of the US elections were also "budget winners", albeit slightly.

Barack Obama, for example, raised more money than Romney and McCain in 2012 and 2008, winning on both occasions. George W. Bush, tenant of the White House in 2004 and 2000, had raised more funds for his campaigns than his opponents, as did Bill Clinton in 1996 and 1992.

Image The budget of Democratic and Republican candidates since 1960. In black, the winners. | Statesman

If we were to consider only the statistics, which gives the candidates who succeed in putting in place the most powerful electoral machine (which goes "for money" …), Clinton should have the victory in his pocket. It seems that this is not the case - even if the games are not closed yet: is Trump about to reverse the trend? Will it be the first "loser in the electoral budget" at the White House after Jimmy Carter in 1976?

US-Wahlen: Wer mehr ausgibt, gewinnt immer? | Verhalten 2020

Anonim

Für den Wahlkampf hat Hillary Clinton mehr Geld gesammelt und bereitgestellt als Donald Trump: Im Allgemeinen wird angenommen, dass dies einen Vorteil für den komplexen Mechanismus darstellt, der das Funktionieren der "Präsidentenmaschine" in den Vereinigten Staaten regelt. Aber ist es wirklich so? Hat es in der Vergangenheit einen Unterschied gemacht, ein "großes Budget" zu haben? Viele Analysten glauben dies und stellen fest, dass (fast) alle Gewinner der US-Wahlen, wenn auch geringfügig, auch "Haushaltssieger" waren.

Barack Obama zum Beispiel sammelte 2012 und 2008 mehr Geld als Romney und McCain und gewann beide Male. George W. Bush, Mieter des Weißen Hauses in den Jahren 2004 und 2000, hatte mehr Geld für seine Kampagnen gesammelt als seine Gegner, ebenso wie Bill Clinton in den Jahren 1996 und 1992.

Image Das Budget der demokratischen und republikanischen Kandidaten seit 1960. In schwarz, die Gewinner. | Staatsmann

Wenn wir nur die Statistik betrachten, die den Kandidaten, die es schaffen, die mächtigste Wahlmaschine (die "um Geld" geht ...) auf den Weg zu bringen, gibt, sollte Clinton den Sieg in der Tasche haben. Dies scheint nicht der Fall zu sein - auch wenn die Spiele noch nicht geschlossen sind: Wird Trump den Trend umkehren? Wird es nach Jimmy Carter 1976 der erste "Verlierer im Wahlhaushalt" im Weißen Haus sein?