11 things you (perhaps) don't know about firearms in the United States

Anonim

The massacre at the Route 91 Harvest Festival in Las Vegas - with 59 people killed and 527 injured in what has been called the worst mass shooting in recent American history - has reignited the debate on access to firearms in the US. President Donald Trump has remained silent on the issue, while the titles of the big arms producers have been on the market, in anticipation of a sales boom (as had already happened following the Orlando and San Bernardino massacres).

Every time a similar incident occurs, the arms lobbies defend themselves by saying that it would be inconvenient to address the issue in the aftermath of such a painful event. At the same time, these massacres do not seem to shake up those who claim the right to possess a weapon to defend themselves - indeed, the consensus around the possession of weapons would have risen in the last 20 years, since the mass shootings began to make more news .

As you will read in these eleven facts, the relationship between the Americans and the weapons is more complex than is believed.

1. In the US there are more weapons than people. A report by the Congressional Research Service states that there are 357 million firearms in the US against a population of only 318.9 million people. According to the report, 20% of owners own 65% of the weapons. The US is home to 4.4% of the earth's population, but 42% of the world's armed civilians.

Image Americans and weapons: a controversial relationship. | Shutterstock

2. Fortunately, there are less of the past. According to the General Social Survey, one of the leading US polls, 31% of Americans had a firearm in 2014.

Good news for those who are against the spread of weapons: the figure is 17 percentage points below the peak reached in the three-year period 1977-1980, when 48% of Americans had at least one weapon.

3. More than one mass shooting per day occurs on average in the USA. Waiting for a day free from massacres of firearms to discuss the possession of guns and rifles could mean having to wait a long time. What you see is a 2015 calendar that takes into account the mass shootings (ie with a number of victims equal to or greater than 4) recorded in the country. Over 336 days analyzed, 355 shootings were recorded.

Image If not now, when? | Shutterstock

4. Second Amendment. Whenever a politician or association proposes more restrictive legislation on possession of firearms, politicians and pro-weapons lobbies, such as the powerful National Rifle Association (NRA), they appeal to the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution, which says :

Since a well-organized militia is necessary for the security of a free state, the right of citizens to hold and bear arms cannot be broken.

His critics, however, point out that this is an article adopted on 15 December 1791, in decidedly different times, with very different weapons: then, muskets that fired at most 2 or 3 shots per minute; today automatic weapons that can even shoot 100 shots per minute.

5. How violent are the US with respect to others? The graphic below is explained by Kieran Healy, a sociologist at Duke University, who shows gunshot deaths in the United States (blue) and other developed countries (red). The gap is clear: the US holds the sad record of the highest number of firearms killings of any other Western country (6 times more than Canada, 16 times more than Germany). A small consolation: in the last 40 years, the situation has definitely improved.

Image How violent are the US compared to others? | Shutterstock

6. Easy weapons. In most American states, anyone over the age of 21 can buy a gun, while those over the age of 18 can buy a shotgun or shotgun. It is sufficient to present an identity document: the seller merely records the data and associates them with the weapon (but in private sales the law is less restrictive). Since 1968, the perpetrators of crimes, illegal immigrants, people subject to restrictive ordinances, those who use drugs or particular drugs and foreigners cannot buy or possess weapons.

States with more firearms are also those with the highest number of violent homicides and suicides (not only for the US, but for all industrialized countries). Other factors such as higher housing density, more stress or more immigrants are not related to an increase in deaths from firearms. The states with the greatest circulation of weapons are also those with the greatest number of gunshot killings attributed to the police. Since August 9, 2014 (when the young Michael Brown was killed in Ferguson, Missouri) to date, at least 2, 902 deaths have occurred.

7. Massacres. According to the Gun Violence Archive, the Las Vegas massacre is the 273th mass shooting in the US in the 275 days of 2017 that have passed so far. This year there were 11, 600 deaths related to firearms (mostly suicides), the equivalent to 4 attacks of 11 September 2001, by number of victims. In 2016, there were over 15 thousand deaths due to a shot.

Image An image from the 2013 NRA | Shutterstock

8. Surveys. According to the Gallup polling company, 47% of Americans say they want stricter laws on the sale of firearms. 38% percent of Americans want the laws to remain as they are, and 14% say they should be made even less strict.

In 2012, after the school shooting in Newtown (Connecticut), the percentage of those who wanted a tightening of the rules on the sale and possession of weapons was 58%.

9. Alaska. The state where weapons are most widespread is Alaska (more than 60% of the inhabitants have at least one). But the most heavily armed are the southern states. The typical buyer of a firearm is white, male and interested in hunting weapons.

10. Lobby. Weapon owners are represented by powerful lobbies such as the NRA (the National Rifle Association, which supported Donald Trump's race to the White House), Safari Club International, Gun Owners of America and the National Association for Gun Rights, which receive money from the arms industry. But how much does the arms lobby spend? According to some sources, in 2014 the 52 lobbyists, representing 10 clients, would have spent over 12 million dollars to influence the congress decisions.

11. Myths. Among the main producers of firearms is Smith and Wesson, one of the most famous and ancient American companies: founded in 1852, very active during the civil war, it produced the infamous 44 magnum star of a film with Clint Eastwood (Una 44 magnum for Inspector Callaghan).

11 Dinge, die Sie (vielleicht) nicht über Schusswaffen in den Vereinigten Staaten wissen | Verhalten 2020

Anonim

Das Massaker am Route 91 Harvest Festival in Las Vegas - bei dem 59 Menschen getötet und 527 verletzt wurden - hat die Debatte über den Zugang zu Schusswaffen in den USA wiederbelebt. Präsident Donald Trump hat zu diesem Thema geschwiegen, während die Titel der Hersteller von Großwaffen in Erwartung eines Absatzbooms (wie bereits nach den Massakern in Orlando und San Bernardino) auf dem Markt waren.

Jedes Mal, wenn sich ein ähnlicher Vorfall ereignet, verteidigen sich die Waffenlobbys damit, dass es unpraktisch wäre, das Problem nach einem derart schmerzhaften Ereignis anzugehen. Gleichzeitig scheinen diese Massaker diejenigen nicht zu erschüttern, die das Recht beanspruchen, eine Waffe zu besitzen, um sich zu verteidigen - tatsächlich wäre der Konsens über den Besitz von Waffen in den letzten 20 Jahren gestiegen, seit die Massenerschießungen mehr Nachrichten machten .

Wie Sie in diesen elf Fakten lesen werden, ist die Beziehung zwischen den Amerikanern und den Waffen komplexer als angenommen.

1. In den USA gibt es mehr Waffen als Menschen. Einem Bericht des Congressional Research Service zufolge gibt es in den USA 357 Millionen Schusswaffen gegen eine Bevölkerung von nur 318, 9 Millionen Menschen. Dem Bericht zufolge besitzen 20% der Besitzer 65% der Waffen. In den USA leben 4, 4% der Weltbevölkerung, aber 42% der bewaffneten Zivilisten der Welt.

Image Amerikaner und Waffen: eine kontroverse Beziehung. | Shutterstock

2. Zum Glück gibt es weniger von der Vergangenheit. Laut dem General Social Survey, einer der führenden US-Umfragen, hatten im Jahr 2014 31% der Amerikaner eine Schusswaffe.

Gute Nachrichten für diejenigen, die gegen die Verbreitung von Waffen sind: Sie liegen 17 Prozentpunkte unter dem Höchststand des Dreijahreszeitraums 1977-1980, als 48% der Amerikaner mindestens eine Waffe besaßen.

3. In den USA wird durchschnittlich mehr als eine Massenerschießung pro Tag durchgeführt. Das Warten auf einen Tag ohne Schusswaffenmassaker, um über den Besitz von Waffen und Gewehren zu diskutieren, könnte bedeuten, dass man lange warten muss. Was Sie sehen, ist ein Kalender für 2015, der die Massenerschießungen (dh mit einer Anzahl von Opfern von 4 oder mehr) berücksichtigt, die im Land aufgezeichnet wurden. An 336 analysierten Tagen wurden 355 Schießereien aufgezeichnet.

Image Wenn nicht jetzt, wann dann? | Shutterstock

4. Zweite Änderung. Immer wenn ein Politiker oder eine Vereinigung restriktivere Gesetze zum Besitz von Schusswaffen, Politikern und waffenfördernden Interessengruppen wie der mächtigen National Rifle Association (NRA) vorschlägt, appellieren sie an die zweite Änderung der Verfassung der Vereinigten Staaten :

Da eine gut organisierte Miliz für die Sicherheit eines freien Staates notwendig ist, kann das Recht der Bürger, Waffen zu halten und zu tragen, nicht verletzt werden.

Seine Kritiker weisen jedoch darauf hin, dass dies ein Artikel ist, der am 15. Dezember 1791 in ausgesprochen unterschiedlichen Zeiten mit sehr unterschiedlichen Waffen angenommen wurde: dann Musketen, die höchstens 2 oder 3 Schüsse pro Minute abgaben; heute automatische Waffen, die sogar 100 Schüsse pro Minute schießen können.

5. Wie gewalttätig sind die USA gegenüber anderen? Die folgende Grafik wird von Kieran Healy, einem Soziologen an der Duke University, erklärt, der in den USA (blau) und anderen Industrieländern (rot) Schussverluste zeigt. Die Kluft ist klar: Die USA halten den traurigen Rekord der meisten Tötungen von Schusswaffen in anderen westlichen Ländern (6-mal mehr als Kanada, 16-mal mehr als Deutschland). Ein kleiner Trost: In den letzten 40 Jahren hat sich die Situation definitiv verbessert.

Image Wie gewalttätig sind die USA im Vergleich zu anderen? | Shutterstock

6. Einfache Waffen. In den meisten amerikanischen Bundesstaaten kann jeder über 21 eine Waffe kaufen, während alle über 18 eine Schrotflinte oder eine Schrotflinte kaufen können. Es reicht aus, einen Ausweis vorzulegen: Der Verkäufer zeichnet lediglich die Daten auf und ordnet sie der Waffe zu (bei Privatverkäufen ist das Gesetz jedoch weniger restriktiv). Seit 1968 können Täter von Straftaten, illegale Einwanderer, Personen, die restriktiven Verordnungen unterliegen, Personen, die Drogen oder bestimmte Drogen konsumieren, und Ausländer keine Waffen kaufen oder besitzen.

Staaten mit mehr Schusswaffen sind auch diejenigen mit der höchsten Anzahl an gewalttätigen Morden und Selbstmorden (nicht nur für die USA, sondern für alle Industrieländer). Andere Faktoren wie eine höhere Wohndichte, mehr Stress oder mehr Einwanderer stehen nicht im Zusammenhang mit einer Zunahme der durch Schusswaffen verursachten Todesfälle. Die Staaten mit der größten Verbreitung von Waffen sind auch die mit der höchsten Anzahl von Schussverletzungen, die der Polizei zugeschrieben werden. Seit dem 9. August 2014 (als der junge Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, getötet wurde) sind mindestens 2.902 Todesfälle aufgetreten.

7. Massaker. Laut dem Gun Violence Archive ist das Massaker in Las Vegas das 273. Massenerschießen in den USA in den 275 Tagen des Jahres 2017, die bisher vergangen sind. In diesem Jahr gab es 11.600 Todesfälle im Zusammenhang mit Schusswaffen (hauptsächlich Selbstmorde), was 4 Angriffen vom 11. September 2001 nach Anzahl der Opfer entspricht. Im Jahr 2016 gab es mehr als 15.000 Todesfälle aufgrund eines Schusses.

Image Ein Bild aus der NRA 2013 | Shutterstock

8. Umfragen. Laut der Umfrage von Gallup wollen 47% der Amerikaner strengere Gesetze für den Verkauf von Schusswaffen. 38% der Amerikaner wollen, dass die Gesetze so bleiben, wie sie sind, und 14% sagen, dass sie noch strenger werden sollten.

Nach den Schießereien in Newtown (Connecticut) im Jahr 2012 betrug der Prozentsatz derjenigen, die eine Verschärfung der Regeln für den Verkauf und den Besitz von Waffen forderten, 58%.

9. Alaska. Der Staat, in dem Waffen am weitesten verbreitet sind, ist Alaska (mehr als 60% der Einwohner haben mindestens einen). Am schwersten bewaffnet sind jedoch die Südstaaten. Der typische Käufer einer Schusswaffe ist weiß, männlich und an Jagdwaffen interessiert.

10. Lobby. Waffenbesitzer sind durch mächtige Lobbys wie die NRA (die National Rifle Association, die Donald Trumps Rennen zum Weißen Haus unterstützte), Safari Club International, Gun Owners of America und die National Association for Gun Rights vertreten, die Geld von der US-Regierung erhalten Rüstungsindustrie. Aber wie viel gibt die Waffenlobby aus? Laut einigen Quellen hätten die 52 Lobbyisten, die 10 Kunden vertraten, im Jahr 2014 über 12 Millionen Dollar ausgegeben, um die Kongressentscheidungen zu beeinflussen.

11. Mythen. Zu den Hauptproduzenten von Schusswaffen gehört Smith and Wesson, eines der bekanntesten und ältesten amerikanischen Unternehmen: Das 1852 gegründete Unternehmen, das während des Bürgerkriegs sehr aktiv war, produzierte den berüchtigten 44-Magnum-Stern eines Films mit Clint Eastwood (Una 44 Magnum für Inspector Callaghan).