What is the spread?

Anonim

In the last hours it has come back to be of topical relevance, we read on the front pages of newspapers, on information sites, we hear in the news services: the spread, which in the last hours has grown by several points, arousing the concern of politicians and financial operators .

But what does the spread indicate? And why does the increase in this economic indicator trigger panic in the media and in the markets?

Italy-Germany. The term spread, literally "gap", indicates the difference in yield between 10-year Italian government bonds (BTPs) and equivalent German government bonds . The yield on government bonds is an excellent indicator of the health of a country's economy: the stronger the system, the less risky it is and therefore offer investors lower returns.

In other words, the spread between Italian BTPs and German Bunds indicates how much more risky it is to lend money to Italy compared to Germany, considered particularly reliable thanks to the exceptional solidity of its economy.

The first victim of an increase in the spread is the public debt : the increase in interest rates causes the State to be forced to spend more to finance its debt, that is to pay the interest to those who bought BTP, triggering a negative spiral from which it is increasingly difficult to exit.

Touch everyone. The variations in the spread have therefore quick and concrete repercussions not only on the economic macro-system, but also on the business accounts and on our portfolios .

The increase in interest rates makes it more difficult for Italian companies to access credit, thus making them less competitive than foreign ones.

The same negative effect is likely to increase the cost of mortgages and loans even for private citizens, thus triggering a new tightening on purchases and investments from which our country has just freed itself after the great crisis of 10 years ago.

Was ist die Ausbreitung? | Verhalten 2020

Anonim

In den letzten Stunden hat es wieder Aktualität erlangt, lesen wir auf den Titelseiten von Zeitungen, auf Informationsseiten, hören wir in den Nachrichtendiensten: Die Verbreitung, die in den letzten Stunden um einige Punkte zugenommen hat, hat die Besorgnis von Politikern und Finanzakteuren geweckt .

Aber was zeigt der Spread an? Und warum löst der Anstieg dieses Wirtschaftsindikators in den Medien und auf den Märkten Panik aus?

Italien-Deutschland. Der Begriff Spread, wörtlich "Lücke", bezeichnet die Renditedifferenz zwischen 10-jährigen italienischen Staatsanleihen (BTPs) und entsprechenden deutschen Staatsanleihen . Die Rendite von Staatsanleihen ist ein ausgezeichneter Indikator für die wirtschaftliche Gesundheit eines Landes: Je stärker das System ist, desto weniger riskant ist es und bietet den Anlegern daher geringere Renditen.

Mit anderen Worten, die Spanne zwischen italienischen BTPs und deutschen Bundesanleihen zeigt, wie riskanter es ist, Italien Geld zu verleihen, verglichen mit Deutschland, das aufgrund der außergewöhnlichen Solidität seiner Wirtschaft als besonders zuverlässig gilt.

Das erste Opfer einer Spread-Erhöhung ist die Staatsverschuldung : Der Anstieg der Zinssätze zwingt den Staat dazu, mehr für die Finanzierung seiner Schulden auszugeben, dh die Zinsen an diejenigen zu zahlen, die BTP gekauft haben, was eine Zinserhöhung auslöst Negativspirale, aus der es immer schwieriger wird auszusteigen.

Berühren Sie alle. Die Streuungsunterschiede wirken sich daher schnell und konkret nicht nur auf das wirtschaftliche Makrosystem aus, sondern auch auf die Geschäftsberichte und auf unsere Portfolios .

Die Zinserhöhung erschwert italienischen Unternehmen den Zugang zu Krediten und macht sie damit weniger wettbewerbsfähig als ausländische.

Der gleiche negative Effekt dürfte die Kosten für Hypotheken und Kredite auch für Privatpersonen erhöhen und damit eine neue Verschärfung der Käufe und Investitionen auslösen, von der sich unser Land gerade nach der großen Krise von vor 10 Jahren befreit hat.