Who invented the department stores?

Anonim

The transformation of traditional commerce into modern shopping is due to the French Aristide Boucicaut, who in 1852 opened Au Bon Marché in Paris. A former provincial salesman, he imagined a space with more types of goods, surpassing the specialization of ordinary shops. Prices were fixed and displayed on labels, there were balances, the possibility of return, home delivery and even mail order.

The most loved. The layout of the spaces was very nice and the exposure changed frequently to encourage customers to come in and take a look at all the news.

The visit to the department stores became an activity so loved by the Parisians that they inspired the novel Al paradiso delle signore (1883) by Émile Zola. In the Bon Marché of Boucicaut there were reading rooms for husbands bored by shopping and games for children. In Italy, the first opened in 1877, in Milan.

Image Fashionable customers in the reading room of the department store Au Bon Marché, in Paris in 1900. |

The inventor of the figurines. Aristide Boucicaut was a precursor of modern marketing techniques and it is to him that we owe the figurines. In 1865 Boucicaut had an idea as simple as it was revolutionary. Every Thursday afternoon, the day when the elementary school children did not go to school and the mothers did their shopping with their little children, Boucicaut began to stand near the exit of the department store on rue de Sèvres and, while he greeted the ladies who had just been made purchases in his shop, he gave a figurine to all the children. If they had accompanied their mother on the following Thursday too - he told them - they would have received a new figurine.

Image In the first figurines, of 1865, the shop was simply shown. The mechanism invented by Boucicaut anticipated a marketing technique: affecting the customer with a small gift. |

The first figurines were hand-drawn chromolithographs, with subjects ranging from means of transport to military uniforms, costumed girls and childish themes. On the reverse, a new product or a special offer was advertised under the shop name. In a couple of months Boucicaut realized he had guessed the right strategy: every Thursday the shop was more crowded than usual and the takings were rising. His example was immediately imitated by other department stores that had in the meantime arisen in Paris and the world.

Wer hat die Kaufhäuser erfunden? | Verhalten 2020

Anonim

Die Umwandlung des traditionellen Handels in modernes Einkaufen ist dem französischen Aristide Boucicaut zu verdanken, der 1852 das Au Bon Marché in Paris eröffnete. Als ehemaliger Provinzverkäufer stellte er sich einen Raum mit mehr Arten von Waren vor, der die Spezialisierung gewöhnlicher Läden übertraf. Die Preise wurden festgesetzt und auf Etiketten angezeigt, es gab Salden, die Möglichkeit der Rückgabe, Lieferung nach Hause und sogar Versandhandel.

Am meisten geliebt. Die Aufteilung der Räume war sehr schön und die Belichtung änderte sich häufig, um die Kunden zu ermutigen, hereinzukommen und sich alle Neuigkeiten anzusehen.

Der Besuch der Kaufhäuser wurde zu einer Aktivität, die die Pariser so liebten, dass sie den Roman Al paradiso delle signore (1883) von Émile Zola inspirierten. Im Bon Marché von Boucicaut gab es Lesesäle für Ehemänner, die vom Einkaufen und Spielen für Kinder gelangweilt waren. In Italien wurde die erste 1877 in Mailand eröffnet.

Image Modische Kunden im Lesesaal des Kaufhauses Au Bon Marché in Paris um 1900. |

Der Erfinder der Figuren. Aristide Boucicaut war ein Vorläufer der modernen Marketingtechniken und wir verdanken ihm die Figuren. 1865 hatte Boucicaut eine ebenso einfache wie revolutionäre Idee. Jeden Donnerstagnachmittag, an dem die Grundschüler nicht zur Schule gingen und die Mütter mit ihren kleinen Kindern einkaufen gingen, näherte sich Boucicaut dem Ausgang des Kaufhauses in der Rue de Sèvres und begrüßte die Damen, die gerade gewesen waren Er kaufte in seinem Geschäft ein und schenkte allen Kindern eine Figur. Wenn sie ihre Mutter auch am folgenden Donnerstag begleitet hätten - sagte er ihnen - hätten sie eine neue Figur bekommen.

Image In den ersten Figuren von 1865 wurde der Laden nur gezeigt. Der von Boucicaut erfundene Mechanismus sah eine Marketing-Technik vor: den Kunden mit einem kleinen Geschenk zu beeinflussen. |

Die ersten Figuren waren handgezeichnete Chromolithographien mit Themen, die von Transportmitteln über Militäruniformen bis zu kostümierten Mädchen und kindlichen Themen reichten. Auf der Rückseite wurde ein neues Produkt oder ein Sonderangebot unter dem Shopnamen beworben. In ein paar Monaten stellte Boucicaut fest, dass er die richtige Strategie erraten hatte: Jeden Donnerstag war der Laden überfüllt und die Einnahmen stiegen. Sein Beispiel wurde sofort von anderen Kaufhäusern nachgeahmt, die zwischenzeitlich in Paris und der Welt entstanden waren.